Advertisement


Search
Search the site for...  
Containing...

Sort results  by...
 
Menu

 Church & Ministry: Theory & Resources

Notice: This site is no longer being updated. It will continue to be available as an archive, at least until the end of March 2019. If you rely on it for review links, please adjust them before then.

The project has disseminated reviews and other information about Christian books since the start of the Millennium. We regret that it is no longer possible to sustain it.

Reviews of good Christian books about:- Church & Ministry: Theory & Resources
For Information and Handbooks useful to all denominations unless specifically stated.
Help with preaching, intercessions, all-age worship, music etc.

Archive - Book Titles reviewed - P


A Place at the Table

- Liturgies and Resources for Christ-Centred Hospitality

by Dilly Baker

Paperback
Price: £14.99
Publisher: Canterbury Press imprint of Hymns Ancient & Modern Ltd
Published: November 2007
ISBN: 978-1-853-11772-5
Reviewed by Mary Austin  (31/07/08)

Read our review of 'A Place at the Table' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

A Preacher’s Companion

- Essays from the College of preachers

Edited by Geoffrey Hunter, Gethin Thomas and Stephen Wright

Paperback
Price: £9.99
Publisher: BRF (Bible Reading Fellowship)
Published: 23 April 2005
ISBN: 1-841-01254-8
Reviewed by Ian Gibson  (21/11/05)

Read our review of 'A Preacher’s Companion' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Passion For Your name

- Resourcing Worship Leaders-Refreshing Worshippers

by Tim Hughes

Paperback
Price: £6.99
Publisher: Soul Survivor from Kingsway
Published: 2003
ISBN: 1-842-91175-9
Reviewed by Hilary Morgan  (07/07/04)

Read our review of 'Passion For Your name' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Pastoral Care in Hospitals


by Neville A. Kirkwood

Paperback
Price: £9.99
Publisher: Morehouse from Norwich Books and Music
Published: 2005
ISBN: 0-819-21790-5
Reviewed by Ian Gibson  (19/01/06)

Read our review of 'Pastoral Care in Hospitals' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Pastoral Theology

- SCM Studyguide

by Margaret Whipp

Paperback
Price: £19.99
Publisher: SCM imprint of Hymns Ancient & Modern Ltd
Published: March 2013
ISBN: 978-0-334-04550-2
Reviewed by Tim Hupfield  (14/01/15)

Read our review of 'Pastoral Theology' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Pastoring the Pastor

- Emails of a Journey Through Ministry

by Tim Cooper & Kelvin Gardiner

Paperback
Price: £7.99
Publisher: Christian Focus Publications
Published: March 2012
ISBN: 978-1-845-50784-8
Reviewed by Johnny Douglas  (13/08/12)

Read our review of 'Pastoring the Pastor' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

 Advertisement

Pastors Under Pressure

- Conflicts on the Outside, Fears Within

by James Taylor
ISBN: 1-903-08767-8
Price: £7.00
Published: 2004
More Information, and our review of 'Pastors Under Pressure' >>

Paul as Pastor

- Biblical insights for pastoral ministry

by Patrick Whitworth
ISBN: 978-0-857-46046-2
Price: £7.99
Published: 19 October 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Paul as Pastor' >>

People of Faith

- An Interfaith Companion to the Revised Common Lectionary

by John R Mabry
ISBN: 978-1-846-94222-8
Price: £11.99
Published: 2009
More Information, and our review of 'People of Faith' >>

Planting Churches Changing Communities

- A hands On Guide to Successful Church Planting

by David Stroud
ISBN: 978-1-850-78856-0
Price: £8.99
Published: 07 August 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Planting Churches Changing Communities' >>

Poverty

- The Inclusive Church Resource

by Susan Durber
ISBN: 978-0-232-53068-1
Price: £8.99
Published: October 2014
More Information, and our review of 'Poverty' >>

Practical Caring

- A Handbook for the Pastoral Visitor

by Sheila Steven
ISBN: 1-904-32518-1
Price: £5.99
Published: 2004
More Information, and our review of 'Practical Caring' >>

