Advertisement


Search
Search the site for...  
Containing...

Sort results  by...
 
Menu

 Church & Ministry: Theory & Resources

Notice: This site is no longer being updated. It will continue to be available as an archive, at least until the end of March 2019. If you rely on it for review links, please adjust them before then.

The project has disseminated reviews and other information about Christian books since the start of the Millennium. We regret that it is no longer possible to sustain it.

Reviews of good Christian books about:- Church & Ministry: Theory & Resources
For Information and Handbooks useful to all denominations unless specifically stated.
Help with preaching, intercessions, all-age worship, music etc.

Archive - Book Titles reviewed - C


A Calendar of Praise


by Timothy Dudley-Smith

Stapled Paperback
Price: £9.99
Publisher: Canterbury Press imprint of Hymns Ancient & Modern Ltd
Published: Autumn 2006
ISBN: 1-853-11755-2
Reviewed by Martin Brasier  (02/01/07)

Read our review of 'A Calendar of Praise' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

A Clergy Husband's Survival Guide


by Matthew Caminer

Paperback
Price: £8.99
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: August 2012
ISBN: 978-0-281-06790-9
Reviewed by Tim Hupfield  (14/02/13)

Read our review of 'A Clergy Husband's Survival Guide' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

A Common Worship Year A Miscellany

- A Bumper Resource for the Principal Seasons

Compiled by Nick Fawcett

Paperback
Price: £29.99
Publisher: Kevin Mayhew Publishers
Published: 2004
ISBN: 1-844-17290-2
Reviewed by David Thomson  (28/11/04)

Read our review of 'A Common Worship Year A Miscellany' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

A Companion to Common Worship Volume 2


Edited by Paul Bradshaw

Paperback
Price: £19.99
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: Spring 2006
ISBN: 0-281-05778-8
Reviewed by Ian Gibson  (21/02/06)

Read our review of 'A Companion to Common Worship Volume 2' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Called by God

- A Handbook for Those Testing Christian Vocation

by Stuart Buchanan

Paperback
Price: £14.99
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: 18 September 2008
ISBN: 978-0-281-06052-8
Reviewed by David Thomson  (24/12/08)

Read our review of 'Called by God' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Called or Collared

- Second edition

by Francis Dewar

Paperback
Price: £9.99
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: 2000
ISBN: 978-0-281-05350-6
Reviewed by Mary Bartholomew  (28/04/08)

Read our review of 'Called or Collared' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

 Advertisement

Called to Praise

- An Anthology based on Christian Seasons and Major Themes

Compiled by Donald Hinton
ISBN: 1-904-02474-2
Price: £18.95
Published: May 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Called to Praise' >>

Can Anyone be a Leader?

- Identifying and Developing Potential

by David Pytches
ISBN: 0-863-47613-9
Price: £8.99
Published: Spring 2004
More Information, and our review of 'Can Anyone be a Leader?' >>

Can Words Express Our Wonder?

- Preaching in the Church Today

by Rosalind Brown
ISBN: 978-1-853-11969-9
Price: £12.99
Published: 24 September 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Can Words Express Our Wonder?' >>

Celebrating Christ’s Appearing

- Advent to Candlemas – Alcuin Liturgy Guides

by Benjamin Gordon-Taylor and Simon Jones
ISBN: 978-0-281-05978-2
Price: £9.99
Published: 18 September 2008
More Information, and our review of 'Celebrating Christ’s Appearing' >>

Celebrating Christ’s Victory

- Ash Wednesday to Trinity – Alcuin Liturgy Guides

by Benjamin Gordon-Taylor and Simon Jones
ISBN: 978-0-281-05979-9
Price: £9.99
Published: 22 January 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Celebrating Christ’s Victory' >>

Celebrating the Christian Year

- Prayers and Resources for Sundays, Holy Days & Festivals Year A,B & C – Vol III Advent & The Christmas Season

Compiled by Alan Griffiths
ISBN: 1-853-11671-8
Price: £25.00
Published: 05 December 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Celebrating the Christian Year' >>

