Advertisement


Search
Search the site for...  
Containing...

Sort results  by...
 
Menu

 Learning about Faith

Notice: This site is no longer being updated. It will continue to be available as an archive, at least until the end of March 2019. If you rely on it for review links, please adjust them before then.

The project has disseminated reviews and other information about Christian books since the start of the Millennium. We regret that it is no longer possible to sustain it.

Reviews of good Christian books about:- Learning about Faith
For those developing their faith and those wishing to restore and renew faith.

Follow

- Walking in the Dust of the Rabbi

by Joseph Gisbey

Paperback
Price: £9.99
Publisher: DLT (Darton, Longman and Todd Ltd)
Published: May 2015
ISBN: 978-0-232-53165-7
Reviewed by Jackie Rowe  (18/01/16)

Read our review of 'Follow' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

The Spirit Of Grace

- Christian Belief For Everyone Series

by Alister McGrath

Paperback
Price: £8.99
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: December 2014
ISBN: 978-0-281-06839-5
Reviewed by Johnny Douglas  (19/10/15)

Read our review of 'The Spirit Of Grace' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

The Vicar's FAQ

- All You Ever Wanted To Know About Christianity And The Church

by Caroline Symcox

Paperback
Price: £9.99
Publisher: DLT (Darton, Longman and Todd Ltd)
Published: October 2013
ISBN: 978-0-232-53022-3
Reviewed by Johnny Douglas  (10/07/15)

Read our review of 'The Vicar's FAQ' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Storytelling

- Sharing The Gospel With Passion And Power

by Martin Goldsmith

Paperback
Price: £8.99
Publisher: IVP(Inter Varsity Press)
Published: September 2014
ISBN: 978-1-783-59155-8
Reviewed by Catherine Clark  (26/06/15)

Read our review of 'Storytelling' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

What Are We Doing On Earth For Christ's Sake


by Richard Leonard

Paperback
Price: £9.99
Publisher: Paulist Press distributed by Columba Press
Published: March 2015
ISBN: 978-0-809-14902-5
Reviewed by Tony Shepherd  (02/06/15)

Read our review of 'What Are We Doing On Earth For Christ's Sake' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

Beginning Again

- On The Christian Journey

by John Pritchard

Paperback
Price: £10.99
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: June 2014
ISBN: 978-0-281-07256-9
Reviewed by Barry Vendy  (05/05/15)

Read our review of 'Beginning Again' >>


Read this book? Review it!  >>
Jacket

 Advertisement

How To Explain Your Faith


by John Pritchard
ISBN: 978-0-281-07254-5
Price: £10.99
Published: 20 November 2014
More Information, and our review of 'How To Explain Your Faith' >>

Living Reconciliation


by Phil Groves & Angharad Parry Jones
ISBN: 978-0-281-07226-2
Price: £9.99
Published: September 2014
More Information, and our review of 'Living Reconciliation' >>

Choices Of The Chosen

- Lessons From Israel's Shepherd King

by Marty Berglund
ISBN: 978-1-619-58056-5
Price: £8.99
Published: 08 February 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Choices Of The Chosen' >>

Getting Into God

- Practical Guidelines For The Christian Life

by Stuart Briscoe
ISBN: 978-1-619-58152-4
Price: £7.50
Published: January 2014
More Information, and our review of 'Getting Into God' >>

Pathway To God's Presence


by Tom Elliff
ISBN: 978-1-619-58156-2
Price: £6.99
Published: January 2014
More Information, and our review of 'Pathway To God's Presence' >>

God, Where Are You?


by Enzo Bianchi
ISBN: 978-0-281-06959-0
Price: £9.99
Published: February 2014
More Information, and our review of 'God, Where Are You?' >>

Introduction To The Spiritual Life


by Louis Bouyer
ISBN: 978-0-870-61281-7
Price: £11.99
Published: February 2014
More Information, and our review of 'Introduction To The Spiritual Life' >>

Vanishing Grace

- What Ever Happened To The Good News

by Philip Yancey
ISBN: 978-1-444-78901-0
Price: £12.99
Published: September 2014
More Information, and our review of 'Vanishing Grace' >>

Plowed Under


by Amy Carmichael
ISBN: 978-1-619-58082-4
Price: £7.99
Published: July 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Plowed Under' >>

Lord And Saviour: Jesus Of Nazereth

- Christian Belief For Everyone Series

by Alister McGrath
ISBN: 978-0-281-06837-1
Price: £8.99
Published: April 2014
More Information, and our review of 'Lord And Saviour: Jesus Of Nazereth' >>

