Menu

Children: Pre school

For young children's board books, picture books, Bible stories.

The Baby Bible Storybook for Boys



by Robin Currie


Bible fun that touches hearts!

Combine your favourite Bible stories with actions and hand motions, and baby begins to learn about important Bible heroes. Each story ends with a prayer; you add the cuddle!



Review by x  (07/05/14)
Jacket
Publisher: David C Cook / Kingsway
Published: May 2011
ISBN: 978-0-781-43501-7
Board book

My Bible Sticker Backpack



by Chris Scollen


"Over 1,000 stickers" announces this book on the front cover. Some are for sticking in the correct place, over the correct shape silhouette; others can be used anywhere. There are activities galore - finding the correct stickers; mazes; colouring pages; using grids to copy pictures. As well as the activities the book also has stories running through it, telling the most famous Old Testament stories then finishing with the birth of Jesus. Though there is no great depth to the stories it was refreshing to find a book like this that focused mostly on the Old Testament.

The book itself is shaped like a backpack, with a hole at the top to make a handle for carrying it. This is a great addition - the stickers and activities make the book ideal for taking out and about and the handle means it's easier for little hands to carry around! Definitely recommended; we've used it very effectively before and even during church services.



Review by Tim Hupfield  (15/11/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: September 2013
ISBN: 978-1-860-24896-2
Shaped, stapled A4 pbk
Price: £5.99

The Bible

- The Best Bits


Unlike many of the "collected stories from the Bible" books this one is not small and thick, rather it is approximately landscape A4 size. This allows the fantastic illustrations to be large - roughly three quarters of each double-page spread, with one well retold story on each. Of course, the book being so large necessitates losing some breadth of the stories covered though, with roughly 150 words on each page (the length of this review), not a great deal is lost compared to other books which have many more pages but far fewer words on each.

Each picture also has something to find; my son and I both really enjoyed this book and the things to find definitely helped to keep his interest - long enough for us to read half of the book in one sitting!

(The only drawback I found? - the rainbow has the colours the wrong way round!)



Review by Tim Hupfield  (15/11/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: September 2013
ISBN: 978-1-860-24875-7
Stapled A4 Paperback.
Price: £6.99

My Story Daniel

- (Includes Stickers)

by Fiona Boon


This book tells the story of Daniel as told by Daniel himself. Unusually the book uses different fonts and typestyles within sentences - together with the fairly simple, very effective illustrations this makes the book feel almost like a comic. After the story there is a short "journal" section which paraphrases the story over three sides, with spaces to colour and add stickers found at the very end of the book. There are plenty of extra stickers for making other pictures too. In all it makes for a lovely retelling of the story of Daniel and the lions' den, long enough for a proper "sit down for a story" (and stickers always go down well!)

Review by Tim Hupfield  (15/11/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: September 2013
ISBN: 978-1-860-24867-2
Paperback
Price: £2.99

My Story – Joseph

- (with stickers)

by Fiona Boon


This is a well presented version of the story of Joseph, abridged effectively so that it isn't too long for very young children. The skilful retelling negotiates the details that are perhaps 'too old' for young children without skipping them entirely (with the exception of Joseph's dreams) or, worse, changing the story to avoid them. The book uses different fonts and typestyles within sentences, making some words stand out and others just easier to separate from the rest - my son is beginning to read and I think this perhaps is the best age group for this book. The very short 'journal' at the end with blank spaces to fill in with the stickers at the back of the book was a loved addition by my son, as were the extra stickers for making his own pictures.

Review by Tim Hupfield  (18/09/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: September 2013
ISBN: 978-1-860-24869-6
Paperback
Price: £2.99

My Story Time Parables



by Juliet David, Illus. Chris Embleton-Hall


A great young reader book with bright, colourful, clean and fresh artwork and short two line sentences on each page. It really manages to bring the parables to life in a fun and engaging way for young folk (and is quite good fun for the older folk telling the story too!). Showing my age there was something of a flavour of Mr Ben to the characters that really engaged me, and there was a plentiful selection of things to pick out in the pictures too for engaging the young ones with! I think this would make a great storytime book.


