Menu

Christian Fiction: Contemporary Romance


The Benefits Of Passion



by Catherine Fox


I loved this book. A very real read. I married later in life and like the main character she could quite easily have been me, living a fairy tale in my head and sexually frustrated in reality and as a believer knowing that sex was off the books if I wanted to live right by God.

This is the first book by Fox that I have read and I would definately read more. It was well written, hilarous in parts and down to earth. There were 2 stories going on and I was engrossed in both.

The language was bad in places and could easily offend some christians but it was bang on for the book. Fox got the characters and scenarios down to a T. The reality of relationships and how easy they can become tainted, how raw life can be.

This novel is not neccesarily for the christian reader and could be enjoyed by anyone as it wrestles with life from a believers point of view living in a secular world and all that the world has to throw at them when sex and lust is involved. 



Review by Zoë Stevenson  (21/09/15)
Jacket
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: February 2015
ISBN: 978-1-910-67400-0
Paperback
Price: £9.99

Acts And Ommissions



by Catherine Fox


Is the Church of England really like the fictional diocese of Lindchester, whose frailty and foibles are exposed in Catherine Fox’s humorous new novel which takes a ‘fly on the wall’ view of twelve months of goings on there?
 
Surely in Lindchester, there would be Christians whose maturity and unselfishness would make them stand out and who don’t punctuate their conversation with frequent use of the ‘f’ word. At times, I found myself wishing that they would have turned up.
 
But I know. ‘Acts and Omissions’ is fiction. Bad news usually makes more entertaining reading than good news, and this novel is certainly entertaining—if rather over the top.
 
An entertaining and humerous read, though not without its concerns for some Christian readers.


Review by Barry Vendy  (14/10/14)
Jacket
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: July 2014
ISBN: 978-0-281-07234-7
Paperback
Price: £9.99

Angels And Men



by Catherine Fox


“Angels and Men” gripped me right from the start. I read this book extremely quickly because the author has created good suspense, which made me want to find out what exactly had happened to Mara Johns to make her the way she is. I’m now reading it again, to enjoy the description and the clever and often humorous use of quotes: from the Bible, Shakespeare and other literature.

The author manages to comment in passing on quite a number of current controversial issues, such as atheism, women’s ordination and homosexuality. The reader should be aware that there is a lot of swearing, some blasphemy and a few fairly explicit sexual scenes, which makes the book more difficult to recommend to the average Christian reader. Having said this, in spite of being fairly regularly shocked, I love this book.

Mara and her group of friends come over realistically and are very likeable. The book made me laugh and it moved me. The ending hinted at some positive resolutions, but I would have liked more. A sequel would be nice! I would like to read other books by this author.



Review by Heloise Hearn  (19/09/14)
Jacket
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: July 2014
ISBN: 978-0-281-07230-9
Paperback
Price: £9.99

Welcome To Last Chance

- A Place To Call Home Series Book 1

by Cathleen Armstrong


This is the first novel in the A Place to Call Home series by Cathleen Armstrong.

I really enjoyed this story about Lainie, who unfortunately is the sort of character this modern society is all too familiar with. Abused by her mother's boyfriend and then kicked out by her mother at 14 for making up such false accusations, Lainie is left to make it on her own and, as is so often the case, she falls in with the wrong crowd.

Now Lainie, as a young woman, has the chance to flee her dangerous boyfriend. She drives away from the Bay and heads across the desert towards the sanctuary of her friend, only to find her car breaks down and she is temporarily held up in Last Chance, where her life is turned around by God demonstrating His love through the local town's folk.

This is a story of salvation and redemption. A good read and maybe challenging to us in how we treat strangers.



Review by Zoë Stevenson  (29/04/14)
Jacket
Publisher: Revell imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: September 2013
ISBN: 978-0-800-72246-3
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Firefly Island

- A Novel

by Lisa Wingate


This is one of those love at first sight fairy tale stories, that is until reality sets in for the main character. High flyer congress office assistant Mallory Hale meets rough and ready Daniel Everson and Cupid has drawn his bow and fired. They quickly marry and set off to start a life together in Moses Lake, Texas by the lake that surrounds Firefly Island. Mallory with her desire for knowledge and time on her hands uncovers a plot that is set to undermine legislation forever. Trouble's at mill by the way and shortly Mallory feels like she has made the biggest mistake of her life. This is a story of how God really does turn all things for good and redeem the day. This novel has a tint of espionage and lots of drama. An exciting read and well worth the time.

