Advertisement


Search
Search the site for...  
Containing...

Sort results  by...
 
Menu

 Bibles / Prayer Books & Their History

Notice: This site is no longer being updated. It will continue to be available as an archive, at least until the end of March 2019. If you rely on it for review links, please adjust them before then.

The project has disseminated reviews and other information about Christian books since the start of the Millennium. We regret that it is no longer possible to sustain it.

Reviews of good Christian books about:- Bibles / Prayer Books & Their History
For Bibles, their Study Bibles, Concordances, Prayer Books etc. it is best to look at the individual publisher’s sites, or ask at your nearest Christian Bookshop, but we have given brief descriptions of the best loved versions, their publishers and examples of each version.
Brief description of best loved versions
New International Version (NIV) Published by Hodder in UK. Certain editions, mainly fine bindings, published by Cambridge University Press (CUP) The most popular translation with evangelical churches. Combines word-for-word and easy-to-read translation methods with the aim of providing reasonable accuracy and readability alike.
Today's New International Version (TNIV) Published by Hodder in UK. Certain editions, mainly fine bindings, published by Cambridge University Press (CUP). Substantially updating and enhancing the NIV, it presents the fruit of the ongoing study of the same team of translators that were responsible for the NIV.
New International Readers Version (NIrV)is a new Bible version developed to enable early readers to understand God's message. Published by WTL Publications Ltd.
Revised Standard Version (RSV) Published by Cambridge University Press (CUP),Collins, and Oxford University Press (OUP),
New Revised Standard Version (NRSV) Published by Cambridge University Press (CUP), Collins, and Oxford University press (OUP), . The most widely accepted across the different denominations, and offers word-for-word accuracy alongside modern scholarship and gender-sensitive language.
Good News Bible (GNB) Published by Collins was the first truly easy to read translation and is the UK's best-selling translation according to Nielsen Booktrack, especially popular with schools and for work with children and young people, but also used in churches that want a Bible people can read easily.
English Standard Version (ESV) Published by Collins.Certain editions, mainly fine bindings, published by Cambridge University Press (CUP) Aims at the highest possible accuracy in the context of modern English, using the Revised Standard Version as a base. As such, it is very popular with churches emphasising expository preaching and close Bible study.
King James Version or Authorised Version (KJV or AV) Published by Cambridge University Press (CUP), Collins and Oxford University Press (OUP), . An indispensable classic which has left permanent marks on the English Language and its literature. Largely a revision of earlier works by William Tyndale and others.
Contemporary English Version (CEV) Published by Collins. This is the most up-to-date easy to read translation available, thoroughly accessible and ideal for use with anyone new to the Bible, and thus in churches focused on outreach to new areas and/or on young people's work.
New Living Translation (NLT) Published by Tyndale and distributed by STL. Certain editions, mainly fine bindings, published by Cambridge University Press (CUP) It is committed to accuracy within the constraints of easy-to-read translation methods.
New King James Version (NKJV)Certain editions, mainly fine bindings, published by Cambridge University Press (CUP) This is a fresh, completely updated translation. It captures the beauty and accuracy of the KJV, in contemporary readable language.
Revised English Bible (REB) Published Cambridge University Press(CUP) and Oxford University Press (OUP) A translation standing firmly in the tradition established by the New English Bible. This substantial revision expresses the mind and conviction of biblical scholars and translators of the 1980s
New Century Version (NCV) Published by Thomas Nelson and Authentic Media. Aims to be faithful to the manuscripts in the original languages while making the language clear enough for all people to read the Bible and understand it for themselves.
New Jerusalem Bible (NJB) Published by DLT. A fresh translation which combines accuracy with dignity and clarity of modern usage, and is approved for use in many churches today. This Bible is widely used by the Catholic church as its study Bible, as the footnotes and commentaries are biased toward Catholic theology.
New American Standard Bible (NASB) Published by Zondervan. Certain editions, mainly fine bindings, published by Cambridge University Press (CUP) A very literal translation, ideal for in-depth word studies but without archaic language.
Amplified Bible Published Zondervan. A popular translation used to understand the hidden meaning of Greek and Hebrew words. Additional amplification of word meanings is given in a system of brackets and parenthesis.
The Message Published by Navpress distributed by STL. A contemporary rendering of the Bible from the original languages, crafted to present its tone, rhythm, events and ideas in everyday speech. A paraphrase that reads as a novel but now some editions have numbered verses.