The Reason for My Hope

- Salvation

by Billy Graham
ISBN: 978-0-849-92204-6
Price: £9.99
Published: October 2013
More Information, and our review of 'The Reason for My Hope' >>

40 Days with Jesus


by Dave Smith
ISBN: 978-1-782-59138-2
Price: £6.99
Published: February 2014
More Information, and our review of '40 Days with Jesus' >>

Taking God Seriously

- Vital things we need to know

by J I Packer
ISBN: 978-1-844-74609-5
Price: £8.99
Published: February 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Taking God Seriously' >>

The Preaching Life

- Living Out Your Vocation

by Barbara Brown Taylor
ISBN: 978-1-848-25318-6
Price: £12.99
Published: July 2013
More Information, and our review of 'The Preaching Life' >>

The Utter Relief Of Holiness

- How God's Goodness Frees Us from Everything That Plagues Us

by John Eldredge
ISBN: 978-1-444-70328-3
Price: £8.99
Published: January 2014
More Information, and our review of 'The Utter Relief Of Holiness' >>

Grill a Christian

- Answers to tough questions

by Roger Carswell
ISBN: 978-1-906-17311-1
Price: £5.99
Published: April 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Grill a Christian' >>

Tending The Mustard Seed

- Living The Faith In Today's World

by Dennis J Billy
ISBN: 978-1-565-48475-7
Price: £8.95
Published: February 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Tending The Mustard Seed' >>

God Speaks

- Hearing, Connecting, Relating

by Rich Aldritt and Ash Carter
ISBN: 978-1-844-74841-9
Price: £8.99
Published: April 2013
More Information, and our review of 'God Speaks' >>

Love Hurts

- The Heart of The Christian Story

by Alan J Spence
ISBN: 978-1-842-27810-9
Price: £8.99
Published: March 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Love Hurts' >>

Old Paths


by J C Ryle
ISBN: 978-1-848-71227-0
Price: £18.99
Published: June 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Old Paths' >>

Invest Your Suffering

- Unexpected Intimacy With A Loving God

by Paul Mallard
ISBN: 978-1-783-59006-3
Price: £8.99
Published: September 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Invest Your Suffering' >>

Choose Joy

- Because Happiness Isn't Enough

by Joy Warren
ISBN: 978-0-800-72177-0
Price: £9.99
Published: June 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Choose Joy' >>

Weakness Is The Way

- Life With Christ Our Strength

by J I Packer
ISBN: 978-1-844-74871-6
Price: £7.99
Published: May 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Weakness Is The Way' >>

The Living God

- (Christian Belief For Everyone)

by Alister McGrath
ISBN: 978-0-281-06835-7
Price: £8.99
Published: September 2013
More Information, and our review of 'The Living God' >>

What the Bible Reveals About Heaven


by Daniel A Brown
ISBN: 978-1-780-78101-3
Price: £8.99
Published: August 2013
More Information, and our review of 'What the Bible Reveals About Heaven' >>

How to be a bad Christian

- ... and a better human being

by Dave Tomlinson
ISBN: 978-1-444-70383-2
Price: £8.99
Published: August 2013
More Information, and our review of 'How to be a bad Christian' >>

Equipping The Believer


by David Corbin
ISBN: 978-1-780-99996-8
Price: £9.99
Published: May 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Equipping The Believer' >>

Discernment

- Reading The Signs of Daily Life

by Henri Nouwen with Michael J Christensen and Rebecca J Laird
ISBN: 978-0-281-07144-9
Price: £12.99
Published: July 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Discernment' >>

The Art of Not Getting Lost On the Way Home


by Dr Vangjel Shore
ISBN: 978-1-908-39331-9
Price: £8.99
Published: May 2013
More Information, and our review of 'The Art of Not Getting Lost On the Way Home' >>

Boundless

- Living life in overflow

by Danielle Strickland and Stephen Court
ISBN: 978-0-857-21451-5
Price: £6.99
Published: March 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Boundless' >>

Mud and the Masterpiece

- Seeing Yourself and Others Through the Eyes of Jesus

by John Burke
ISBN: 978-0-801-01563-2
Price: £8.99
Published: March 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Mud and the Masterpiece' >>

It Is Finished

- Finding Lasting Victory Over Sin

by David Wilkerson
ISBN: 978-0-800-79549-8
Price: £8.99
Published: April 2013
More Information, and our review of 'It Is Finished' >>