Review by Zoë Stevenson  (17/01/14)
Jacket
Publisher: Bethany House imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: March 2013
ISBN: 978-0-764-20823-2
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Jennifer

- An O'Malley Love Story

by Dee Henderson


This is an excellent book to pop into your pocket or handbag to read on a journey.

If you like hospital stories with strong human interest then you may well enjoy this romantic story with a medical setting. Despite my unfamiliarity with American hospital terms and acronyms, chiefly in the first chapter, I soon become intrigued by the story.

Woven into the storline there is a searching for God, and this plays a significant part in the denoument. This book is part of a series and the cliff hanger makes me keen to read the follow up book 'The Negotiator'.



Review by Margaret Walker  (09/12/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Bethany House imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: June 2013
ISBN: 978-0-764-21155-3
Paperback
Price: £4.99

Made To Last



by Melissa Tag


Melissa Tag's debut novel, a romantic story set in America, has an imaginative, if rather too complicated plot, which at the same time intrigues but also confuses.

For me there were too many characters and sub-plots. However, despite having to recap as to who was who, I had to read on to confirm my prediction of how the storyline would develop. I was in for many surprises.

Miranda Woodruff, the book's central character hosts a popular TV show on home building. Into this unusual scenario come producers, PAs, and reporters, all of whom impact on a star who is battling with her past and who feels an increasing pull back to her faith.

It is a story of a house building star who starts to rebuild her life.



Review by Margaret Walker  (26/11/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Bethany House imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: October 2013
ISBN: 978-0-764-21132-4
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Undeniably Yours

- A Novel

by Becky Wade


I loved this book from start to finish and I couldn't put it down, I found myself reading it at work in my lunch breaks, willing myself to stay awake after a night shift just to see the story unfold.

Undeniably Yours is a real "knight in shining armour" story. It follows the primary character Meg Cole who moves back to her home of Whispering Ranch, Texas to take over the role of the CEO at her family's oil business. But it's not her style and then she goes and falls in love with the ranch's thoroughbred racehorse farm's manager Bo Porter. She's a rich girl and he's from the working class but they have God in common and they are both willing to let God lead their lives even when Meg needs rescuing from her past.

Wade has a really nice writing style and this book was a page-turner. Everyone likes a cowboy and Bo was certainly appealing which made me want to be Meg. Well, in my dreams anyway! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.



Review by Zoë Stevenson  (04/09/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Bethany House imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: June 2013
ISBN: 978-0-764-20975-8
Paperback
Price: £8.99

My Stubborn Heart



by Becky Wade


A brilliantly written book which had me hooked from the start! I felt an instant warmth for the characters and the strength of their emotions.
Becky Wade jumps straight into the story with no lengthy introductions and I could literally not put the book down.
She has got a good mix of seriousness, humour and suspense, even though the general plot is nothing new and fairly predictable.
The middle of the book was a bit stretched out but she made up for that in fantastic descriptions and a fairy tail ending! I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone who loves a good romance!

Review by Charmaine Hill  (20/09/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Bethany House imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: 22 June 2012
ISBN: 978-0-764-20974-1
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Blue Moon Bay



by Lisa Wingate


When I read a Lisa Wingate novel, I expect an enjoyable and light hearted read. Blue Moon Bay does just that but also captures feelings which I think most people can identify with. Hurt over a loved one, feelings of rejection and unforgiveness. Heather, the main character, through circumstances she can’t ignore, has to go back to the one place she never wanted to return to. It is here where she has to face her past which has tortured her for many years. While the beginning of the book is quite slow, it really gets momentum as you near the end where it has a satisfying ending with resolution and love.

