Advertisement


Search
Search the site for...  
Containing...

Sort results  by...
 
Menu

 Church & Ministry: Theory & Resources

Notice: This site is no longer being updated. It will continue to be available as an archive, at least until the end of March 2019. If you rely on it for review links, please adjust them before then.

The project has disseminated reviews and other information about Christian books since the start of the Millennium. We regret that it is no longer possible to sustain it.

Reviews of good Christian books about:- Church & Ministry: Theory & Resources
For Information and Handbooks useful to all denominations unless specifically stated.
Help with preaching, intercessions, all-age worship, music etc.

Archive - Book Titles reviewed - S


A Service for Animal Welfare Sunday


by H Broadbent

Stapled A5 Pbk.
Publisher: Anglican Society for the Welfare of Animals
ISBN: 9-990-00005-0
Reviewed by Ian Terry  (13/12/06)

Read our review of 'A Service for Animal Welfare Sunday' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Sacristan in the Catholic Church

- A Practical Guide

by Timothy McDonald

Paperback
Price: £7.99
Publisher: Kevin Mayhew Publishers
Published: 1999
ISBN: 1-840-03440-8
Reviewed by Mary Bartholomew  (11/03/01)

Read our review of 'Sacristan in the Catholic Church' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Sacristan in the Church of England

- A Practical Guide

by Thomas J.D.Robertson

Paperback
Price: £7.99
Publisher: Kevin Mayhew Publishers
Published: 1996
ISBN: 0-862-09242-6
Reviewed by Mary Bartholomew  (11/03/01)

Read our review of 'Sacristan in the Church of England' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Saints on Earth

- A Biographical Companion to Common Worship

by John H Darch & Stuart K Burns

Hardback
Price: £20.00
Publisher: Church House Publishing (CHP) part of Hymns Ancient & Modern
Published: 01 November 2004
ISBN: 978-0-715-14036-9
Reviewed by Nick Horton  (11/01/11)

Read our review of 'Saints on Earth' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Scripture Readings in Orthodox Worship


by Georges Barrois

Paperback
Price: £9.99
Publisher: St Vladimir's Seminary Press from Orthodox Bks
Published: 2006
ISBN: 978-0-913-83641-5
Reviewed by Ian Gibbs  (20/08/07)

Read our review of 'Scripture Readings in Orthodox Worship' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Searchlights – Complete Resource Book

- The All-age Resource for Common Worship Year B

by David Adam

Paperback
Price: £19.99
Publisher: Kevin Mayhew Publishers
Published: August 2005
ISBN: 1-844-17427-1
Reviewed by Hilary Morgan  (28/09/05)

Read our review of 'Searchlights – Complete Resource Book' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

 Advertisement

Seasons of Grace

- Inspirational Resources for the Christian Year

by Ann Lewin
ISBN: 978-1-848-25090-1
Price: £14.99
Published: 31 August 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Seasons of Grace' >>

Secular Lives, Sacred Hearts

- The Role of the Church in a Time of No Religion

by Alan Billings
ISBN: 0-281-05704-4
Price: £10.99
Published: 22 November 2004
More Information, and our review of 'Secular Lives, Sacred Hearts' >>

Seeing Jesus: Exploring the Bible Through Contemporary Art

- Resources for house groups

by Nichola Slee
ISBN: 1-904-02465-3
Price: £9.99
Published: May 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Seeing Jesus: Exploring the Bible Through Contemporary Art' >>

Seeing Our Faith

- Creative Ideas for Working with Images of Christ with CD ROM

by Janet Hodgson
ISBN: 978-1-848-25061-1
Price: £19.99
Published: June 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Seeing Our Faith' >>

Services Of Reconciliation

- For Communal use During Advent and Lent

by Nuala Gannon
ISBN: 978-1-856-07795-8
Price: £8.50
Published: January 2014
More Information, and our review of 'Services Of Reconciliation' >>

Serving God's Words

- Windows on Preaching and Ministry

Edited by Paul A. Barker, Richard J. Condie and Andrew S Malone
ISBN: 978-1-844-74547-0
Price: £11.99
Published: November 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Serving God's Words' >>

