Advertisement


Search
Search the site for...  
Containing...

Sort results  by...
 
Menu

 Church & Ministry: Theory & Resources

Notice: This site is no longer being updated. It will continue to be available as an archive, at least until the end of March 2019. If you rely on it for review links, please adjust them before then.

The project has disseminated reviews and other information about Christian books since the start of the Millennium. We regret that it is no longer possible to sustain it.

Reviews of good Christian books about:- Church & Ministry: Theory & Resources
For Information and Handbooks useful to all denominations unless specifically stated.
Help with preaching, intercessions, all-age worship, music etc.

Archive - Book Titles reviewed - T


A Toolbox for Small Churches

- A Spiritual and Practical Guide to small Church Life

by Hilary Taylor

Paperback
Price: £7.95
Publisher: Thankful Books from Trust Media Distribution
Published: 2007
ISBN: 978-1-905-08414-2
Reviewed by Tim Leffler  (29/11/08)

Read our review of 'A Toolbox for Small Churches' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Table Talk: Year C

- Beginning the Conversation on the Gospel of Luke

by Jay Cormier

Paperback
Price: £12.50
Publisher: New City
Published: 2009
ISBN: 978-1-565-48322-4
Reviewed by John Irvine  (12/11/09)

Read our review of 'Table Talk: Year C' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Take up the Song


Various Performers

CD
Price: £14.99
Publisher: Saint Andrew Press
Published: February 2008
ISBN: 9-990-00014-X
Reviewed by Martin Brasier  (22/05/08)

Read our review of 'Take up the Song' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Take, Bless, Break, Give


by Vaughan Jones

Paperback
Publisher: Granary Press
Published: 2003
ISBN: 0-853-46218-6
Reviewed by Ian Gibson  (07/07/05)

Read our review of 'Take, Bless, Break, Give' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Tales of Grace

- 50 five-minute stories

by Eve Locket, illustrated by Bridget Gillespie

Paperback
Price: £7.99
Publisher: Barnabas imprint of BRF
Published: Spring 2005
ISBN: 1-841-01366-8
Reviewed by Hilary Morgan  (14/07/05)

Read our review of 'Tales of Grace' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Teaching Romans

- Volume One – Unlocking Romans 1-8 for the Bible teacher

by Christopher Ash

Paperback
Price: £8.99
Publisher: Christian Focus Publications
Published: 2009
ISBN: 978-1-845-50455-7
Reviewed by Alan Hill  (22/09/10)

Read our review of 'Teaching Romans' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

 Advertisement

Telling Others

- How To Run The Alpha Course
ISBN: 978-1-907-95031-5
Price: £6.99
Published: 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Telling Others' >>

Tend My Flock

- Sustaining Good Pastoral Care

by Kate Litchfield
ISBN: 1-853-11648-3
Price: £14.99
Published: 29 September 2006
More Information, and our review of 'Tend My Flock' >>

Test, Train, Affirm & Send into Ministry


by Brian Croft
ISBN: 978-1-846-25197-9
Price: £5.00
Published: 10 October 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Test, Train, Affirm & Send into Ministry' >>

The Abingdon Children’s sermon Library: Volume 1


Edited by Brant D.Baker
ISBN: 0-687-49730-2
Price: £8.99
Published: March 2006
More Information, and our review of 'The Abingdon Children’s sermon Library: Volume 1' >>

The All-Age Service Annual Vol 1


Editor Nigel Hopper
ISBN: 978-1-844-27316-4
Price: £15.00
Published: September 2007
More Information, and our review of 'The All-Age Service Annual Vol 1' >>

The Anointing of the Sick

- Orthodox Liturgy Series

by Paul Meyendorff
ISBN: 978-0-881-41187-4
Price: £13.99
Published: January 2009
More Information, and our review of 'The Anointing of the Sick' >>

The Archer and the Arrow

- Preaching the Very Words of God

by Phillip D. Jensen & Paul Grimmond
ISBN: 978-1-921-44180-6
Price: £7.99
Published: 2010
More Information, and our review of 'The Archer and the Arrow' >>

The Art of Curating Worship

- Reshaping the Role of the Worship Leader

by Mark Pierson
ISBN: 978-1-848-25194-6
Price: £16.99
Published: May 2012
More Information, and our review of 'The Art of Curating Worship' >>

The Art of Mentoring

- Embracing the Great Generational Transition

by Darlene Zschech
ISBN: 978-0-764-20935-2
Price: £9.99
Published: 23 August 2012
More Information, and our review of 'The Art of Mentoring' >>