Review by Charmaine Hill  (30/08/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Bethany House imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: 23 March 2012
ISBN: 978-0-764-20822-5
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Travelers Rest



by Ann Tatlock


The story starts in a VA hospital in Asheville, North Carolina and the first time Jane goes to visit her fiancé, Seth. Seth and Jane seemed to have lived the fairytale romance until Seth a serving soldier returns from Iraq a quadriplegic.
Tatlock takes us on the journey of Seth and Jane coming to terms with their life the way it is now and what it has to offer them both. Along the way we meet a retired black Doctor, Truman who has a past he’d rather not have just because of his colour, and a blind Solicitor, Jon-Paul who doesn’t allow his disability to hinder his life.
I liked the way the author used both Truman and Jon-Paul to help Seth and Jane work through all that life in the hospital has to throw at them and open their world’s to us. Tatlock shows us how their faith at work has helped them to overcome the trials of life and how God is at work in Seth and Jane’s life too.
I enjoyed this novel. I found the topic stimulating as well as thought-provoking. The plot wasn’t predictable which I prefer and I liked the anticipation of a miracle. A good story to follow, as the reality of war is affecting many families today by the conflict in the Middle East.

Review by Zoë Stevenson  (03/07/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Bethany House imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: 22 June 2012
ISBN: 978-0-764-20810-2
Paperback
Price: £8.99

The Glory of Green

- The Third in the Green Series

by Judy Christie


Once more, I read this next Green book as soon as I could after it arrived!
Lois and Chris are getting married at last – but all does not go according to plan!
The marriage service is hardly finished when Green is hit by a tornado.
We meet all the familiar characters as they battle with the aftermath of the disaster and it is the usual thoroughly good story, but what impressed me most was the description of what a tornado does and how it affects the lives of the people in the whole area. You read in the paper or see on television that a tornado has hit somewhere in America, but in The Glory of Green you really find out what that actually means. Judy Christie has somehow managed to create a story that although centred around a tragedy, is the usual page turner of life in this mixed small town community.
A gloriously happy ending is a lovely surprise.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (12/04/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Abingdon Press from Alban Books
Published: March 2012
ISBN: 978-1-426-70056-9
Paperback

Tomorrow’s Dream



by Janette Oke & Davis Bunn


This book is the sequel to Another homecoming. ISBN 9781556619342. At the start of the novel life seems very idyllic for Kyle Adams, she is re-united with her biological parents and she is happily married.
However, tragedy soon strikes. The book explores the Christian problem of pain! We see very quickly that the loss suffered impacts in unexpected ways on every relationship within the family. Whilst Kyle's faith is shaken to its very foundation, we see that trust in God is vital for the healing process to begin. Whilst Kyle's problems are very moving, the ideas are not strikingly original and the story is fairly predictable.

Review by Joyce (Yue) He  (29/03/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Bethany House imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: 21 October 2011
ISBN: 978-0-764-22054-8
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Forbidden

- Third in The Lipstick Confessions series

by Claire Wright with G.P.Taylor


David and Bathsheba’s story in the Bible is the inspiration behind this contemporary story.
A group of university friends have kept in close touch over many years. David, one of their number, has become the Chief Executive of a powerful oil company and the others have joined him in the company as time has gone on.
David has been recently widowed and is grieving deeply, Rich, one of the group has recently married Beth and both are blissfully happy. Nathan and Jenny are happily married with a young and demanding family and watch the story unfold without being able to deflect David from his purpose.
A parallel story is of Beth’s sister Cerys and her problems; tied into the others by her friendship with Jenny.
Although the story has a sense of inevitability, you can’t guess how it is going to pan out and you have to keep reading to the last page.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (25/02/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: February 2012
ISBN: 978-1-850-78900-0
Paperback
Price: £7.99

The Promise

- Second in The Lipstick Confessions series

by Claire Connor with G.P.Taylor


Another modern story reflecting a Bible story; this time the story of Sarah and Abraham and their longing for a child.
Lawrence at fifty-seven is a highly successful business man, Sarah his wife is distraught at being childless and nearing the menopause. To make matters worse, she has a gift for dealing with little ones and their friends Philip and Jemma’s little girl is the delight of her life but that doesn’t lessen the ache in her heart.
Back into their lives comes Arima, a free spirit if ever there was one. She has been living abroad for a number of years but has parted with her companion and here she is in fashionable Kensington with her shabby camper-van.
When Arima volunteers to be a surrogate Mum for Sarah and Lawrence you know things won’t go smoothly.
A compulsive read – one that is very hard to put down – and one that I shall remember for a long time.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (25/02/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: October 2010
ISBN: 978-1-850-78885-0
Paperback
Price: £7.99