Serving the Parish

- How to be an Effective PCC Member

by Martin Dudley and Virginia Rounding
ISBN: 0-281-05718-4
Price: £10.99
Published: 17 November 2006
More Information, and our review of 'Serving the Parish' >>

Sexuality

- The Inclusive Church Resource

by Susannah Cornwell
ISBN: 978-0-232-53067-4
Price: £8.99
Published: October 2014
More Information, and our review of 'Sexuality' >>

Short Prayers for Public Worship


by Nick Fawcett
ISBN: 1-844-17016-0
Price: £9.99
Published: January 2003
More Information, and our review of 'Short Prayers for Public Worship' >>

Simplicity In Preaching


by J C Ryle
ISBN: 978-1-848-71065-8
Price: £1.50
Published: 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Simplicity In Preaching' >>

Sing God’s Glory

- Hymns for Sundays and Holy Days, Years A,B&C

by Various Authors
ISBN: 1-853-11415-4
Price: £9.99
Published: 15 October 2001
More Information, and our review of 'Sing God’s Glory' >>

Sing God’s Glory: Hymns for Sundays and Holy Days, Years A, B & C

- Revised Expanded Edition

Compiled by Alan Luff, Alan Dunstan, Paul Ferguson, Christopher Idle & Charles Stewart
ISBN: 978-1-853-11762-6
Price: £12.99
Published: October 2007
More Information, and our review of 'Sing God’s Glory: Hymns for Sundays and Holy Days, Years A, B & C' >>

Sing Praise: Full Music

- Hymns and Songs for Refreshing Worship

Compiled with The Royal School of Church Music
ISBN: 978-1-848-25034-5
Price: £24.99
Published: 07 October 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Sing Praise: Full Music' >>

Sing! New Words for Worship


by Rosalind Brown, Jeremy Davies, Ron Green
ISBN: 0-953-48363-0
Price: £9.99
Published: Summer 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Sing! New Words for Worship' >>

Singing Psalms

- Responsorial Psalms set to Simple Chant, Year A

Music by Alison Cadden & Peter Thompson
ISBN: 978-1-856-07722-4
Price: £15.50
Published: 30 November 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Singing Psalms' >>

Singing With the Saints

- Hymns for the Festivals of the C of E

Compiled by Margaret Wallwork
ISBN: 1-902-28511-5
Price: £7.00
Published: 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Singing With the Saints' >>

Sixty More Sermon Illustration


by David Adam
ISBN: 978-1-844-17718-9
Price: £9.99
Published: Summer 2007
More Information, and our review of 'Sixty More Sermon Illustration' >>

Sixty More Themed Intercessions


by David Adam
ISBN: 978-1-844-17719-6
Price: £9.99
Published: Summer 2007
More Information, and our review of 'Sixty More Themed Intercessions' >>

Skills For Collaborative Ministry

- SPCK Library of Ministry

by Sally Nash, Jo Pimlott and Paul Nash
ISBN: 978-0-281-05994-2
Price: £12.99
Published: 2008
More Information, and our review of 'Skills For Collaborative Ministry' >>

So the Vicar’s Leaving

- The Good Interregnum Guide

by Mike Alexander and Jeremy Martineau
ISBN: 1-853-11505-3
Price: £5.99
Published: 15 September 2002
More Information, and our review of 'So the Vicar’s Leaving' >>

Somebody Once Said

- An Anthology of Quotations for Preachers and Speakers

Compiled by David Self
ISBN: 0-281-05565-3
Price: £8.99
Published: 24 October 2003
More Information, and our review of 'Somebody Once Said' >>

Soul Space

- Making a Retreat in the Christian Tradition

by Margaret Silf
ISBN: 0-281-05317-0
Price: £9.99
Published: 2002
More Information, and our review of 'Soul Space' >>

Speaking in Church


by Burnham Hodgson
ISBN: 0-281-05659-5
Price: £5.99
Published: 18 June 2004
More Information, and our review of 'Speaking in Church' >>

Speaking of Dying

- A Practical Guide to Using Counselling Skills in Palliative Care

by Louis Heyse-Moore
ISBN: 978-1-843-10678-4
Price: £17.99
Published: 15 June 2008
More Information, and our review of 'Speaking of Dying' >>

Special Children, Special Needs

- – Integrating children with disabilities and special needs into your church. Getting a Grip series.