The Arts in Your Church

- A practical guide

by Fiona Bond
ISBN: 1-903-68900-7
Price: £8.99
Published: 01 July 2002
More Information, and our review of 'The Arts in Your Church' >>

The Beauty of the Word

- The Challenge and Wonder of Preaching

by James C. Howell
ISBN: 978-0-664-23695-3
Published: 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Beauty of the Word' >>

The Bible in Pastoral Practice

- Readings in the Place and Function of Scripture in the Church

Edited by Paul Ballard and Stephen R. Holmes
ISBN: 0-232-52611-7
Price: £17.95
Published: 29 August 2005
More Information, and our review of 'The Bible in Pastoral Practice' >>

The Canterbury Preachers Companion 2015

- Lectionary Based Sermons For Sundays, Festivals and Special Occassions

by Michael Counsell
ISBN: 978-1-848-25608-8
Price: £18.99
Published: May 2014
More Information, and our review of 'The Canterbury Preachers Companion 2015' >>

The Celtic Resource Book


by Martin Wallace
ISBN: 978-0-715-14186-1
Price: £22.50
Published: May 2009
More Information, and our review of 'The Celtic Resource Book' >>

The Church Treasurer's Handbook

- A Comprehensive Companion and Guide - New Updated Edition

by Robert Leach
ISBN: 978-1-848-25019-2
Price: £17.99
Published: March 2012
More Information, and our review of 'The Church Treasurer's Handbook' >>

The Church’s Healing Ministry

- Practical and Pastoral Reflections

by David Atkinson
ISBN: 978-1-848-25077-2
Price: £14.99
Published: 29 April 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Church’s Healing Ministry' >>

The Confirmation Experience: Leaders Book

- A whole-church Mentoring approach to Confirmation in the Anglican Church

by Susan Sayers
ISBN: 978-1-844-17603-8
Price: £4.99
Published: 2006
More Information, and our review of 'The Confirmation Experience: Leaders Book' >>

The Conservation and Repair of bells and bellframes


For the Council for the Care of Churches
ISBN: 0-715-17599-8
Price: £6.95
Published: 2002
More Information, and our review of 'The Conservation and Repair of bells and bellframes' >>

The Country Vicar


by David Osborne
ISBN: 0-232-52546-3
Price: £10.95
Published: 25 October 2004
More Information, and our review of 'The Country Vicar' >>

The Curate’s Guide

- From Calling to First Parish

Edited by John Witcombe
ISBN: 0-715-14016-7
Price: £11.99
Published: April 2005
More Information, and our review of 'The Curate’s Guide' >>

The Easter Journey

- An Imaginative Presentation for Churches to Use With Primary Schools

by Moira Curry and Gill Morgan
ISBN: 978-1-841-01622-1
Price: £7.99
Published: November 2009
More Information, and our review of 'The Easter Journey' >>

The Enneagram

- A Private Session with the World’s Greatest Psychologist

by Simon Parke
ISBN: 978-0-745-95314-4
Price: £9.99
Published: 22 August 2008
More Information, and our review of 'The Enneagram' >>

The Fourfold Gospel Commentary


by Andrew Gregory, David Bartlett, Morna Hooker, Henry Wansbrough
ISBN: 0-281-05691-9
Price: £19.99
Published: 01 August 2006
More Information, and our review of 'The Fourfold Gospel Commentary' >>

The Future of Preaching


Edited by Geoffrey Stevenson
ISBN: 978-0-334-04362-1
Price: £16.99
Published: 22 September 2010
More Information, and our review of 'The Future of Preaching' >>

The Good Management Guide


by Ian Smith
ISBN: 1-853-11672-6
Price: £12.99
Published: May 2006
More Information, and our review of 'The Good Management Guide' >>

The Good Retreat Guide


by Stafford Whiteaker
ISBN: 0-712-60216-X
Price: £12.99
Published: 2001
More Information, and our review of 'The Good Retreat Guide' >>

The Good Worship Guide

- Leading Liturgy Well

by Robert Atwell
ISBN: 978-1-853-11719-0
Price: £19.99
Published: June 2013
More Information, and our review of 'The Good Worship Guide' >>

The Gospel Commission

- Recovering God's Strategy for Making Disciples

by Michael Horton
ISBN: 978-0-801-01390-4
Price: £10.99
Published: October 2012
More Information, and our review of 'The Gospel Commission' >>

