Advertisement


Search
Search the site for...  
Containing...

Sort results  by...
 
Menu

 Bibles / Prayer Books & Their History

Notice: This site is no longer being updated. It will continue to be available as an archive, at least until the end of March 2019. If you rely on it for review links, please adjust them before then.

The project has disseminated reviews and other information about Christian books since the start of the Millennium. We regret that it is no longer possible to sustain it.

Reviews of good Christian books about:- Bibles / Prayer Books & Their History
For Bibles, their Study Bibles, Concordances, Prayer Books etc. it is best to look at the individual publisher’s sites, or ask at your nearest Christian Bookshop, but we have given brief descriptions of the best loved versions, their publishers and examples of each version.
Brief description of best loved versions
New International Version (NIV) Published by Hodder in UK. Certain editions, mainly fine bindings, published by Cambridge University Press (CUP) The most popular translation with evangelical churches. Combines word-for-word and easy-to-read translation methods with the aim of providing reasonable accuracy and readability alike.
Today's New International Version (TNIV) Published by Hodder in UK. Certain editions, mainly fine bindings, published by Cambridge University Press (CUP). Substantially updating and enhancing the NIV, it presents the fruit of the ongoing study of the same team of translators that were responsible for the NIV.
New International Readers Version (NIrV)is a new Bible version developed to enable early readers to understand God's message. Published by WTL Publications Ltd.
Revised Standard Version (RSV) Published by Cambridge University Press (CUP),Collins, and Oxford University Press (OUP),
New Revised Standard Version (NRSV) Published by Cambridge University Press (CUP), Collins, and Oxford University press (OUP), . The most widely accepted across the different denominations, and offers word-for-word accuracy alongside modern scholarship and gender-sensitive language.
Good News Bible (GNB) Published by Collins was the first truly easy to read translation and is the UK's best-selling translation according to Nielsen Booktrack, especially popular with schools and for work with children and young people, but also used in churches that want a Bible people can read easily.
English Standard Version (ESV) Published by Collins.Certain editions, mainly fine bindings, published by Cambridge University Press (CUP) Aims at the highest possible accuracy in the context of modern English, using the Revised Standard Version as a base. As such, it is very popular with churches emphasising expository preaching and close Bible study.
King James Version or Authorised Version (KJV or AV) Published by Cambridge University Press (CUP), Collins and Oxford University Press (OUP), . An indispensable classic which has left permanent marks on the English Language and its literature. Largely a revision of earlier works by William Tyndale and others.
Contemporary English Version (CEV) Published by Collins. This is the most up-to-date easy to read translation available, thoroughly accessible and ideal for use with anyone new to the Bible, and thus in churches focused on outreach to new areas and/or on young people's work.
New Living Translation (NLT) Published by Tyndale and distributed by STL. Certain editions, mainly fine bindings, published by Cambridge University Press (CUP) It is committed to accuracy within the constraints of easy-to-read translation methods.
New King James Version (NKJV)Certain editions, mainly fine bindings, published by Cambridge University Press (CUP) This is a fresh, completely updated translation. It captures the beauty and accuracy of the KJV, in contemporary readable language.
Revised English Bible (REB) Published Cambridge University Press(CUP) and Oxford University Press (OUP) A translation standing firmly in the tradition established by the New English Bible. This substantial revision expresses the mind and conviction of biblical scholars and translators of the 1980s
New Century Version (NCV) Published by Thomas Nelson and Authentic Media. Aims to be faithful to the manuscripts in the original languages while making the language clear enough for all people to read the Bible and understand it for themselves.
New Jerusalem Bible (NJB) Published by DLT. A fresh translation which combines accuracy with dignity and clarity of modern usage, and is approved for use in many churches today. This Bible is widely used by the Catholic church as its study Bible, as the footnotes and commentaries are biased toward Catholic theology.
New American Standard Bible (NASB) Published by Zondervan. Certain editions, mainly fine bindings, published by Cambridge University Press (CUP) A very literal translation, ideal for in-depth word studies but without archaic language.
Amplified Bible Published Zondervan. A popular translation used to understand the hidden meaning of Greek and Hebrew words. Additional amplification of word meanings is given in a system of brackets and parenthesis.
The Message Published by Navpress distributed by STL. A contemporary rendering of the Bible from the original languages, crafted to present its tone, rhythm, events and ideas in everyday speech. A paraphrase that reads as a novel but now some editions have numbered verses.

Archive - Book Titles reviewed - T


The 100 Minute Bible


Abridged by Michael Hinton

Paperback
Price: £3.00
Publisher: The 100 Minute Press from Trust Media Distribution
Published: 2005
ISBN: 0-955-13240-1
Reviewed by Mary Bartholomew  (14/11/05)

Read our review of 'The 100 Minute Bible' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

The Barnabas Family Bible

- 101 Bible Stories For Families To Share

by Martyn Payne & Jane Butcher

Paperback
Price: £9.99
Publisher: Barnabas imprint of BRF
Published: September 2014
ISBN: 978-1-841-01713-6
Reviewed by Christine Leach  (28/01/15)

Read our review of 'The Barnabas Family Bible' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

The Bible in Limerick Verse


by Christopher Goodwins

Paperback
Price: £9.99
Publisher: O Books imprint of John Hunt Publishing Ltd
Published: Autumn 2006
ISBN: 978-1-905-04759-8
Reviewed by Mary Bartholomew  (24/02/07)

Read our review of 'The Bible in Limerick Verse' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