Archive - Book Titles reviewed - N


NCV - New Century Version - The Youth Bible


Hardback
Price: £16.99
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: 2007
ISBN: 978-1-860-24620-3
Reviewed by publisher  (10/01/08)

Read our review of 'NCV - New Century Version - The Youth Bible' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

NCV - New Century Version - Compact, Anglicised Edition


Paperback
Price: £12.99
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: Spring 2004
ISBN: 1-860-24461-0
Reviewed by x  (07/05/04)

Read our review of 'NCV - New Century Version - Compact, Anglicised Edition' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

NCV - New Century Version - Classic Edition


Paperback
Price: £22.50
Publisher: Authentic Media
ISBN: 0-718-00368-3
Reviewed by x  (14/08/04)

Read our review of 'NCV - New Century Version - Classic Edition' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

NCV - New Century Version - International Children's Bible (ICB)


Illustrated by Richard Deverell

Paperback
Price: £16.99
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: 1992
ISBN: 0-850-09901-3
Reviewed by x  (14/08/04)

Read our review of 'NCV - New Century Version - International Children's Bible (ICB)' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

NIV (New International Version) Matthew

- also in this series Mark, Luke, John

Booklet
Price: £1.00
Publisher: Good Book Company
Published: 2009
ISBN: 978-1-906-33476-5
Reviewed by Mary Bartholomew  (13/02/10)

Read our review of 'NIV (New International Version) Matthew' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

NIV - New International Version (USA edition) Large Print Bible


Paperback
Price: £9.00
Publisher: International Bible Society from Trust Media Distribution
ISBN: 9-990-00002-6
Reviewed by publisher  (07/06/05)

Read our review of 'NIV - New International Version (USA edition) Large Print Bible' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

 Advertisement

NIV - New International Version (USA edition) Pocket size New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs

ISBN: 9-990-00001-8
Price: 2.40
More Information, and our review of 'NIV - New International Version (USA edition) Pocket size New Testament, Psalms & Proverbs' >>

NIV - New International Version - Giant Print New Testament Edition

ISBN: 978-0-521-50929-9
Price: 28.99
More Information, and our review of 'NIV - New International Version - Giant Print New Testament Edition' >>

NIV - New International Version - Wide Margin Reference Edition

ISBN: 978-0-521-60333-1
Price: 19.99
More Information, and our review of 'NIV - New International Version - Wide Margin Reference Edition' >>

NIV - New International Version Cross Reference Blue Hardback

ISBN: 978-0-340-97950-1
Price: 17.99
Published: 05 May 2009
More Information, and our review of 'NIV - New International Version Cross Reference Blue Hardback' >>

NIV - New International Version Fire Bible: Global Study Edition


General Editor Donald C. Stamps
ISBN: 978-1-598-56479-2
Price: 26.99
Published: June 2010
More Information, and our review of 'NIV - New International Version Fire Bible: Global Study Edition' >>

NJB - New Jerusalem Bible - The Illustrated Bible -



ISBN: 0-232-52332-0
Price: 16.95
Published: 1999
More Information, and our review of 'NJB - New Jerusalem Bible - The Illustrated Bible -' >>

NJB - The New Jerusalem Bible - Readers Edition

ISBN: 0-232-51930-7
Price: 14.95
More Information, and our review of 'NJB - The New Jerusalem Bible - Readers Edition' >>

NJB - The New Jerusalem Bible - Study Edition

ISBN: 0-232-52077-1
Price: 19.95
More Information, and our review of 'NJB - The New Jerusalem Bible - Study Edition' >>

NKJV - New King James Version

- Deluxe Gift and Award Bible
ISBN: 0-840-70050-4
Price: 4.99
Published: 1982
More Information, and our review of 'NKJV - New King James Version' >>