The Great Evangelical Recession

- 6 Factors That Will Crash the American Church… and How to Prepare

by John S Dickerson
ISBN: 978-0-801-01483-3
Price: £8.99
Published: February 2013
More Information, and our review of 'The Great Evangelical Recession' >>

The Heart of Worship Files


Compiled by Matt Redman
ISBN: 1-842-91136-8
Price: £8.99
Published: March 2003
More Information, and our review of 'The Heart of Worship Files' >>

The Heavenly Party

- Recover the Fun, Life Changing Celebrations for Home and Community

by Michelle Guinness
ISBN: 978-1-854-24835-0
Price: £12.99
Published: 2007
More Information, and our review of 'The Heavenly Party' >>

The Holy Ground Around You

- Reflective Services for Taking the Church Outside

by Susan Sayers
ISBN: 978-1-848-67469-1
Price: £11.99
Published: December 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Holy Ground Around You' >>

The Hospital Chaplain’s Handbook

- A Guide for Good Practice

by Mark Cobb
ISBN: 1-853-11477-4
Price: £14.99
Published: January 2006
More Information, and our review of 'The Hospital Chaplain’s Handbook' >>

The Intercessions Handbook

- Creative Ideas for Public and Private Prayer

by John Pritchard
ISBN: 978-0-281-06502-8
Price: £9.99
Published: 19 August 2005
More Information, and our review of 'The Intercessions Handbook' >>

The Intercessor’s Guide

- How to Plan, Write and lead Intercessory Prayers

by Raymond Chapman
ISBN: 978-1-853-11791-6
Price: £7.99
Published: June 2007
More Information, and our review of 'The Intercessor’s Guide' >>

The Journey of Christian Initiation

- Theological and Pastoral Perspectives

Editor Paul Avis
ISBN: 978-0-715-14237-0
Price: £16.99
Published: 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Journey of Christian Initiation' >>

The Life and Work of a Priest


by John Pritchard
ISBN: 978-0-281-05748-1
Price: £9.99
Published: 21 June 2007
More Information, and our review of 'The Life and Work of a Priest' >>

The Love Feast


by David E. Flavell
ISBN: 978-1-844-17748-6
Price: £6.99
Published: Summer 2007
More Information, and our review of 'The Love Feast' >>

The Measure of Our Success

- An Impassioned Plea to Pastors

by Shawn Lovejoy
ISBN: 978-0-801-01460-4
Price: £8.99
Published: July 2012
More Information, and our review of 'The Measure of Our Success' >>

The Methodists In Ireland

- A short History

by Dudley Levistone Cooney
ISBN: 1-856-07335-1
Price: £10.99
Published: May 2001
More Information, and our review of 'The Methodists In Ireland' >>

The New Sermon Slot

- All Age ideas for the Common Worship lectionary Year A

by Sharon Swain
ISBN: 0-281-05192-5
Price: £9.99
Published: 19 October 2001
More Information, and our review of 'The New Sermon Slot' >>

The Parish

- People, Place and Ministry: A Theological and Practical Exploration

by Malcolm Torry
ISBN: 978-1-853-11586-8
Price: £14.99
Published: 30 June 2004
More Information, and our review of 'The Parish' >>

The Parish Survival Guide


by Martin Dudley & Virginia Rounding
ISBN: 0-281-05665-X
Price: £10.99
Published: 2004
More Information, and our review of 'The Parish Survival Guide' >>

The Passion-Driven Youth Choir


by Mark Acker
ISBN: 978-0-687-49224-4
Price: £6.99
Published: May 2007
More Information, and our review of 'The Passion-Driven Youth Choir' >>

The Pastor as Theologian – The Formation of Today’s Ministry in the Light of Contemporary Human Sciences

- 2nd Edition. New Library of Pastoral Care

by Wesley Carr
ISBN: 978-0-281-06037-5
Price: £12.99
Published: 19 June 2008
More Information, and our review of 'The Pastor as Theologian – The Formation of Today’s Ministry in the Light of Contemporary Human Sciences' >>

The Pastoral Care of People With Mental Health Problems

- New Library of Pastoral Care

by Marion L S Carter
ISBN: 978-0-281-05866-2
Price: £12.99
Published: 22 May 2008
More Information, and our review of 'The Pastoral Care of People With Mental Health Problems' >>

