Advertisement
Recent titles
in this section:
Christ's Glorious Achievements
None But Jesus
Pleading For A Reformation Vision
Rowan's Rule
Evangelical Holiness
Billy Graham
Silhouettes And Skeletons
Amazing Grace
A Life-Giving Way
Letters To London
The Road To Daybreak
Gifts of the Holy Spirit
Saint Augustine of Hippo
Thomas Merton The Exquisite Risk of Love
John Bunyan
Zachary Macaulay
Festo Kivengere (Bitesize Biographies)
Travel with Jonathan Edwards
C S Lewis: A Life
Dewi Sant - Saint David
John Stott: Pastor, Leader, Friend (The Didaskoo Files)
A Taste of Hildegard
A conservative at heart?
Matthew Henry
A Blueprint for Revival
John Henry Newman
J.I.Packer and the Evangelical Future
The Beauty of Holiness
The Pope and I
Mother, Sister, Daughters
Gandhi – and the Unspeakable
Travel With Bishop J C Ryle
God Truly Worshipped
Saints and Sinners of the Marches
Fr John Fahy
The Practical Mystic
Christ Set Forth and The Heart of Christ in Heaven Towards Sinners on Earth
The Heart of Christ
Thea's Song
Select Letters of John Newton
Luther and Calvin: Religious Revolutionaries
Matthew Henry
Hear Me Carefully – John Blanchard
Ian Fraser
From the Library of Charles Spurgeon


Search
Search the site for...  
Containing...

Sort results  by...
 

 Biographies/Writings: Saints & Notable Christians

For the lives of those we give the title Saint, and other historically noteworthy Christian men and women, written by their contemporaries, their own writings and stories about them painstakingly put together by modern day writers.

Archive - Book Titles reviewed - H


A Heart Set Free

- The Life, Ministry and Lyrics of Charles Wesley

by Christian History Institute – Samford Media Group


The ISBN here is purely for the use of our data base. The code number for ordering is 8501243
Because of the close tie between Charles and his even better known brother John - their lives were interwoven for more than fifty years - this film tells about them both, but concentrates on the poetic, hymn writing gift of Charles. I found it well worth watching, and felt by the end that I had a closer understanding of this remarkable man, who wrote so many of the hymns we sing today and through his hymns is still teaching us so much. Excellent.

Listen to this review

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (30/04/09)
Jacket
DVD
Price: £7.82 (excl VAT)
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: Spring 2009
ISBN: 9-990-00023-9

View this book on its own page >>
Read this book?
Review it!  >>

Hear Me Carefully – John Blanchard



by Marlene Williams


John Blanchard celebrates his eightieth birthday and fifty years in full time Christian ministry in this year of 2012. This book is a very fitting tribute to an internationally acclaimed author, teacher and conference speaker who is still at work.
I had read the Travel with John Blanchard title published by Day One, but that did not spoil my enjoyment of this which just enhanced my awareness of what a remarkable man John Blanchard is.
Details of his early life are described; his marriage and subsequent family, together with his increasing involvement with his local church resulting in his becoming a full time evangelist. In those early days he could never have dreamt how far he would travel during his ministry. Journeys to many parts of the UK, repeated visits to the USA and travels to many other parts of the globe – all briefly recorded here. A fascinating and inspiring biography of an evangelist who has brought so many to Christ.

Listen to this review

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (28/06/12)
Jacket
Paperback
Price: £6.99
Publisher: EP (Evangelical Press)
Published: 2012
ISBN: 978-0-852-34785-0

View this book on its own page >>
Read this book?
Review it!  >>

Heart Speaks Unto Heart

- Pope Benedict XVI in the UK – Complete Addresses and Homilies


Here DLT have produced in a friendly and concise form all of Pope Benedict’s speeches and homilies from his recent Papal Visit to Britain. Heart Speaks Unto Heart, cor ad cor loquitur, the words chosen by the now Blessed John Henry Newman for his coat of arms on becoming Cardinal, was the theme of the visit. With the words of His Holiness sure to become the subject of careful study and reflection in the coming years, this edition – for there shall be many more to come – is a welcome contribution. The success of this publication lies in its uncomplicated and accessible style; those who yearn for a fuller discussion, though, might wish to consult the forthcoming volume to be published by the CTS (Catholic Truth Society). For Catholics, most important of all, this work reminds us that we should allow the words of Our Holy Father to do the talking!
Also in hardback at £10.99 ISBN 978-0-232-52841-1

Listen to this review

Review by Dan McNamara  (19/10/10)
Jacket
Paperback
Price: £6.99
Publisher: DLT (Darton, Longman and Todd Ltd)
Published: October 2010
ISBN: 978-0-232-52842-8