Freeing Tangled Hearts


by Dolores Kimball
ISBN: 978-0-852-34910-6
Price: £7.99
Published: February 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Freeing Tangled Hearts' >>

Living Faithfully

- Following Christ in everyday life

by John Pritchard
ISBN: 978-0-281-06762-6
Price: £9.99
Published: 01 April 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Living Faithfully' >>

The Utter Relief of Holiness

- How God's Goodness Frees Us from Everything That Plagues Us

by John Eldredge
ISBN: 978-1-444-70327-6
Price: £12.99
Published: January 2013
More Information, and our review of 'The Utter Relief of Holiness' >>

The God of Intimacy and Action

- Reconnecting ancient spiritual practices, evangelism and justice

by Tony Campolo, Mary Albert Darling
ISBN: 978-0-281-06933-0
Price: £12.99
Published: March 2013
More Information, and our review of 'The God of Intimacy and Action' >>

King's Cross


by Timothy Keller
ISBN: 978-1-444-70214-9
Price: £8.99
Published: April 2013
More Information, and our review of 'King's Cross' >>

God Told Me

- Learning To Listen For Guidance From God

by Jim Samra
ISBN: 978-0-801-01411-6
Price: £8.99
Published: August 2012
More Information, and our review of 'God Told Me' >>

Myth Busted!

- 145 Myths About Christianity Debunked

by Jeffery Burton Russell
ISBN: 978-1-842-27826-0
Price: £9.99
Published: February 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Myth Busted!' >>

Risen

- 50 Reasons why the Resurrection Changed Everything

by Steven D Mathewson
ISBN: 978-0-801-01514-4
Price: £6.99
Published: February 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Risen' >>

2:52 Learning to Grow on Purpose

- Lessons from Jesus' Hidden Years

by John Andrews
ISBN: 978-1-908-39325-8
Price: £8.99
Published: October 2012
More Information, and our review of '2:52 Learning to Grow on Purpose' >>

Suffering and the Christian Life


editor Richard W Miller
ISBN: 978-1-626-98013-6
Price: £14.99
Published: April 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Suffering and the Christian Life' >>

Servant Ministry

- A portrait of Christ and a pattern for his followers

by Tony Horsfall
ISBN: 978-0-857-46088-2
Price: £7.99
Published: 22 March 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Servant Ministry' >>

The Evangelical Universalist

- The Biblical hope that Godís love will save us all

by Gregory MacDonald
ISBN: 978-0-281-06875-3
Price: £14.99
Published: November 2012
More Information, and our review of 'The Evangelical Universalist' >>

Truth Unchanged, Unchanging


by Martyn Lloyd-Jones
ISBN: 978-1-845-50734-3
Price: £5.99
Published: September 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Truth Unchanged, Unchanging' >>

The Christian's Secret of a Happy Life


by Hannah Whitall Smith
ISBN: 978-0-800-78007-4
Price: £3.99
Published: January 2013
More Information, and our review of 'The Christian's Secret of a Happy Life' >>

Operation Screwtape

- The Art of Spiritual War

by Andrew Farley
ISBN: 978-0-801-01447-5
Price: £11.99
Published: 28 February 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Operation Screwtape' >>

Grace Transforming


by Philip Ryken
ISBN: 978-1-844-74606-4
Price: £7.99
Published: November 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Grace Transforming' >>

Desperate for Hope

- Hanging on and Finding God During Life's Hardest Times

by Bruce W Martin
ISBN: 978-0-800-72054-4
Price: £7.99
Published: September 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Desperate for Hope' >>

Hosting the Presence

- Unveiling Heaven's Agenda

by Bill Johnson
ISBN: 978-0-768-44129-1
Price: £10.99
Published: May 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Hosting the Presence' >>

Jesus the Son of God


by D A Carson
ISBN: 978-1-844-74599-9
Price: £7.99
Published: November 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Jesus the Son of God' >>

Life-changing Bible Verses You Should Know


by Erwin & Rebecca Lutzer
ISBN: 978-0-736-93952-2
Price: £12.99
Published: August 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Life-changing Bible Verses You Should Know' >>

Immortal Diamond

- The search for our true self

by Richard Rohr
ISBN: 978-0-281-07017-6
Price: £10.99
Published: February 2013
More Information, and our review of 'Immortal Diamond' >>

Jesus and Peter

- Growing in friendship with God

by Michael Perham
ISBN: 978-0-281-06754-1
Price: £9.99
Published: September 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Jesus and Peter' >>