The Path Not Chosen: Beginning the Journey of Loss and Bereavement

- Bereavement Pack for Leaders and Carers

by Wendy Bray
ISBN: 978-1-853-45559-9
Price: £9.99
Published: September 2010
More Information, and our review of 'The Path Not Chosen: Beginning the Journey of Loss and Bereavement' >>

The Preacher’s Library, Volume 1, Why Preach


by Peter Dawson
ISBN: 1-858-52172-6
Price: £7.99
Published: September 2000
More Information, and our review of 'The Preacher’s Library, Volume 1, Why Preach' >>

The Preacher’s Library, Volume 2, Preaching on the Old Testament


by Christine Pilkington
ISBN: 1-858-52173-4
Price: £7.99
Published: September 2000
More Information, and our review of 'The Preacher’s Library, Volume 2, Preaching on the Old Testament' >>

The Preaching of Jesus

- Gospel Proclamation, Then and Now

by William Brosend
ISBN: 978-0-664-23215-3
Price: £12.99
Published: April 2010
More Information, and our review of 'The Preaching of Jesus' >>

The Psalter – Psalms and Canticles for Singing

- Choral edition

Compiled by Hal H. Hopson
ISBN: 978-0-664-23704-2
Price: £12.99
Published: 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Psalter – Psalms and Canticles for Singing' >>

The Purpose of God: Ephesians


by R.C.Sproul
ISBN: 978-1-845-50638-4
Price: £9.99
Published: 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Purpose of God: Ephesians' >>

The Quick Reference Guide to Biblical Counselling

- 40 topics, Spiritual Insights & Easy-to-use Action Steps

by Dr Tim Clinton and Dr Ron Hawkins
ISBN: 978-0-801-07225-3
Price: £14.99
Published: 2009
More Information, and our review of 'The Quick Reference Guide to Biblical Counselling' >>

The Real Christmas

- Christianity Explored

by Marcus Nodder and Tim Thornborough
ISBN: 978-1-906-33431-4
Price: £0.25
Published: Summer 2008
More Information, and our review of 'The Real Christmas' >>

The Real Godsend

- Preaching the Birth Narratives in Matthew and Luke

by Nigel G. Wright
ISBN: 978-1-841-01576-7
Price: £6.99
Published: 2009
More Information, and our review of 'The Real Godsend' >>

The Second Intercessions Handbook

- More Creative Ideas for Public and Private Prayer

by John Pritchard
ISBN: 0-281-05649-8
Price: £9.99
Published: 22 November 2004
More Information, and our review of 'The Second Intercessions Handbook' >>

The Seven Deadly Sins of Small Group Ministry


by Bill Donahue & Russ Robinson
ISBN: 0-310-26711-0
Price: £8.99
Published: 18 November 2005
More Information, and our review of 'The Seven Deadly Sins of Small Group Ministry' >>

The Sixth Times Book of Best Sermons


Edited by Ruth Gledhill
ISBN: 0-826-44983-2
Price: £9.99
More Information, and our review of 'The Sixth Times Book of Best Sermons' >>

The Spirit-Filled Church

- Finding Your Place in God’s Purpose

by Terry Virgo
ISBN: 978-0-857-21049-4
Price: £7.99
Published: May 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Spirit-Filled Church' >>

The Splendour of the Preachers


by Duncan Macpherson
ISBN: 978-0-854-39781-5
Price: £8.95
Published: June 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Splendour of the Preachers' >>

The U-Turn Church

- New Direction for Health and Growth

by Bob Bouwer; Kevin G Harney
ISBN: 978-0-801-01488-8
Price: £8.99
Published: October 2012
More Information, and our review of 'The U-Turn Church' >>

The UK Church Fundraising Handbook

- A Practical manual and Directory of Sources

by Maggie Durran
ISBN: 1-853-11516-9
Price: £17.99
Published: 2006
More Information, and our review of 'The UK Church Fundraising Handbook' >>

The UK Church Fundraising Handbook

- A Practical Manual and Directory of Sources

by Maggie Durran
ISBN: 978-1-848-25002-4
Price: £19.99
Published: 27 April 2010
More Information, and our review of 'The UK Church Fundraising Handbook' >>

The Verger in the Church of England

- A Practical Guide

by John G. Campbell
ISBN: 1-840-03231-6
Price: £7.99
Published: 1998
More Information, and our review of 'The Verger in the Church of England' >>

The Vicar’s Guide

- Life and Ministry in the Parish

Edited David Ison
ISBN: 0-715-14015-9
Price: £14.99
Published: April 2005
More Information, and our review of 'The Vicar’s Guide' >>