The Bible – Narrative and illustrated - NIrV


Hardback
Price: £9.99
Publisher: WTL Publications
Published: 2006
ISBN: 978-1-563-20338-1
Reviewed by Siân Hancock  (18/09/10)

Read our review of 'The Bible – Narrative and illustrated - NIrV' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

The Big Story

- What Actually Happens in the Bible

by Nick Page

Paperback
Price: £7.99
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: 2007
ISBN: 978-1-850-78726-6
Reviewed by Bryan Nicholls  (14/07/07)

Read our review of 'The Big Story' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

The Book of Common Prayer: Past, Present and Future: A 350th Anniversary Celebration


Edited by Prudence Dailey

Paperback
Price: £12.99
Publisher: Continuum - A Bloomsbury Company
Published: October 2011
ISBN: 978-1-441-12818-8
Reviewed by Sam Burrows  (06/02/12)

Read our review of 'The Book of Common Prayer: Past, Present and Future: A 350th Anniversary Celebration' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

 Advertisement

The Gospels

- Authorised King James Version

by Edited with an Introduction by and Notes by W. R. Owens
ISBN: 978-0-199-54117-1
Price: £8.99
Published: 10 March 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Gospels' >>

The King James Bible After 400 Years

- Literary, Linguistic and Cultural Influences

Edited by Hannibal Hamlin & Norman W Jones
ISBN: 978-0-521-76827-6
Published: 09 December 2010
More Information, and our review of 'The King James Bible After 400 Years' >>

The Liberator


by Rob Lacey
ISBN: 0-310-25817-0
Price: £8.99
Published: 17 March 2006
More Information, and our review of 'The Liberator' >>

The Manga Bible

- NT Extreme

by Siku/TNIV
ISBN: 978-0-340-91043-6
Price: £9.99
Published: 15 February 2007
More Information, and our review of 'The Manga Bible' >>

The Manga Bible: Extreme


by Siku
ISBN: 978-0-340-91046-7
Price: £14.99
Published: July 2007
More Information, and our review of 'The Manga Bible: Extreme' >>

The Message

- The Bible in Contemporary Language

by Eugene H. Peterson
ISBN: 1-576-83438-7
Price: £9.99
More Information, and our review of 'The Message' >>

The Message

- The Bible in Contemporary Language

by Eugene H. Peterson
ISBN: 1-576-83662-2
Price: £14.99
More Information, and our review of 'The Message' >>

The Message

- The Bible in Contemporary Language - Numbered Edition

by Eugene Peterson
ISBN: 978-1-576-83916-4
Price: £19.99
Published: 22 August 2006
More Information, and our review of 'The Message' >>

The Message//Remix

- The Bible in Contemporary Language

by Eugene H. Peterson
ISBN: 1-576-83434-4
Price: £14.99
More Information, and our review of 'The Message//Remix' >>

The New Testament for Everyone


by Tom Wright
ISBN: 978-0-281-06426-7
Price: £14.99
Published: July 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The New Testament for Everyone' >>

The People’s Bible

- The Remarkable History of the King James Version

by Derek Wilson
ISBN: 978-0-745-95559-9
Price: £9.99
Published: 21 October 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The People’s Bible' >>

The Psalms – The Grail Translation

- Inclusive Language Version
ISBN: 978-0-007-32932-8
Price: £11.99
Published: 01 May 2009
More Information, and our review of 'The Psalms – The Grail Translation' >>

The Story

- The Bible As One Continuing Story of God and His People

Foreword by Max Lucado & Randy Frazee
ISBN: 978-1-444-70238-5
Price: £14.99
Published: 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Story' >>

The Voice Bible

- Step Into the Story of Scripture

Translated for the Ecclesia Bible Society
ISBN: 978-1-418-54901-5
Price: £25.99
Published: 2012
More Information, and our review of 'The Voice Bible' >>

The Word on the Street

- Formerly titled The Street Bible

by Rob Lacey
ISBN: 0-310-93225-4
Price: £8.99
Published: March 2005
More Information, and our review of 'The Word on the Street' >>

TNIV - Today's New International Version - Personal Text Edition

- Black
ISBN: 978-0-521-67511-6
Price: £39.99
Published: February 2006
More Information, and our review of 'TNIV - Today's New International Version - Personal Text Edition' >>

TNIV - Today's New International Version - Personal edition

- Satin-tone spirals

Translated by International Bible Society
ISBN: 978-0-340-90980-5
Price: £15.99
Published: 15 November 2007
More Information, and our review of 'TNIV - Today's New International Version - Personal edition' >>

TNIV - Today's New International Version - Personal edition

- Blue

Translated by The International Bible Society
ISBN: 978-0-340-90822-8
Price: £13.99
Published: 21 March 2005
More Information, and our review of 'TNIV - Today's New International Version - Personal edition' >>

TNIV - Today's New International Version - Popular With Bible Guide

ISBN: 978-0-340-86299-5
Price: £12.99
Published: 21 March 2005
More Information, and our review of 'TNIV - Today's New International Version - Popular With Bible Guide' >>

TNIV - Today's New International Version - Popular Text Edition

- Burgundy
ISBN: 978-0-521-67514-7
Price: £49.99
Published: 01 January 2006
More Information, and our review of 'TNIV - Today's New International Version - Popular Text Edition' >>

TNIV - Today's New International Version - Youth Bible

- Soft Tone

Translated by the International Bible Society
ISBN: 978-0-340-90875-4
Price: £22.50
Published: 21 November 2005
More Information, and our review of 'TNIV - Today's New International Version - Youth Bible' >>

Browse the archive:-

All books reviewed in this section, indexed by title:-
A B C E G H K L M N P R S T V W Y 1