Good to Great in God's Eyes

- 10 Practices Great Christians Have in Common

by Chip Ingram
ISBN: 978-0-801-01427-7
Price: £9.99
Published: April 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Good to Great in God's Eyes' >>

Learning to Be You

- How Our True Identity in Christ Sets Us Free

by David Swanson
ISBN: 978-0-801-01445-1
Price: £8.99
Published: October 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Learning to Be You' >>

What is Evangelicalism?


by Joel Beeke
ISBN: 978-0-852-34779-9
Price: £4.99
Published: May 2012
More Information, and our review of 'What is Evangelicalism?' >>

The Amazing Cross

- Transforming lives today

by Jeremy and Elizabeth McQuoid
ISBN: 978-1-844-74587-6
Price: £8.99
Published: July 2012
More Information, and our review of 'The Amazing Cross' >>

The Heart of L'Arche

- A spirituality for every day

by Jean Vanier
ISBN: 978-0-281-06991-0
Price: £8.99
Published: January 2013
More Information, and our review of 'The Heart of L'Arche' >>

Joy

- The Meaning of the Sacraments (Faith Going Deeper Series)

by Peter Waddell
ISBN: 978-1-848-25279-0
Price: £12.99
Published: October 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Joy' >>

There Must Be More Than ThisÖ

- Let God Write Your Story

by Stephen Rademan
ISBN: 978-1-907-08036-4
Price: £7.99
Published: 06 February 2013
More Information, and our review of 'There Must Be More Than ThisÖ' >>

The Seeker's Catechism

- The Basics of Catholicism

by Michael Pennock
ISBN: 978-1-594-71285-2
Price: £5.99
Published: May 2012
More Information, and our review of 'The Seeker's Catechism' >>

Living Evangelization

- Three Minute Reflections on Faith

by Joan Mueller
ISBN: 978-1-565-48456-6
Price: £5.95
Published: October 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Living Evangelization' >>

Understanding Theology in 15 Minutes a Day


by Daryl Aaron
ISBN: 978-0-764-21012-9
Price: £7.99
More Information, and our review of 'Understanding Theology in 15 Minutes a Day' >>

'Tell Me About the Holy Spirit'


by Gerald O'Mahony
ISBN: 978-0-852-44777-2
Price: £7.99
Published: 2012
More Information, and our review of ''Tell Me About the Holy Spirit'' >>

God's Words of Comfort

- Bible Passages to Calm Your Fears and Feed Your Soul

compiled by Barbara Kois
ISBN: 978-0-764-21025-9
Price: £3.99
Published: October 2012
More Information, and our review of 'God's Words of Comfort' >>

The Last Word


by Wallace Benn
ISBN: 978-1-845-50777-0
Price: £7.99
Published: March 2012
More Information, and our review of 'The Last Word' >>

Broken Works Best

- When God turns your pain into gain

by Catherine Campbell
ISBN: 978-0-857-21223-8
Price: £7.99
Published: August 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Broken Works Best' >>

A Shot of Faith - To The Head

- Be a Confident Believer in An Age of Cranky Atheists

by Mitch Stokes
ISBN: 978-1-595-55434-5
Price: £10.99
Published: April 2012
More Information, and our review of 'A Shot of Faith - To The Head' >>

Connected

- Living in the light of the Trinity

by Sam Allberry
ISBN: 978-1-844-74588-3
Price: £7.99
Published: 15 June 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Connected' >>

Heaven is Now

- Awakening your five spiritual senses to the wonders of grace

by Andrew Farley
ISBN: 978-0-801-01482-6
Price: £8.99
Published: May 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Heaven is Now' >>

Jesus: The Seven Wonders of HIStory


by David Pawson
ISBN: 978-0-957-52900-7
Price: £8.99
Published: August 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Jesus: The Seven Wonders of HIStory' >>

An Invitation to the Supernatural Life


by Michele Perry
ISBN: 978-0-800-79533-7
Price: £8.99
Published: 24 August 2012
More Information, and our review of 'An Invitation to the Supernatural Life' >>

Totally Forgiving God

- How To Trust In God When You Feel He Has Let You Down

by R.T.Kendall
ISBN: 978-0-340-96417-0
Price: £12.99
Published: 16 August 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Totally Forgiving God' >>

Hawking, Dawkins and God


The Revíd Dr John Polkinghorne KBE FRS talks to Canon John Young
ISBN: 9-990-00055-7
Price: £5.00(incl VAT plus P&P)
Published: October 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Hawking, Dawkins and God' >>