Celebrating the Eucharist

- Alcuin Liturgy Guide

by Benjamin Gordon-Taylor & Simon Jones
ISBN: 0-281-05588-2
Price: £9.99
Published: 27 May 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Celebrating the Eucharist' >>

Celebrating the Eucharist: A Practical Guide

- Alcuin Liturgy Guides- re-issue of 2005 publication

by Benjamin Gordon-Taylor
ISBN: 978-0-281-06507-3
Price: £9.99
Published: August 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Celebrating the Eucharist: A Practical Guide' >>

Celebrations Sorted!


by Various Authors
ISBN: 1-844-27182-X
Price: £8.99
Published: Summer 2006
More Information, and our review of 'Celebrations Sorted!' >>

Celtic Liturgy


by Pat Robson
ISBN: 978-0-281-06096-2
Price: £9.99
Published: 20 November 2008
More Information, and our review of 'Celtic Liturgy' >>

Children First

- Worshipping with the Family of God - Engaging Services for Elementary Children and their Families

by Mark Burrows
ISBN: 978-1-426-70775-9
Price: £12.99
Published: September 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Children First' >>

Christian Hymns

- Words and Music

Compiled by Evangelical Movement of Wales and Christian Hymns Committee
ISBN: 1-850-49208-5
Price: £29.95
Published: 16 November 2004
More Information, and our review of 'Christian Hymns' >>

Christian Worship

- 100,000 Sundays of Symbols and Rituals

by Gail Ramshaw
ISBN: 978-0-800-66233-2
Price: £19.99
Published: 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Christian Worship' >>

Church Hymnary: 4th Edition

- Full Music and Words

Edited by a panel led by John Bell and Charles Robertson
ISBN: 978-1-853-11613-1
Price: £27.00
Published: 31 May 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Church Hymnary: 4th Edition' >>

Church Linen, Vestments And Textiles

- A Practical Guide To Their Use And Care

by Margery Roberts
ISBN: 978-1-848-25740-5
Price: £8.99
Published: January 2015
More Information, and our review of 'Church Linen, Vestments And Textiles' >>

Church of England Marriage Services

- Expanded Edition

Compiled by Peter Moger
ISBN: 978-0-715-14202-8
Price: £4.99
Published: 10 August 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Church of England Marriage Services' >>

Church of England Year Book 2007


Compiled for the Archbishop's Council
ISBN: 0-715-11020-9
Price: £35.00
Published: December 2006
More Information, and our review of 'Church of England Year Book 2007' >>

Church of England Year Book 2008


Compiled for Archbishop's Council
ISBN: 978-0-715-11027-0
Price: £36.00
Published: 21 December 2007
More Information, and our review of 'Church of England Year Book 2008' >>

Churchwardens: A Survival Guide

- Revised Edition

by Martin Dudley & Virginia Rounding
ISBN: 978-0-281-06092-4
Price: £10.99
Published: 22 January 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Churchwardens: A Survival Guide' >>

Closing the Back Door of the Church


by Ron Kallmier and Andy Peck
ISBN: 978-1-853-45483-7
Price: £8.99
Published: September 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Closing the Back Door of the Church' >>

Collective Worship

- Issues and Opportunities

by Richard Cheetham
ISBN: 0-281-05586-6
Price: £14.99
Published: 17 September 2004
More Information, and our review of 'Collective Worship' >>

Come to the Feast

- A Companion to Common Worship Holy Communion

by Gill Ambrose and Simon Kershaw
ISBN: 1-853-11450-2
Price: £6.99
Published: 19 October 2001
More Information, and our review of 'Come to the Feast' >>

Comfort Those Who Grieve: Ministering God's Grace in Times of Loss

- Ministering the Masters Way series

by Paul Tautges
ISBN: 978-1-846-25155-9
Price: £5.00
Published: 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Comfort Those Who Grieve: Ministering God's Grace in Times of Loss' >>