Save the Date



by Jenny B Jones


I sank into this story with a warm feeling of contentment. I was having a break from work, I could just read and read with an uncritical eye and great pleasure.
A harder look could have found fault with the sometimes implausible twists and turns, but so what! I read for enjoyment and that is what I got.
Lucy has grown up in the town where she is now putting heart and soul into providing a stable home for girls who have outgrown the social system and are now left to struggle on their own. She is among people who she always felt looked down upon her. Her mother had been a single mum, a cleaner, always struggling for money yet who insisted on sending her to a posh school. Not easy for either of them.
As the story unfolds, Lucy meets with Alex, a famous ex-footballer known as the Playboy. He had scorned her at school and does not appear to have changed.
And yet.......
Indulge yourself; read on to the happy ending and just enjoy it as I did.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (19/01/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Thomas Nelson From TMD or Joining the Dots
Published: 12 February 2011
ISBN: 978-1-595-54539-8
Paperback
Price: £9.99

There You’ll Find Me



by Jenny C. Jones


I have never read Christian fiction before but with this book I was pleasantly surprised.
The story when first read is appealing to both believers and non believers. The journey of a girl, Finely, following in her dead brothers footsteps via a diary he wrote is to find what he found, a profound love of God. Throw into the mix a young film star and an old cantankerous lady who is dying of cancer and you have a well rounded story.
You feel for Finely as she tries to hear from God like her brother did. She eventually realises God was there all the time she just wasn't listening properly for him.
I really enjoyed the relationship between Finely and Mrs Sweeney(the old lady)
All in all I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good read which you can't put down and after reading this book I would definitely look for other books by this author.

Review by Julia Bennett  (19/12/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Thomas Nelson From TMD or Joining the Dots
Published: 04 October 2011
ISBN: 978-1-595-54540-4
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Dry As Rain



by Gina Holmes


To review Dry as Rain by Gina Holmes is a pleasure. It charts the long course of Eric and Kyra’s marriage which from Page 1 has reached an all but complete halt, not helped by Eric’s straying into dangerous waters with Danielle while at work in a company that sells expensive cars.
From soaps on TV for example, we know by the daily conversations we have, that people take each other on, often repetitively, but sometimes in ways that change the lives of the folk they’re engaging with. The style is compelling, full of Americanisms which are understood by us the other side of the ‘pond’ and often quite humorous. The men are easily drawn from life, and betrayal, lies, posturing and more are handled, often in order to bring to our notice the ways in which old friendships don’t give way when pressures (financial, love, anxiety over health) force challenges for the characters in Dry as Rain.

Review by Joyce (Yue) He  (31/10/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers from TMD
Published: 17 August 2011
ISBN: 978-1-414-33306-9
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Hidden Affections



by Delia Parr


This book is a true romance novel and one I believe is great to curl up with on a winter’s night. Brought together by misfortune Annabel and Harrison are forced into marriage. With lots of twists and turns the couple try not to fall in love with one another, but with God all things are possible in every kind of situation.
I fell in love with this book and found myself being drawn into the story, finding it difficult to put down and would highly recommend this book to any female looking for a great read.

Review by Jayne Hounsome  (13/10/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Bethany House imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: July 2011
ISBN: 978-0-764-20672-6
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Megan’s Hero

- Callahan’s of Texas Book 3

by Sharon Gillewater


The third instalment in the Callahans of Texas trilogy, Megan’s Hero finally finds Chance Callahan a girl! This was inevitable seeing as there are 3 books and 3 single siblings in the family so that was certainly not a surprise.
Megan is a young pregnant lady who is leaving her old life behind and looking to start a new one. On her travels she gets caught in a tornado which destroys literally everything in its path. However, having prayed that God would protect her and the baby, the tornado miraculously passes over her without causing her any harm.
When Chance finds her, she is marching down the road looking for help for another injured driver who she passed after her miraculous escape.
It seems that Sharon ran out of ideas for this third instalment and combined elements of the first two book to create this story – for that I was disappointed, however once I made it through the first few chapters I did get into the story and found it enjoyable. It tells not only about Megan and Chance falling in love but also about a young lady who never really having believed in God, realised after the tornado event that He must be real and who then sought to find out more about Him and learn to trust in Him.