View this book on its own page >>
Read this book?
Review it!  >>

Heaven’s Calling

- A Memoir of One Soul’s Steep Ascent

by Leanne Payne


Working on another person’s autobiography is an immense privilege, especially when that someone is Leanne Payne. One of my favourite quotations about her is that of Dallas Willard: 'You simply cannot categorize Leanne Payne. You simply have to ‘come and see’ the intelligence, imagination and courage with which this seasoned and daily associate of Jesus opens doors to the Kingdom.' He so aptly puts his finger on her 'uncategorizable' quality. This is rooted in so many things, not least that she has been created by our most creative Father, but also, I think, because she so fully embraces the evangelical, charismatic and sacramental channels of the faith.
I’ve been profoundly affected by her ministry over the years, starting in my twenties when I was engaged to be married to a man who would have been highly unsuitable. Attending one of her healing-prayer conferences was a first step in my journey to accepting that I was God’s beloved, and that I could have the courage to break off that toxic relationship.
A year or two later I was asked to be the editor for Leanne’s book Listening Prayer (Baker, 1994). Having gained so much from her writing and healing conferences, I jumped at the chance. And as I worked on her new book, I enthusiastically embraced her premise – that the Lord longs to speak to his children, but that we are so often overwhelmed with the noise of modern life that we miss his still, small voice.
As I started to hear the Lord’s words of love and affirmation (so crucial in the journey to self-acceptance), I became an evangelist for listening prayer. I hadn’t quite developed the spiritual maturity needed, however, to discern when it was really the Lord speaking and when the desires of my heart were dominating. I can see now how the Lord allowed a few very large disappointments to help me grow in wisdom and maturity.
A couple years passed and much was happening in my life (like meeting and marrying my English beau) as Leanne started her autobiography, Heaven’s Calling - One Soul’s Steep Ascent . That was nearly fifteen years ago, for I remember eagerly reading some early chapters during our first year of marriage. Hers, I knew, would be a spiritual autobiography with a difference. And it is.
It took her many years to write her account, but it was worth the wait. Again I learned so much as I edited her book. This time round I gained greater insight into some of the deep truths she teaches on, such as what she calls 'Incarnational reality,' or that God through his son and Spirit dwells in his children, for she tells the stories about how she unearthed these biblical insights. And I learned more about the people she met along the way, including Dr Clyde Kilby, who set up the CS Lewis collection at Wheaton College; Fr. Richard Winkler, grandfather of the renewal movement; Agnes Sanford, pioneer in healing prayer; and the beloved priest and author Henri Nouwen.
Some think Leanne has a special hotline to God, but her book wonderfully illustrates that she doesn’t exist on a higher spiritual plane than other mortals. She is a 'mere Christian' in the best CS Lewis sense of that phrase. But one whose life is worth exploring and gaining from.

This review of the reprinted book appeared in a longer form in Christian Marketplace in 2009.

Review by Guest reviewer  
Jacket
Paperback
Price: £8.99
Publisher: Baker Books imprint of Baker Pub. from Lion
Published: 01 October 2008
ISBN: 978-0-801-01312-6

View this book on its own page >>
Read this book?
Review it!  >>

Homilies on the Gospel of John 1-40



by Saint Augustine


This is the first of two volumes of Augustine's 124 'tractates' on St John's Gospel, the only commentary on this Gospel in ancient Latin literature. They were delivered as homilies or sermons, between 406 and 421 (or later). Their 'rediscovery' will be appreciated. Those who have been put off by other works of Augustine - or by their translations - are encouraged to try him again. Augustine 'interprets [the Gospel] according to the socio-cultural experiences and the thought patterns of his people.' (p. 18); the 'Introduction' gives an excellent background to the homilies. While unable to compare the text with the original Latin, it is evident that great care has been taken to translate accurately what Augustine said, and, importantly, to convey his style of delivery, which is intimate and reflects his pastoral concern. The homilies are primarily catechetical, and not polemical (p.35), Augustine '...sharing with his listeners what had already nourished him.' (p. 36). Including the congregation with him, 'He clearly trusts them - and...entrusts himself to their ability to question with him, to search with him.' (p.19). There is a 'Bibliography' after the 'Introduction'; 'Complete indexes' are promised in volume two.

Listen to this review

Review by J.Nicholas Latham  (01/02/10)
Jacket
Paperback
Price: £30.00
Publisher: New City
Published: 2009
ISBN: 978-1-565-48318-7

View this book on its own page >>
Read this book?
Review it!  >>

Hope

- The Archbishop a Portrait

by Rob Marshall


Bishops David’s biography does give us a portrait as the author aspired to do, but it is of a very private man, who exercised, and in another role still exercises, a very public ministry. As Rob Marshall says, ‘Hope the priest is indeed Hope the man.’ It does Bishop David a disservice to look for trivia in his career, and it is a measure of his achievement to find so little cluttering up his priestly ministry, I like the quotation from the Bishop’s chaplain: ‘He was not demonstrative but he was a warm and kind person at work; when he said “How are you?” it really was as if he cared how you were.’

Review by Ian Gibbs  (04/02/06)
Jacket
Paperback
Price: £9.99
Publisher: Continuum - A Bloomsbury Company
Published: 2005
ISBN: 0-826-48013-6

View this book on its own page >>
Read this book?
Review it!  >>

 Advertisement

The Heart of Christ

- Puritan Paperbacks

by Thomas Goodwin

ISBN: 978-1-848-71146-4
Price: £5.00

Published: 2011
More Information about this book >>

The Heart of Wesley’s Journal



by Selected and edited by Percy Livingston Parker

ISBN: 978-1-598-56300-9
Price: £12.99

Published: 2008
More Information about this book >>

Browse the archive:-

All books reviewed in this section, indexed by title:-
A B C D E F G H I J L M N O P Q R S T U V W Z 1