Common Worship

- Daily Eucharistic Lectionary

Compiled by Simon Kershaw
ISBN: 978-1-853-11896-8
Price: £30.00
Published: April 2008
More Information, and our review of 'Common Worship' >>

Common Worship: Christian Initiation


Published for the Archbishops Council 2006
ISBN: 0-715-12102-2
Price: £25.00
Published: 2006
More Information, and our review of 'Common Worship: Christian Initiation' >>

Common Worship: Festivals

- Services and prayers for the Church of England

Compiled for Archbishop’s Council
ISBN: 978-0-715-12114-6
Price: £35.00
Published: 2008
More Information, and our review of 'Common Worship: Festivals' >>

Compassionate Community Work

- An Introductory Course for Christians

by Dave Andrews
ISBN: 1-903-68936-8
Price: £14.99
Published: Summer 2006
More Information, and our review of 'Compassionate Community Work' >>

Complete Book of Zingers

- Over 5000 Perfect One-liners

by Compiled by Croft M. Pentz
ISBN: 978-0-842-30467-2
Price: £5.50
Published: 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Complete Book of Zingers' >>

Complete Quotes and Anecdotes


by Tony Castle
ISBN: 978-1-844-17724-0
Price: £19.99
Published: 2007
More Information, and our review of 'Complete Quotes and Anecdotes' >>

Conduct Gospel-Centered Funerals

- Applying the Gospel at the Unique Challenges of Death - Ministering the Master’s Way

by Brian Croft & Phil A. Newton
ISBN: 978-1-846-25266-2
Price: £5.00
Published: 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Conduct Gospel-Centered Funerals' >>

Conflict in Relationships: At Home, At Work, In Life

- Understand it, Overcome it

by Sara Savage and Eolene Boyd-Macmillan
ISBN: 978-0-745-95362-5
Price: £8.99
Published: 22 January 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Conflict in Relationships: At Home, At Work, In Life' >>

Connecting With Baptism

- A Practical Guide to Christian Initiation Today

Edited by Mark Earey, Trevor Lloyd and Ian Tarrant
ISBN: 978-0-715-14110-6
Price: £14.99
Published: 24 August 2007
More Information, and our review of 'Connecting With Baptism' >>

Contemporary Parish Prayers


by Frank Colquhoun
ISBN: 0-340-90840-8
Price: £9.99
Published: July 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Contemporary Parish Prayers' >>

Contemporary Reflections: For Praying and Preaching

- A Year C Resource

by Sheila Walker
ISBN: 1-844-17661-4
Price: £14.99
Published: 2006
More Information, and our review of 'Contemporary Reflections: For Praying and Preaching' >>

Conversations on the Way

- All-age Dramas on Bible Themes

by Tim Storey
ISBN: 1-840-03730-X
Price: £12.99
Published: 2001
More Information, and our review of 'Conversations on the Way' >>

Cooking up Worship

- Practical Resource for Creating Simple But Profound Worship

by David E. Flavell
ISBN: 1-840-03375-4
Price: £9.99
Published: 1999
More Information, and our review of 'Cooking up Worship' >>

Counsel Your Flock

- Fulfilling Your Role as a Teaching Shepherd

by Paul Tautges
ISBN: 978-1-846-25154-2
Price: £5.00
Published: Autumn 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Counsel Your Flock' >>

Crafting Common Worship

- A Practical, Creative Guide to What's Possible

by Peter Moger with case studies by Tim Lomax
ISBN: 978-0-715-14201-1
Price: £12.99
Published: November 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Crafting Common Worship' >>

Crafts for Creative Worship

- A Through-the-Year Resource and Activity Book

by Jan Brind and Tessa Wilkinson
ISBN: 978-1-848-25004-8
Price: £18.99
Published: 29 January 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Crafts for Creative Worship' >>

Creating a Learning church

- Improving Teaching and Learning in the Local Church

by Margaret Cooling
ISBN: 1-841-01347-1
Price: £7.99
Published: 18 March 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Creating a Learning church' >>