Review by Charmaine Hill  (12/09/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Revell imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: 2011
ISBN: 978-0-800-73355-1
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Sweet Baklava



by Debby Mayne


So often our past affects the way we view things, work, home, love, friends and family. In Sweet Baklava Debby Mayne shows through Paula’s life how, through various situations, her past is affecting the decisions she needs to be making.
Paula lives in Tarpon Springs, Florida where she grew up and fell in love with Nick. After Nick had gone to the Air Force and Paula had completed a business degree she set up a soap and candle business which is growing from strength to strength. The only thing missing in her life is Nick – her childhood sweetheart who is the only man she desires more than the baklava that his family keep feeding her to keep her around!. While the storyline is somewhat predictable (show me a contemporary romance novel that isn’t) this is a great holiday read. Half way through the book with all the talk of baklava I was dying to have some myself! An added bonus is the mini recipe book at the back of the main book, with all the recipe’s mentioned throughout. Happy baklava baking!

Video sample available on Youtube:www.youtube.com/user/debbymayne#p/a/u/1/TgOaOiyDyHI

Review by Charmaine Hill  (26/07/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Abingdon Press from Alban Books
Published: April 2011
ISBN: 978-1-426-70870-1
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Delivered With Love



by Sherry Kyle


Claire James loses her mother to cancer. Her dreams to study were put on hold while she was nursing her mum but when her mother finally passes away she has only an old love letter which she found in her inherited 1972 VW to hang on to.
Unable to move on from the past, things go from bad to worse for Claire when she looses her job as a waitress and gets kicked out of her sister’s home by her alcoholic brother-in-law. She decides to search for the author of the letter.
Setting out to find out who had loved her mother so deeply she set out to Capitola to the return address that was on the letter. Little does she know that what she finds will be so much more then she expected and will change her life forever!
Much of what happens along the way during Claire’s journey is unrealistic but despite this, author Shelly Kyle deals with a number of things in the lives of the characters. Love, guilt, forgiveness are some of the themes that feature throughout the book.
What I didn’t appreciate is that Blake who is clearly a Christian shows a very definite romantic interest in Claire who clearly is not a Christian but later becomes a Christian. For young Christians that read this it implies that it is ok to date a non-believer and that God will save them, however that is not always the case and scripture clearly instructs us not to be unequally yoked. Other than that however it was an enjoyable read.

Review by Charmaine Hill  (26/07/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Abingdon Press from Alban Books
Published: May 2011
ISBN: 978-1-426-70866-4
Paperback
Price: £8.99

The Perfect Blend



by Trish Perry


This is a fun, lightweight novel about a young lady who has left her family to elope with her boyfriend only to discover that he has deserted her. She finds herself with no money, no job and in a town she doesn’t know. She is befriended by the owner of a tea shop and the story progresses from there with the heroine discovering friendship and love and is reconciled to her family. Not for the deep thinking reader but definitely one for holiday reading. Easy to pick up and put down. The characters are Christians and they live out their faith simply but don’t expect lightning revelations of deep spiritual insight from them.

Review by Jackie Scott  (03/05/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Harvest House Publishers
Published: October 2010
ISBN: 978-0-736-93015-4
Paperback
Price: £6.99

Always the Baker Never the Bride



by Sandra D. Bricker


A fresh subject on which to base a romance novel – and it is a delight!
Emma Rae and her feisty colleague Fee, work for a miserable so and so at The Backstreet Bakery. Enter handsome widower Jackson who happens to own The Tanglewood which he is about to open as a specialist wedding venue. Throw in Jackson’s amazing three sisters, Emma Rae’s famous parents and an Italian Chef and you have a mix of characters that will keep you smiling with enjoyment all the way through.
Emma Rae and Fee go to work for Jackson of course, and the description of Emma Rae’s confections are enough to make your mouth water without the recipes and hints that are interspersed between each chapter.
This is a book I shall keep on my shelf and re-read more than once.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (04/04/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Abingdon Press from Alban Books
Published: December 2010
ISBN: 978-1-426-70762-9
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Not a Sparrow Falls



by Linda Nichols


Many years after her mother passed away, Mary Bridget Washburn found herself on the wrong side of the law and running for her life. After taking on her mother’s name Mary escapes to the city of Alexandria, Virginia and as she starts to build up her life finds comfort in visiting a church – if only to sit in it when empty.
She soon finds her calling to help the troubled Alasdair MacPherson, who ironically is the pastor of the church where she finds comfort, and his family. Over the months she counsels his daughter and helps her to face the death of her mother. She nurses Alasdair to health after he became ill from the flu – all this time encouraging him and herself by remembering scripture that her grandmother quoted to her as a child. No sooner has she broken through to Alasdair to deal with the past when she has to run from her own past – literally!
God however is in control and as Alasdair realises his love for her and his daughters love for her he finds himself leaving everything that was expected of him because of who he was and going to save who he really cared about and following God’s calling for his life rather than his family’s expectations.