Review by Melanie Carroll  (29/07/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: July 2013
ISBN: 978-1-859-85971-1
Hardback
Price: £7.99

Bible and Prayers for Teddy and Me



by Christina Goodings, Illus. Janet Samuel


A lovely padded style hardback designed to be given as a gift with a tag and bow motif on the front cover and a presentation page inside. Thoughout the book are Bible stories well told with great illustrations and clever little word additions scattered through the pictures that add that edge of interest for young readers. Each Bible story is then followed by a short prayer and it is on those pages that "For Teddy And Me" comes into its own because each picture is of a child and their teddy - though often the teddy is active and not just a toy being clutched. It's a really well done book and a nice addition to Bible and prayer children's gift books.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (29/07/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Lion Hudson
Published: May 2013
ISBN: 978-0-745-96350-1
Padded Hardback
Price: £8.99

Candle Bible for Me



by Juliet David Illus. Mark Jones


A wonderful padded cover over the board pages of this book make it great for younger children and give it a feel of something you could give as a gift. The pencil type coloured drawings are great, really cute animals and people make them a delight to look at, and the stories are short and simple as needed for the audience (especially as you know you are going to be reading them more than once!), and of course the addition of the scripture reference at the end of each one is what makes Candle books so good and keeps the clear line that this is a Bible book for children.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (29/07/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: May 2013
ISBN: 978-1-859-85944-5
Board book
Price: £5.99

My Pop-Up Stories Of Jesus



by Juliet David, Illus. Kate Leake


Who can resist pop-up books, certainly none of the children I know (or many of the adults!). This one with five wonderful pop-up stories of Jesus is a lovely edition - the interactive pop-ups are really good and make you want to keep stretching the pages open and closed so you can see the people move. The story components of the book are very short but still get over the gist of the story and at the end of each one it says "You can read this story in..." and the Bible reeference is given, this making this a great lead in for some Bible time. A lovely book and one what I think many folks would really enjoy.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (29/07/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Lion Hudson
Published: May 2013
ISBN: 978-1-859-85970-4
Hardback
Price: £5.99

Are You There God?



by Allia Zobel-Nolan, John Bendall Brunello


This is a wonderfully illustrated story about a tiger cub going to school for the first time and encountering things that he finds daunting and scary. Asking, "Are you there, God?" Little Cub realises by the end of the day that the support he felt from God meant that "it turned out to be the best day ever."

The first page, with Little Cub seeing monstrous shadows on his bedroom blind the night before school, seems superfluous and unconnected to the rest of the story. Other than that, it's a nice story which my three year old enjoyed. The message behind the story is great, though it does leave the probability of future questions wide open; what should you think when you can't seemingly say "Thanks God" after approaching a daunting task that in the end doesn't go smoothly?

Overall, an enjoyable, good-looking book with a great message.



Review by Tim Hupfield  (29/05/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: February 2013
ISBN: 978-1-860-24874-0
Hardback
Price: £6.99

Sister Lucy's Great Big Family



by Susie Poole


No matter how old you are you will find this book enchanting and a delight to read. Whether you are a parent looking for a new book to read with your child, a teacher looking for a new discussion point or a pastoral leader looking to teach children about missionary work then this is the book for you.

Based on the real Sister Lucy in Kenya the story takes you on a journey of love, both God's and Sister Lucy's and the power that we have with God's help to make a difference. Written in such a way as to engage young children and adults equally it teaches without preaching or lecturing.

The illustrations tell their own narrative, providing beautiful talking points as well as colourful images to capture the imagination whilst providing further information on the life of this special great big family.

The appeal of this book spans the generations and provides untold teaching opportunities. This really is in my opinion a must have book, no matter how old you are.



Review by Allison Carroll  (22/05/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: February 2013
ISBN: 978-1-860-24882-5
Large paperback
Price: £5.99

My Princess Bible Bag



by Fiona Boon


When I first picked up this book I thought what a wonderful book for a young child to take to church. It's in the shape of a handbag, glittery and pink and very sturdy with Velcro closing. Although it says it has simple text the reality is that the prose is written in such a way that it may take some explaining, so perhaps not best suited to engage a child's imagination during a service.