Creating a Prodigal-Friendly Church


by Jeff Lucas
ISBN: 978-0-310-26724-9
Price: £8.99
Published: 2008
More Information, and our review of 'Creating a Prodigal-Friendly Church' >>

Creating Community

- Ancient ways for modern churches

by Simon Reed
ISBN: 978-0-857-46009-7
Price: £7.99
Published: 19 April 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Creating Community' >>

Creating Space For Strangers

- Thinking afresh about mission and the Church

by David Evans
ISBN: 1-844-74059-5
Price: £7.99
Published: 2004
More Information, and our review of 'Creating Space For Strangers' >>

Creating The Future Of The Church

- A Practical Guide To Addressing Whole-System Change

by Keith Elford
ISBN: 978-0-281-07077-0
Price: £10.99
Published: September 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Creating The Future Of The Church' >>

Creating Uncommon Worship

- Transforming the Liturgy of the Eucharist

by Richard Giles
ISBN: 1-853-11590-8
Price: £20.00
Published: 2004
More Information, and our review of 'Creating Uncommon Worship' >>

Creation Sings Your Praise

- A Christian Aid Worship Book

edited by Annabel Shilson-Thomas
ISBN: 978-1-853-11890-6
Price: £16.99
Published: 23 August 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Creation Sings Your Praise' >>

Creative Communion

- Engaging the Whole Church in a Journey of Faith

by Margaret Withers and Tim Sledge
ISBN: 978-1-841-01533-0
Price: £7.99
Published: 2008
More Information, and our review of 'Creative Communion' >>

Creative Ideas for All-Age Church


by Karen Bulley
ISBN: 978-1-841-01663-4
Price: £7.99
Published: May 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Creative Ideas for All-Age Church' >>

Creative Ideas for Children’s Worship year A


by Sarah Lenton
ISBN: 978-1-848-25042-0
Price: £24.99
Published: March 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Creative Ideas for Children’s Worship year A' >>

Creative Ideas for Children’s Worship Year B with CD ROM


by Sarah Lenton
ISBN: 978-1-848-25112-0
Price: £24.99
Published: February 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Creative Ideas for Children’s Worship Year B with CD ROM' >>

Creative Ideas For Ministry With The Aged

- With CD ROM

by Sue Pickering
ISBN: 978-1-848-25648-4
Price: £24.99
Published: September 2014
More Information, and our review of 'Creative Ideas For Ministry With The Aged' >>

Creative Ideas for Pastoral Liturgy - Funeral, Thanksgiving and Memorial services


by Jan Brand and Tessa Wilkinson
ISBN: 978-1-853-11855-5
Price: £18.99
Published: 2008
More Information, and our review of 'Creative Ideas for Pastoral Liturgy - Funeral, Thanksgiving and Memorial services' >>

Creative Ideas for Pastoral Liturgy, Baptism, Confirmation and Liturgies for the Journey


by Jan Brind & Tessa Wilkinson
ISBN: 978-1-853-11950-7
Price: £18.99
Published: 29 January 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Creative Ideas for Pastoral Liturgy, Baptism, Confirmation and Liturgies for the Journey' >>

Creative ideas for Pastoral Liturgy: Marriage Services, Wedding Blessings, and Anniversary Thanksgivings


by Jan Brind & Tessa Wilkinson
ISBN: 978-1-853-11928-6
Price: £18.99
Published: 2009
More Information, and our review of 'Creative ideas for Pastoral Liturgy: Marriage Services, Wedding Blessings, and Anniversary Thanksgivings' >>

Creative Ideas for Quiet Days

- Resources and Liturgies for Retreats and Days of Reflection

by Sue Pickering
ISBN: 978-1-853-11966-8
Price: £16.99
Published: 28 November 2008
More Information, and our review of 'Creative Ideas for Quiet Days' >>

Creative Ideas for Sacramental Worship with Children


by Simon Rundell
ISBN: 978-1-848-25092-5
Price: £19.99
Published: 30 September 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Creative Ideas for Sacramental Worship with Children' >>