Worship

- Its Priority, Principles and Practice

by J.C.Ryle
ISBN: 978-0-851-51906-7
Price: £1.50
Published: 2005
More Information, and our review of 'Worship' >>

What Jesus is Doing Now


by Gary Brady
ISBN: 978-0-852-34775-1
Price: £9.99
Published: August 2012
More Information, and our review of 'What Jesus is Doing Now' >>

Lord...Help My Unbelief

- Considering the Case Against Christ

by John Young
ISBN: 978-1-841-01875-1
Price: £9.99
Published: 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Lord...Help My Unbelief' >>

To Cease or Not to Cease

- Spiritual Gifts Today?

by Mark Anderson
ISBN: 978-1-449-75354-2
Price: £7.99
Published: June 2012
More Information, and our review of 'To Cease or Not to Cease' >>

God in the Dark

- Rebuilding Faith When Bad Stuff Happens

by Peter Longson
ISBN: 978-1-849-52215-1
Price: £10.99
Published: Spring 2012
More Information, and our review of 'God in the Dark' >>

Spirit Wars

- Winning the Invisible Battle Against Sin and the Enemy

by Kris Vallotton
ISBN: 978-0-800-79493-4
Price: £9.99
Published: January 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Spirit Wars' >>

Glorious Mess

- Encountering Godís Relentless Grace for Imperfect People

by Mike Howerton
ISBN: 978-0-801-01391-1
Price: £9.99
Published: 03 March 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Glorious Mess' >>

A Practical Christianity

- Working On Transforming Our Lives

by Jane Shaw
ISBN: 978-0-281-06816-6
Price: £8.99
Published: May 2012
More Information, and our review of 'A Practical Christianity' >>

Repair My House

- Becoming a Kingdom Catholic

by Michael H. Crosby
ISBN: 978-1-570-75953-6
Price: £14.99
Published: March 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Repair My House' >>

How to be a Bad Christian......And a Better Human Being


by Dave Tomlinson
ISBN: 978-1-444-70382-5
Price: £12.99
Published: August 2012
More Information, and our review of 'How to be a Bad Christian......And a Better Human Being' >>

The Most Misused Verses In The Bible

- Surprising Ways Godís Word Is Misunderstood

by Eric J. Bargerhuff
ISBN: 978-0-764-20936-9
Price: £7.99
Published: May 2012
More Information, and our review of 'The Most Misused Verses In The Bible' >>

The Eucharist

- What Do We Believe?

by Fáinche Ryan
ISBN: 978-1-856-07788-0
Price: £8.50
Published: 12 June 2012
More Information, and our review of 'The Eucharist' >>

Grace

- Faith Going Deeper Series

by Peter Groves
ISBN: 978-1-848-25054-3
Price: £9.99
Published: June 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Grace' >>

Epiphanies of the Ordinary

- Encounters that Change Lives

by Charlie Cleverly
ISBN: 978-1-444-70192-0
Price: £11.99
Published: 12 December 2012
More Information, and our review of 'Epiphanies of the Ordinary' >>

The Believer's Guide to Spiritual Warfare - Discover How To Recognize Spiritual Attack

- Pray for Deliverence, Break Generational Curses, Protect yourself and Your Children in an Age of Growing Darkness

by Tom White
ISBN: 978-0-830-75725-1
Published: 2011
More Information, and our review of 'The Believer's Guide to Spiritual Warfare - Discover How To Recognize Spiritual Attack' >>

The Prodigal Father

- Stories of Godís Prodigal Grace

by David Marshall
ISBN: 978-1-906-38187-5
Price: £5.95
Published: 2010
More Information, and our review of 'The Prodigal Father' >>

Faith Hope Love and Everything in Between


by Mick Brooks
ISBN: 978-1-853-45598-8
Price: £9.99
Published: 09 September 2011
More Information, and our review of 'Faith Hope Love and Everything in Between' >>

30 Days Ė A Thirty-day Practical Introduction to Reading the Bible


by Nicky Gumbel
ISBN: 978-1-907-95007-0
Price: £3.99
Published: 2012
More Information, and our review of '30 Days Ė A Thirty-day Practical Introduction to Reading the Bible' >>

The Reason For God

- Belief in an Age of Scepticism

by Timothy Keller
ISBN: 978-0-340-97933-4
Price: £8.99
Published: 2008
More Information, and our review of 'The Reason For God' >>

Browse the archive:-

All books reviewed in this section, indexed by title:-
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y 1 2 3 4 5