The Volunteer Revolution

- Unleashing the Power of Everybody

by Bill Hybels
ISBN: 0-310-25711-5
Price: £5.99
Published: October 2005
More Information, and our review of 'The Volunteer Revolution' >>

The Welcoming Parish


by Donal Harrington
ISBN: 1-856-07482-X
Price: £9.99
Published: February 2005
More Information, and our review of 'The Welcoming Parish' >>

The Whole World Will Rejoice

- New Worship Resources for Justice and Hope

Compiled by Geoffrey Duncan
ISBN: 978-1-905-95803-0
Price: £12.99
Published: April 2007
More Information, and our review of 'The Whole World Will Rejoice' >>

The Word is Very Near You: Feasts & Festivals

- Reflections on the Lectionary Readings Years A,B&C

by John Pridmore
ISBN: 978-1-848-25031-4
Price: £12.99
Published: 27 September 2010
More Information, and our review of 'The Word is Very Near You: Feasts & Festivals' >>

The Worship Architect

- A Blueprint for Designing Culturally Relevant and Biblically Faithful Services

by Constance M. Cherry
ISBN: 978-0-801-03874-7
Price: £14.99
Published: June 2010
More Information, and our review of 'The Worship Architect' >>

There’s Hope For Your Church

- First Steps to Restoring Health and Growth

by Gary L. McIntosh
ISBN: 978-0-801-01406-2
Price: £11.99
Published: June 2012
More Information, and our review of 'There’s Hope For Your Church' >>

They Shall Grow Not Old

- Liturgies for Remembrance

by Brian Elliott CF
ISBN: 1-853-11738-2
Price: £20.00
Published: 31 October 2006
More Information, and our review of 'They Shall Grow Not Old' >>

Through the Dark Woods

- A Young Woman's Journey Out of Depression

by Joanna Swinney
ISBN: 1-854-24768-9
Price: £6.99
Published: 2006
More Information, and our review of 'Through the Dark Woods' >>

Times and Seasons

- Common Worship: Services and Prayers for the Church of England

For the Archbishop’s Council
ISBN: 0-715-12112-X
Price: £30.00
Published: 2006
More Information, and our review of 'Times and Seasons' >>

Times and Seasons

- Creating Transformative Worship Throughout the Year

by Richard Giles
ISBN: 978-1-853-11877-7
Price: £20.00
Published: 2008
More Information, and our review of 'Times and Seasons' >>

Together for a Season

- All-age Seasonal resources for Lent, Holy Week and Easter

by Gill Ambrose, Peter Craig-Wild, Diane Craven & Peter Moger
ISBN: 978-0-715-14063-5
Price: £24.50
Published: Summer 2007
More Information, and our review of 'Together for a Season' >>

Together for a Season

- All-Age Resources for Feasts and Festivals of the Christian Year

Edited by Gill Ambrose
ISBN: 978-0-715-14064-2
Price: £24.50
Published: May 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Together for a Season' >>

Tom Wright for Everyone

- Putting the Theology of N.T.Wright into Practice in the Local Church

by Stephen Kuhrt
ISBN: 978-0-281-06393-2
Price: £9.99
Published: May 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Tom Wright for Everyone' >>

Tools for Reflective Ministry

- SPCK Library of Ministry

by Sally Nash and Paul Nash
ISBN: 978-0-281-05993-5
Price: £12.99
Published: 23 July 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Tools for Reflective Ministry' >>

Touching the Sacred

- Art and Prayer to Inspire Worship – With full colour CD ROM

Words by Chris Thorpe, Images by Jake Lever
ISBN: 978-1-848-25024-6
Price: £16.99
Published: 25 August 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Touching the Sacred' >>

Transform Your Church

- 50 Very Practical Steps

by Paul Beasley-Murray
ISBN: 978-1-844-74085-7
Price: £8.99
Published: 05 May 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Transform Your Church' >>

Trish Morgan Collection


by Trish Morgan
ISBN: 1-840-03371-1
Price: £9.99
Published: 2000
More Information, and our review of 'Trish Morgan Collection' >>

Twelve Fragments

- Thoughts for Today’s Christian

by George Wilkie
ISBN: 1-904-32533-5
Price: £3.99
Published: 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Twelve Fragments' >>

Browse the archive:-

All books reviewed in this section, indexed by title:-
A B C D E F G H I J L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y 1 2 5