Practical Skills for Ministry

- SCM Study Guide

by Practical Skills for Ministry
ISBN: 978-0-334-04359-1
Price: £16.99
Published: 20 August 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Practical Skills for Ministry' >>

Praise and Play

- Worshipping With Under-fives

by Alison Harris
ISBN: 978-1-841-01563-7
Price: £9.99
Published: 20 March 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Praise and Play' >>

Pray, Plan, Prepare, Preach

- Establishing and Maintaining Priorities in the Preaching Ministry – Ministering the Master’s Way

by Iain D. Campbell
ISBN: 978-1-846-25149-8
Price: £6.00
Published: 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Pray, Plan, Prepare, Preach' >>

Prayers for Life's Particular Moments


by Dorothy McRae-McMahon
ISBN: 0-281-05297-2
Price: £9.99
More Information, and our review of 'Prayers for Life's Particular Moments' >>

Prayers of Intercession For Common Worship

- Living Stones

by Susan Sayers
ISBN: 1-840-03473-4
Price: £19.99
Published: 1999
More Information, and our review of 'Prayers of Intercession For Common Worship' >>

Praying the Lectionary

- Prayers and Reflections for Every Week's Readings

by James Woodward and Leslie Houlden
ISBN: 978-0-281-05854-9
Price: £9.99
Published: 18 January 2007
More Information, and our review of 'Praying the Lectionary' >>

Preach the Word


by Denis Lane
ISBN: 0-852-34247-0
Price: £3.95
Published: Spring 2004
More Information, and our review of 'Preach the Word' >>

Preach the Word


by Greg Haslam
ISBN: 1-852-40443-4
Price: £24.99
Published: 2006
More Information, and our review of 'Preach the Word' >>

Preachers A-Z

- Beginners Guide to Preaching

by Richard Littledale
ISBN: 978-0-715-20853-3
Price: £9.99
Published: April 2008
More Information, and our review of 'Preachers A-Z' >>

Preaching Christ


by Edgar Andrews
ISBN: 978-0-950-01291-9
Price: £4.95
Published: July 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Preaching Christ' >>

Preaching Matters

- Encountering The Living God

by Jonathan Lamb
ISBN: 978-1-783-59149-7
Price: £9.99
Published: July 2014
More Information, and our review of 'Preaching Matters' >>

Preaching the Atonement


by Peter K Stevenson
ISBN: 978-0-567-08999-1
Price: £14.99
Published: 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Preaching the Atonement' >>

Preaching The Four Gospels With Confidence

- (Preachers Toolbox Series)

by Steven D Mathewson
ISBN: 978-1-598-56702-1
Price: £9.99
Published: July 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Preaching The Four Gospels With Confidence' >>

Preaching The Hard Words Of Jesus (Preachers Toolbox)


by Steven D Mathewson
ISBN: 978-1-619-70101-4
Price: £9.99
Published: July 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Preaching The Hard Words Of Jesus (Preachers Toolbox)' >>

Preaching With a Plan

- Sermon Strategies for Growing Mature Believers

by by Scott M Gibson
ISBN: 978-0-801-09159-9
Price: £7.99
Published: 01 March 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Preaching With a Plan' >>

Prepare the Way with Posters

- Creative poster-Making to Attract and Inspire

by Yvonne Coppock
ISBN: 978-1-899-74618-7
Price: £8.99
Published: 1999
More Information, and our review of 'Prepare the Way with Posters' >>

Preparing for Church

- Integrating into the Body of Christ

by Sheila Stephen, designed and illustrated by Bradley Goodwin
ISBN: 978-1-846-25073-6
Price: £10.00
Published: Summer 2007
More Information, and our review of 'Preparing for Church' >>

Present on Earth

- Worship resources on the life of Jesus

by The Wild Goose Worship Group
ISBN: 1-901-55764-2
Price: £14.99
Published: 17 June 2002
More Information, and our review of 'Present on Earth' >>

Presiding Like a Woman


Edited by Nicola Slee and Stephen Burns
ISBN: 978-0-281-06186-0
Price: £14.99
Published: 23 September 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Presiding Like a Woman' >>