Creative Ideas For Seasonal Retreats

- Experiencing The Seasons Of Faith

by Stephen Spencer
ISBN: 978-1-848-25790-0
Price: £24.99
Published: June 2015
More Information, and our review of 'Creative Ideas For Seasonal Retreats' >>

Creative Ideas for Using Scripture in Worship With CD Rom


by Paul S Glass
ISBN: 978-1-848-25163-2
Price: £19.99
Published: 31 May 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Creative Ideas for Using Scripture in Worship With CD Rom' >>

Creative Ideas for Whole Church Family Worship


by Jan Brind and Tessa Wilkinson
ISBN: 978-1-848-25086-4
Price: £24.99
Published: September 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Creative Ideas for Whole Church Family Worship' >>

Creative Mission

- Over 50 ideas for special days, celebrations, festivals, community based projects and seasonal activities

by Rona Orme
ISBN: 978-1-841-01806-5
Published: Spring 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Creative Mission' >>

Creative Retreat Ideas

- Resources for Short, Day and Weekend Retreats

by Sue Pickering
ISBN: 978-1-848-25021-5
Price: £19.99
Published: 30 June 2010
More Information, and our review of 'Creative Retreat Ideas' >>

Creative Worship

- 20 Bible-Based Service Outlines For All-Age Church

by John Guest
ISBN: 978-0-857-46165-0
Price: £7.99
Published: January 2014
More Information, and our review of 'Creative Worship' >>

Credo


by Edmund Banyard
ISBN: 0-853-46226-7
Price: £9.95
Published: 2004
More Information, and our review of 'Credo' >>

Crockford's Clerical Directory 2008/2009

- 100th Edition - First issue 1858

Compiled for Archbishop's Council
ISBN: 978-0-715-11030-0
Price: £42.00
Published: 21 December 2007
More Information, and our review of 'Crockford's Clerical Directory 2008/2009' >>

The Canterbury Preachers Companion 2015

- Lectionary Based Sermons For Sundays, Festivals and Special Occassions

by Michael Counsell
ISBN: 978-1-848-25608-8
Price: £18.99
Published: May 2014
More Information, and our review of 'The Canterbury Preachers Companion 2015' >>

The Celtic Resource Book


by Martin Wallace
ISBN: 978-0-715-14186-1
Price: £22.50
Published: May 2009
More Information, and our review of 'The Celtic Resource Book' >>

The Church Treasurer's Handbook

- A Comprehensive Companion and Guide - New Updated Edition

by Robert Leach
ISBN: 978-1-848-25019-2
Price: £17.99
Published: March 2012
More Information, and our review of 'The Church Treasurer's Handbook' >>

The Church’s Healing Ministry

- Practical and Pastoral Reflections

by David Atkinson
ISBN: 978-1-848-25077-2
Price: £14.99
Published: 29 April 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Church’s Healing Ministry' >>

The Confirmation Experience: Leaders Book

- A whole-church Mentoring approach to Confirmation in the Anglican Church

by Susan Sayers
ISBN: 978-1-844-17603-8
Price: £4.99
Published: 2006
More Information, and our review of 'The Confirmation Experience: Leaders Book' >>

The Conservation and Repair of bells and bellframes


For the Council for the Care of Churches
ISBN: 0-715-17599-8
Price: £6.95
Published: 2002
More Information, and our review of 'The Conservation and Repair of bells and bellframes' >>

The Country Vicar


by David Osborne
ISBN: 0-232-52546-3
Price: £10.95
Published: 25 October 2004
More Information, and our review of 'The Country Vicar' >>

The Curate’s Guide

- From Calling to First Parish

Edited by John Witcombe
ISBN: 0-715-14016-7
Price: £11.99
Published: April 2005
More Information, and our review of 'The Curate’s Guide' >>

Browse the archive:-

All books reviewed in this section, indexed by title:-
A B C D E F G H I J L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y 1 2 5