However as a read together book it is lovely, one that teaches important lessons with illustrations that are brightly coloured and fun. The cover will, I am sure, make it a firm favourite and doubles up as a fun handbag to take out and about.

Overall this is a fun book that will delight and easily open up discussions on what God wants from us.



Review by Allison Carroll  (22/05/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: February 2013
ISBN: 978-1-860-24871-9
Hardback with handle
Price: £6.99

Me Too! Favourite Bible Stories

- 2 read & sing along CDs inside

by Marilyn Lashbrook illustrated by Stephanie McFetridge Britt


This is the latest presentation of these well loved stories and songs first published back in 2001 and in several formats since.

They certainly deserve being kept available for another generation of little ones. The stories are a very satisfying length which with only a few words on each page means plenty of illustrations to look at. These have just the right amount of detail for a young child to find interesting and with a little adult help and heeding the suggestions given, could spin the stories out for as long as you wish.

The audio CDs are excellent. The narration by Tina Heath is just the job and the songs interspersing the stories are a delight. Lovely rhythms and simple tunes that encourage singing along. I can imagine adults loving this book and the CDs as much as the children – I certainly do!

A pity it is so difficult to extract the CDs from their too tight cardboard sleeve. I discovered too late that I could push them up from the front - I had already torn the card slightly.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (22/03/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: March 2013
ISBN: 978-1-859-85871-4
Hardback
Price: £12.99

Prayers for Boys



by Gabrielle Mercer


In many ways this book is truly excellent. Rather than the lists and groups of prayers you might expect it instead gives a rhyming introduction to the act of praying. It explores what prayer is, how you can go about praying and things you might include in prayers. Perhaps my only reservation is the potentially misleading line "Praying with God is like speaking to a friend. As you get to know him, your problems will end." Also, I'm not sure that a separate 'prayers for girls' book is necessary; I know my son would enjoy the pink flowery version equally to this blue, football and rocket filled, book! Having said that, the art work is lovely, the message of the book is wonderful (and a brilliant supplement to the usual books full of small prayers with no explanation of what a prayer is or why anyone would want to pray!). The handle on the side of the book is perhaps a novelty, but certainly one enjoyed by my three year old son!

Review by Tim Hupfield  (18/02/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: September 2012
ISBN: 978-1-860-24872-6
Hardback with handle
Price: £4.99

My Very First Bible



by Lois Rock


A new mini-format of a well established and loved children's first Bible, with lovely, colourful and simple drawings by Alex Ayliffe and words by Lois Rock. This edition has a padded jacket cover and obviously being in the mini format it is perfect for little hands to handle. At only £4.99 it would make a lovely little gift for a special occasion, or a lovely Bible story book for a younger child at anytime.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (02/02/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Lion Hudson
Published: October 2012
ISBN: 978-0-745-96148-4
Hardback
Price: £4.99

The Lion Book Of Prayers for Me



by Christina Goodings


A lovely padded-jacket children's sized book of prayers to match the previously released Lion Bible for Me. The wonderful simple colouring book style images from Emily Bolam make this a fresh and appealing book. Simple and appropriate prayers cover a whole range of occasions and situations, including Christmas and Easter as well as the usual thankful, sorry, joyful type ones that are to be expected in a toddler's prayer book.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (02/02/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Lion Hudson
Published: October 2012
ISBN: 978-0-745-96346-4
Hardback
Price: £4.99

Where is God?



by Thérèse Ferry illustrated by David Doran


A very simple idea is beautifully expressed in this booklet.
Little Thomas asks his Mother ‘Where is God? and she answers in short sentences. Each answer is illustrated , again, very simply but very clearly.
So for instance, Thomas asks ‘Has He a big long beard? And the illustration shows how Thomas is imagining that.
Mother answers with examples such as ‘God is in the wind, in the rain, in the showers.’ And there is Thomas portrayed holding an umbrella in the rain.
I loved the illustrations, they catch the attention immediately especially the eyes of both Mother and Thomas – and even the snowman! A perfect book for introducing a young child to the truth of God. As Thomas says on the penultimate page ‘God is all around me, everywhere I go, keeping me close, watching me grow.’