by Simon Bass
ISBN: 0-715-14999-7
Price: £5.95
Published: Spring 2003
More Information, and our review of 'Special Children, Special Needs' >>

Spiritual Care at the End of Life

- The Chaplain as a ‘Hopeful Presence’

by Steve Nolan
ISBN: 978-1-849-05199-6
Price: £17.99
Published: January 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Spiritual Care at the End of Life' >>

Spiritual Direction

- For Every Christian

by Gordon Jeff
ISBN: 978-0-281-05951-5
Price: £9.99
Published: 23 August 2007
More Information, and our review of 'Spiritual Direction' >>

Spiritual Direction

- A Practical Introduction

by Sue Pickering
ISBN: 978-1-853-11885-2
Price: £17.99
Published: 2008
More Information, and our review of 'Spiritual Direction' >>

Spoken Worship


by Gerard Kelly
ISBN: 978-0-310-27550-3
Price: £5.99
Published: 2007
More Information, and our review of 'Spoken Worship' >>

Stages on the Way

- Worship Resources for Lent, Holy Week and Easter

by Wild Goose Worship Group
ISBN: 1-901-55711-1
Price: £14.99
Published: 1998
More Information, and our review of 'Stages on the Way' >>

Stale Bread?

- A Handbook for Speaking the Story

by Richard Littledale
ISBN: 978-0-715-20835-9
Price: £8.99
Published: 09 November 2007
More Information, and our review of 'Stale Bread?' >>

Starting From Zero With $0

- Building Mission-shaped Ministries on a Shoestring

by Becky Garrison
ISBN: 978-1-596-27125-8
Price: £15.99
Published: 15 December 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Starting From Zero With $0' >>

Stripping Preaching to its bare Essentials


by Simon Coupland
ISBN: 1-854-24712-3
Price: £7.99
Published: 01 April 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Stripping Preaching to its bare Essentials' >>

Stumbling Blocks

- Conquering the stuff that holds you back

by Gavin and Anne Calver
ISBN: 978-0-857-21200-9
Price: £7.99
Published: July 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Stumbling Blocks' >>

Sunday Seeds

- Reflections on the readings for the Sundays and major Feasts of the Three Year Cycle

by Silvester O’Flynn OFM Cap
ISBN: 1-856-07361-0
Price: £14.99
Published: July 2002
More Information, and our review of 'Sunday Seeds' >>

Supporting Dying Children and Their families: A Handbook for Christian Ministry

- SPCK Library of Ministry

by Paul Nash
ISBN: 978-0-281-06005-4
Price: £14.99
Published: January 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Supporting Dying Children and Their families: A Handbook for Christian Ministry' >>

Supporting New Ministers in the Local Church – A Handbook

- SPCK Library of Ministry

by Keith Lamdin & David Tilley
ISBN: 978-0-281-05879-2
Price: £14.99
Published: 19 July 2007
More Information, and our review of 'Supporting New Ministers in the Local Church – A Handbook' >>

The Second Intercessions Handbook

- More Creative Ideas for Public and Private Prayer

by John Pritchard
ISBN: 0-281-05649-8
Price: £9.99
Published: 22 November 2004
More Information, and our review of 'The Second Intercessions Handbook' >>

The Seven Deadly Sins of Small Group Ministry


by Bill Donahue & Russ Robinson
ISBN: 0-310-26711-0
Price: £8.99
Published: 18 November 2005
More Information, and our review of 'The Seven Deadly Sins of Small Group Ministry' >>

The Sixth Times Book of Best Sermons


Edited by Ruth Gledhill
ISBN: 0-826-44983-2
Price: £9.99
More Information, and our review of 'The Sixth Times Book of Best Sermons' >>

The Spirit-Filled Church

- Finding Your Place in God’s Purpose

by Terry Virgo
ISBN: 978-0-857-21049-4
Price: £7.99
Published: May 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Spirit-Filled Church' >>

The Splendour of the Preachers


by Duncan Macpherson
ISBN: 978-0-854-39781-5
Price: £8.95
Published: June 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Splendour of the Preachers' >>

Browse the archive:-

All books reviewed in this section, indexed by title:-
A B C D E F G H I J L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y 1 2 5