NLT - New Living Translation

- Burgundy Gift and Award Bible
ISBN: 978-1-414-30207-2
Price: 3.99
Published: 1997
More Information, and our review of 'NLT - New Living Translation' >>

NLT - New Living Translation

- Pitt Minion Reference Edition
ISBN: 978-0-521-75924-3
Price: 50.00
Published: 07 July 2009
More Information, and our review of 'NLT - New Living Translation' >>

NLT - New Living Translation, Camo Bible

ISBN: 978-1-414-32201-8
Price: 9.99
Published: May 2008
More Information, and our review of 'NLT - New Living Translation, Camo Bible' >>

NLT - New Living Translation, Personal Compact Bible for Teens

ISBN: 978-1-414-32160-8
Price: 9.99
Published: December 1899
More Information, and our review of 'NLT - New Living Translation, Personal Compact Bible for Teens' >>

NLT - New Living Translation,PersonalCompact Bible for Teens

ISBN: 978-1-414-32161-5
Price: 9.99
More Information, and our review of 'NLT - New Living Translation,PersonalCompact Bible for Teens' >>

NLT New Living Translation: Study Bible

ISBN: 978-0-842-35570-4
Price: 27.50
Published: September 2008
More Information, and our review of 'NLT New Living Translation: Study Bible' >>

NRSV - New Revised Standard Version Popular Text Edition with Apocrypha

- Anglicized
ISBN: 978-0-521-88690-1
Price: 24.99
Published: 11 November 2007
More Information, and our review of 'NRSV - New Revised Standard Version Popular Text Edition with Apocrypha' >>

NRSV - New Revised Standard Version - Anglicized Edition

ISBN: 978-0-521-88689-5
Price: 22.99
Published: August 2007
More Information, and our review of 'NRSV - New Revised Standard Version - Anglicized Edition' >>

NRSV - New Revised Standard Version - Catholic Edition

- Anglicised Version
ISBN: 0-232-52602-8
Price: 14.95
Published: 28 March 2005
More Information, and our review of 'NRSV - New Revised Standard Version - Catholic Edition' >>

NRSV - New Revised Standard Version - Popular Text Edition

- Anglicized
ISBN: 978-0-521-70261-4
Price: 14.99
Published: July 2007
More Information, and our review of 'NRSV - New Revised Standard Version - Popular Text Edition' >>

NRSV - New Revised Standard Version - Reference Edition

- With Apocryphal / Deuterocanonical books
ISBN: 978-0-521-68131-5
Price: 65.00
More Information, and our review of 'NRSV - New Revised Standard Version - Reference Edition' >>

NRSV - New Revised Standard Version - Slimline New testament & Psalms



ISBN: 978-0-521-75973-1
Price: 8.99
Published: 25 June 2009
More Information, and our review of 'NRSV - New Revised Standard Version - Slimline New testament & Psalms' >>

NRSV - New Revised Standard Version - Spiritual Formation Bible


Various - see below
ISBN: 978-0-340-90901-0
Price: 39.99
Published: 18 May 2006
More Information, and our review of 'NRSV - New Revised Standard Version - Spiritual Formation Bible' >>

NRSV - New Revised Standard Version with Apocrypha

- Anglicized edition
ISBN: 978-0-521-70262-1
Price: 16.99
Published: 11 November 2007
More Information, and our review of 'NRSV - New Revised Standard Version with Apocrypha' >>

NRSV - New Revised Standard Version,

- Anglicized Edition with Cross-References
ISBN: 978-0-281-06056-6
Price: 14.99
Published: July 2008
More Information, and our review of 'NRSV - New Revised Standard Version,' >>

NRSV - New Revised Standard Version, Cross Reference and Apocrypha

ISBN: 0-002-20119-4
Price: 16.99
More Information, and our review of 'NRSV - New Revised Standard Version, Cross Reference and Apocrypha' >>

The New Testament for Everyone


by Tom Wright
ISBN: 978-0-281-06426-7
Price: 14.99
Published: July 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The New Testament for Everyone' >>

Browse the archive:-

All books reviewed in this section, indexed by title:-
A B C E G H K L M N P R S T V W Y 1