Advertisement


Search
Search the site for...  
Containing...

Sort results  by...
 
Menu

 Devotional

Notice: This site is no longer being updated. It will continue to be available as an archive, at least until the end of March 2019. If you rely on it for review links, please adjust them before then.

The project has disseminated reviews and other information about Christian books since the start of the Millennium. We regret that it is no longer possible to sustain it.

Reviews of good Christian books about:- Devotional
Christian classics, meditations, reflections and other spiritual writings.

Archive - Book Titles reviewed - C


Calling on The Spirit in Unsettling Times

- Discerning God's Future for the Church

by L. William Countryman

Paperback
Price: £12.99
Publisher: Canterbury Press imprint of Hymns Ancient & Modern Ltd
Published: April 2012
ISBN: 978-1-848-25169-4
Reviewed by Melanie Carroll  (09/08/12)

Read our review of 'Calling on The Spirit in Unsettling Times' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Can You Drink the Cup

- Tenth Anniversary Edition

by Henri Nouwen

Paperback
Price: £5.99
Publisher: Ave Maria Press from Alban Bks
Published: October 2006
ISBN: 978-1-594-71099-5
Reviewed by J.Nicholas Latham  (26/09/07)

Read our review of 'Can You Drink the Cup' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Canterbury Book of Spiritual Quotations


Compiled by William Sykes

Paperback
Price: £14.99
Publisher: Canterbury Press imprint of Hymns Ancient & Modern Ltd
Published: 2007
ISBN: 978-1-853-11827-2
Reviewed by Christine Mundell  (07/01/09)

Read our review of 'Canterbury Book of Spiritual Quotations' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Carried by the Current

- A Benedictine Perspective

by Ambrose Tinsley OSB

Paperback
Price: £7.99
Publisher: Columba Press
Published: Autumn 2004
ISBN: 1-856-07458-7
Reviewed by John Irvine  (28/11/04)

Read our review of 'Carried by the Current' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Cat Psalms

- Prayers My Cats Have Taught Me

by Herbert Brokering

Paperback
Price: £4.99
Publisher: Monarch imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: 2009
ISBN: 978-1-854-24935-7
Reviewed by Mary Bartholomew  (28/10/09)

Read our review of 'Cat Psalms' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Celtic Christian Spirituality


by Mary C. Earle

Paperback
Price: £9.99
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: 03 March 2012
ISBN: 978-0-281-06707-7
Reviewed by John Irvine  (04/04/12)

Read our review of 'Celtic Christian Spirituality' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

 Advertisement

Celtic Parables: Stories, Poems and Prayers

- SPCK Classics

by Robert Van de Weyer
ISBN: 978-0-281-06174-7
Price: £9.99
Published: 21 May 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Celtic Parables: Stories, Poems and Prayers' >>

Celtic Way of Prayer

- The Recovery of the Religious Imagination

by Esther de Waal
ISBN: 978-1-848-25051-2
Price: £9.99
Published: 29 October 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Celtic Way of Prayer' >>

Chasing the Leaves

- Thoughts for the Day

by Eddie Askew
ISBN: 0-902-73159-9
Price: £4.95
Published: 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Chasing the Leaves' >>

Cherish the Earth


by Mary Low
ISBN: 1-901-55771-5
Price: £9.99
Published: 19 April 2003
More Information, and our review of 'Cherish the Earth' >>

Christ in Practice

- A Christology of Everyday Life

by Clive Marsh
ISBN: 0-232-52541-2
Price: £12.95
Published: 2006
More Information, and our review of 'Christ in Practice' >>

Christ in the Wilderness

- Reflecting On The Paintings By Stanley Spencer

by Stephen Cottrell
ISBN: 978-0-281-06208-9
Price: £9.99
Published: September 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Christ in the Wilderness' >>

Christ Our Light

- Praying with Rembrandt’s Etchings

by Anne Margot Boyd
ISBN: 1-853-11649-1
Price: £9.99
Published: July 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Christ Our Light' >>

Christ Our Morning Star

- The Art and Inspiration of Sieger Köder

by Magdalen Lawler
ISBN: 978-1-904-78561-3
Price: £6.50
Published: 12 December 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Christ Our Morning Star' >>

Christian Meditation

- Experiencing the Presence of God

by James Finley
ISBN: 0-281-05690-0
Price: £14.99
Published: 23 July 2004
More Information, and our review of 'Christian Meditation' >>

Circles of Stillness

- Thoughts on Contemplative Prayer from the Julian Meetings

by Hilary Wakeman
ISBN: 0-232-52450-5
Price: £10.95
Published: 15 April 2002
More Information, and our review of 'Circles of Stillness' >>

Cloister Talks

- Learning from my Friends the Monks

by Jon M. Sweeney
ISBN: 978-1-587-43268-2
Price: £8.99
Published: 01 June 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Cloister Talks' >>

Cloud of Witnesses

- The 2005 Christian Companion

20 Contributors
ISBN: 1-858-52259-5
Price: £6.99
Published: 01 September 2004
More Information, and our review of 'Cloud of Witnesses' >>

Clowning in Rome


by Henri J M Noouwen
ISBN: 0-232-52413-0
Price: £7.95
Published: 2001
More Information, and our review of 'Clowning in Rome' >>

Collected Thoughts


by Eric James
ISBN: 0-826-46400-9
Price: £9.99
Published: November 2002
More Information, and our review of 'Collected Thoughts' >>