Review by Charmaine Hill  (05/03/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Bethany House imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: 23 July 2010
ISBN: 978-0-764-20747-1
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Emily’s Chance

- Callahan’s of Texas , Book Two

by Sharon Gillenwater


The Callahan’s have 3 children, Jenna, Chance and Will. The first book in the Callahans of Texas series told the story of Jenna and Nate. This, the second book tells the story of Chance and Emily.
Chance first set his eye’s on Emily when he saved her from the fire that swept through Callahan Crossing. Emily was trying to save everything from the museum when he saw her and he helped to get the last of the boxes and her to safety.
This story is not just about love and wooing the girl of your dreams but about realising God’s will in your life and following in obedience to him. Chance and his family come from a longstanding line of strong Christians. They have been blessed financially and have a loving home and good family relations. Humility does not come easily.
Emily comes from a wealthy family but had a difficult upbringing and doesn’t get on with her parents. Succeeding in her career seems the only way that she will get their approval which she longs for.
After falling in love she needs to re-evaluate life, work and love and decide if she is going to continue to run from love in the pursuit of her career for the sake of approval or to accept what God’s will is for her life and to become the woman He intended her to be.
We wait patiently now for Will to find the love of his life.

Review by Charmaine Hill  (05/03/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Revell imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: 01 November 2010
ISBN: 978-0-800-73354-4
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Amy Inspired



by Bethany Pierce


While teaching English at a university, Amy longs to be a writer but can’t seem to get past her writers block and while she is receiving rejections from publications for stories she had previously submitted her friend Zoë seems to be off to a good start with household magazines publishing her work.
It’s always tough to watch a friend when things in their life are going from good to great and your own is stagnant with seemingly no hope of improvement. Despite being happy for them it is easy to fall in to bitterness and despondency.
While Amy was raised as a Christian she still needs to figure out what she really believes and what she wants to live for. It is through the constant stream of rejection letters, the death of her best friend’s mother and the possibility of loosing the chance of being loved that she finds her feet and picks herself up out of the uninspiring hole she found herself in allowing herself to love and be loved in return.
For one with ‘inspired’ in the title this was not the most inspiring book that I have read but it was enjoyable nonetheless.

Review by Charmaine Hill  (03/03/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Bethany House imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: 01 November 2010
ISBN: 978-0-764-20850-8
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Jenna’s Cowboy

- Callahans of Texas, Book One

by Sharon Gillenwater


Reading a romance novel from the guys perspective is something new – wow!
This is the first book in the ‘Callahan’s of Texas series’. The Callahans are a wealthy family who have a strong Christian heritage and loving family, although not without faults. The series is based on the 3 children; Jenna, Chance and Will.
Nate and Jenna grew up together; Nate was good friends with Jenna’s brothers, Chance and Will, and worked at her father, Dub Callahan’s ranch. Having been in love with Jenna most of his life, he left for the armed forces after Dub told him he was not good enough for his daughter.
After years in the forces and Jenna having her own difficulties including a failed marriage, Nate returned home and found himself working at Dub Callahan's ranch and more in love with Jenna than ever – the feeling was mutual and this time Dub had realised his own mistake in choosing what he had thought best for his daughter. But the years spent in service had had a profound effect on Nate who had yet to admit he was struggling with PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder). And Jenna had her own fears to deal with as well as looking after her toddler.
This is a story of a supportive and loving family who show a strong dependency on God as they struggle with their difficulties and grow closer together. This is a great read and a reminder to us of what our soldiers are going through and will go through when they get back from fighting in a war.
A book well worth reading.

Review by Charmaine Hill  (23/02/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Revell imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: March 2010
ISBN: 978-0-800-73353-7
Paperback
Price: £8.99