Protecting All God’s Children

- The Child Protection Policy for the Church of England – 4th edition

House of Bishops
ISBN: 978-0-715-11051-5
Price: £6.99
Published: 26 November 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Protecting All God’s Children' >>

Psalm-Shaped Prayerfulness

- A Guide to the Christian Reception of the Psalms

by Margaret M. Daly-Denton
ISBN: 978-1-856-07715-6
Price: £12.50
Published: 08 November 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Psalm-Shaped Prayerfulness' >>

Psychology For Pastoral Contexts

- A Handbook

by Jessica Rose
ISBN: 978-0-334-04552-6
Price: £19.99
Published: April 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Psychology For Pastoral Contexts' >>

Pulpit Journeys


edited by Geoffrey Stevenson
ISBN: 0-232-52617-6
Price: £12.95
Published: 28 August 2006
More Information, and our review of 'Pulpit Journeys' >>

Purpose driven youth ministry

- 9 essential foundations for healthy growth

by Doug Fields
ISBN: 0-310-21253-7
Price: £12.50
Published: 2002
More Information, and our review of 'Purpose driven youth ministry' >>

The Parish

- People, Place and Ministry: A Theological and Practical Exploration

by Malcolm Torry
ISBN: 978-1-853-11586-8
Price: £14.99
Published: 30 June 2004
More Information, and our review of 'The Parish' >>

The Parish Survival Guide


by Martin Dudley & Virginia Rounding
ISBN: 0-281-05665-X
Price: £10.99
Published: 2004
More Information, and our review of 'The Parish Survival Guide' >>

The Passion-Driven Youth Choir


by Mark Acker
ISBN: 978-0-687-49224-4
Price: £6.99
Published: May 2007
More Information, and our review of 'The Passion-Driven Youth Choir' >>

The Pastor as Theologian – The Formation of Today’s Ministry in the Light of Contemporary Human Sciences

- 2nd Edition. New Library of Pastoral Care

by Wesley Carr
ISBN: 978-0-281-06037-5
Price: £12.99
Published: 19 June 2008
More Information, and our review of 'The Pastor as Theologian – The Formation of Today’s Ministry in the Light of Contemporary Human Sciences' >>

The Pastoral Care of People With Mental Health Problems

- New Library of Pastoral Care

by Marion L S Carter
ISBN: 978-0-281-05866-2
Price: £12.99
Published: 22 May 2008
More Information, and our review of 'The Pastoral Care of People With Mental Health Problems' >>

The Path Not Chosen: Beginning the Journey of Loss and Bereavement

- Bereavement Pack for Leaders and Carers

by Wendy Bray
ISBN: 978-1-853-45559-9
Price: £9.99
Published: September 2010
More Information, and our review of 'The Path Not Chosen: Beginning the Journey of Loss and Bereavement' >>

The Preacher’s Library, Volume 1, Why Preach


by Peter Dawson
ISBN: 1-858-52172-6
Price: £7.99
Published: September 2000
More Information, and our review of 'The Preacher’s Library, Volume 1, Why Preach' >>

The Preacher’s Library, Volume 2, Preaching on the Old Testament


by Christine Pilkington
ISBN: 1-858-52173-4
Price: £7.99
Published: September 2000
More Information, and our review of 'The Preacher’s Library, Volume 2, Preaching on the Old Testament' >>

The Preaching of Jesus

- Gospel Proclamation, Then and Now

by William Brosend
ISBN: 978-0-664-23215-3
Price: £12.99
Published: April 2010
More Information, and our review of 'The Preaching of Jesus' >>

The Psalter – Psalms and Canticles for Singing

- Choral edition

Compiled by Hal H. Hopson
ISBN: 978-0-664-23704-2
Price: £12.99
Published: 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Psalter – Psalms and Canticles for Singing' >>

The Purpose of God: Ephesians


by R.C.Sproul
ISBN: 978-1-845-50638-4
Price: £9.99
Published: 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Purpose of God: Ephesians' >>

Browse the archive:-

All books reviewed in this section, indexed by title:-
A B C D E F G H I J L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y 1 2 5