Come Apart and Rest for A While


by Patricia Jordan FSM
ISBN: 978-0-852-44691-1
Price: £7.99
Published: Summer 2008
More Information, and our review of 'Come Apart and Rest for A While' >>

Common Prayer

- A Liturgy for Ordinary Radicals

by Shane Claiborne, Jonathan Wilson-Hartgrove: Enuma Okoro
ISBN: 978-0-310-32619-9
Price: £16.99
Published: 15 October 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Common Prayer' >>

Companions of Christ

- Ignation Spirituality for Everyday Living

by Margaret Silf
ISBN: 1-853-11598-3
Price: £7.99
Published: 2004
More Information, and our review of 'Companions of Christ' >>

Compassion

- A Reflection on the Christian Life

by Henri J.M. Nouwen, Donald P. McNeill & Douglas A. Morrison
ISBN: 978-0-232-52741-4
Price: £9.95
Published: 22 September 2008
More Information, and our review of 'Compassion' >>

Counterpoints

- Believing Christian Faith in a Difficult World

by Vernon White
ISBN: 0-953-48366-5
Price: £7.95
Published: 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Counterpoints' >>

Creative and Christian


by Leen La Riviere
ISBN: 1-903-68930-9
Price: £6.99
Published: February 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Creative and Christian' >>

Cross Examined

- The Challenge of Christ's Death and Resurrection

by John Cox
ISBN: 978-1-848-67194-2
Price: £10.99
Published: 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Cross Examined' >>

Crowning the Year

- Autumn in the Christian Year

by Martin Dudley
ISBN: 0-281-05523-8
Price: £8.99
Published: 20 June 2003
More Information, and our review of 'Crowning the Year' >>

Cry of the Deer

- Meditations on the Hymn of St Patrick

by David Adam
ISBN: 978-0-281-06118-1
Price: £7.99
Published: 19 March 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Cry of the Deer' >>

The Call to Joy and Pain

- Embracing Suffering in Your Ministry

by Ajith Fernando
ISBN: 978-1-844-74249-3
Price: £9.99
Published: 2008
More Information, and our review of 'The Call to Joy and Pain' >>

The Canterbury Companion To The Book Of Common Prayer Gospels


by Raymond Chapman
ISBN: 978-1-848-25568-5
Price: £16.99
Published: 13 December 2013
More Information, and our review of 'The Canterbury Companion To The Book Of Common Prayer Gospels' >>

The Celtic Heart


by Pat Robson
ISBN: 978-0-281-06191-4
Price: £12.99
Published: 21 May 2009
More Information, and our review of 'The Celtic Heart' >>

The Celtic Vision: Prayers, Blessings, Songs and Invocations from the Celtic Tradition

- Revised Edition

edited by Esther de Waal
ISBN: 978-0-764-80831-9
Published: 2001
More Information, and our review of 'The Celtic Vision: Prayers, Blessings, Songs and Invocations from the Celtic Tradition' >>

The Celtic Way


by Ian Bradley
ISBN: 0-232-52495-5
Price: £8.95
Published: January 2003
More Information, and our review of 'The Celtic Way' >>

The Christ Centred Church

- Creating Fearless, Spirit-Filled Followers of Christ

by A.W.Tozer edited by James L. Snyder
ISBN: 978-1-854-24911-1
Price: £7.99
Published: 2009
More Information, and our review of 'The Christ Centred Church' >>

The Cloud of Unknowing

- Hodder Classics

Edited by Halcyon Backhouse
ISBN: 978-0-340-98011-8
Price: £7.99
Published: 20 August 2009
More Information, and our review of 'The Cloud of Unknowing' >>

The Cloud of Unknowing for Everyone


by Elizabeth Ruth Obbard
ISBN: 978-0-904-28797-4
Price: £5.95
Published: May 2007
More Information, and our review of 'The Cloud of Unknowing for Everyone' >>

The Collage of God


by Mark Oakley
ISBN: 978-1-848-25238-7
Price: £9.99
Published: July 2012
More Information, and our review of 'The Collage of God' >>

The Confessions of Saint Augustine

- Hodder Classics

Translated by E.M.Blaiklock
ISBN: 978-0-340-98012-5
Price: £7.99
Published: 10 December 2009
More Information, and our review of 'The Confessions of Saint Augustine' >>

The Cool of the Day


by Sarah Fordham
ISBN: 978-0-956-32190-9
Price: £6.50
Published: 15 July 2009
More Information, and our review of 'The Cool of the Day' >>

The Cosmic Dance

- An Invitation to Experience Our Oneness

by Joyce Rupp with Art by Mary Southard
ISBN: 978-1-570-75903-1
Price: £12.99
Published: October 2010
More Information, and our review of 'The Cosmic Dance' >>

The Crown and the Fire: Meditations on the Cross and the Life of the Spirit

- SPCK Classics

by Tom Wright
ISBN: 978-0-281-06117-4
Price: £8.99
Published: Autumn 2009
More Information, and our review of 'The Crown and the Fire: Meditations on the Cross and the Life of the Spirit' >>

The Cure For the Chronic Life

- Overcoming the Hopelessness That Holds You Back

by Deanna Favre & Shane Stanford
ISBN: 978-1-426-71001-8
Price: £11.99
Published: October 2010
More Information, and our review of 'The Cure For the Chronic Life' >>

Browse the archive:-

All books reviewed in this section, indexed by title:-
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y 1 2 3 4 6