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (27/10/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Columba Press
Published: 12 June 2012
ISBN: 978-1-856-07778-1
Stapled A5 Pbk.
Price: £4.99

Candle Bible for Kids

- Toddler Edition

by Juliet David illustrated by Jo Parry


Nicely rounded corners to make it kindly for little hands, brightly coloured illustrations with plenty of detail to talk about, and each story taking several pages, makes this a lovely book to be shared with a little one. With stories from the Old and New Testaments, and teaching by Jesus including the Lord’s Prayer, this would be a firm foundation on which to build a child’s knowledge of the Bible.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (26/09/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: 21 September 2012
ISBN: 978-1-859-85939-1
Padded Hardback
Price: £5.99

First Prayers With Jesus



Written and compiled by Sophie Piper illustrated by Melanie Mitchell


Each page is headed with a sentence from the Good News Bible – simply written in very understandable language – specifically written about Jesus or the words of Jesus. Then follows a relevant very simple prayer and on one page the prayer the Lord taught us.
The illustrations are a delight as so many illustrations of children’s books are. Looking back at previous reviews, I see I have admired Melanie Mitchell’s work before. Here she manages to give a softness to the pictures but keeps the bright colours. I particularly liked the little boy sitting sorrowfully on the stairs, perfect for the prayer on the facing page.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (24/09/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Lion
Published: Spring 2012
ISBN: 978-0-745-96287-0
Padded Hardback
Price: £5.99

First Prayers at Bedtime



Written and compiled by Sophie Piper illustrated by Kay Widdowson


Title – First Prayers at Bedtime *Written and compiled by Sophie Piper illustrated by Kay Widdowson Format – Padded Hardback Price – £5.99 Publisher – Lion Date of Publication – Spring 2012 ISBN – 978-0-745-96288-7 The first three pages are teaching rather than prayers, the rest of the book are short ‘to the point’ prayers that a little one will understand and soon be remembering. These together with the charming illustrations which though simple have enough detail in them to hold interest for an enquiring mind, make this a lovely book to give to a child.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (24/09/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Lion
Published: Spring 2012
ISBN: 978-0-745-96288-7
Padded Hardback
Price: £5.99

My First Bible

- Learning About Gods Special People

by Leyah Jenson, illustrations by Gustavo Mazali


Another wonderful children’s book from Autumn House with incredible illustrations from Gustavo Mazali that make this book sparkle and stand out. The children drawn in this book are just so cute and mischievous looking that adults will adore them and children probably identify with them! It’s a journey through the Bible meeting some of the best known characters, Adam and Eve, Joseph, Moses, Joshua, Samson, David, Solomon, Esther, Ruth, Daniel and Jesus, and hearing their stories. Each story begins with a scripture verse and then there is a short one page retelling of the story by Leyah Jensen. Short, colourful and easy to read, this is a book that would work well in any church children’s corner or at home for short storytimes too.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (20/09/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Autumn House
Published: 2006
ISBN: 978-1-904-68522-7
Hardback
Price: £3.95

Baby Jesus



by Karen Williamson, illustrations by Chris Embleton-Hall


An addition to the Baby Jesus books, this one with each page having a tab that sticks up to make turning the pages easier, but each tab is shaped to fit something from the pages picture. The illustrations are fresh and bright with some lovely additions like ‘Little Miss Muffet’ style spiders in some places and pastel girly butterflies in others along with cute bugs and bumblebee’s that though perhaps not entirely in tune with the story nonetheless make for a great fun book for little children to engage with. The story is simple but enjoyable to read and done in a fun font. On the whole a nice fresh addition to the Christmas Book market and at a nice price too.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (10/09/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: August 2012
ISBN: 978-1-859-85934-6
Board book
Price: £3.99

Bible Stories

- Creation, Noah’s Ark, Christmas, Easter

by Ben Alex Illustrations Gustavo Mazali


This is a fantastic little children’s bible book that covers Christmas, Easter and the two Old Testament stories of Creation and Noah’s Ark which if you think about it have a quite fitting synergy to them. The stories themselves each start with a Bible verse and then a child friendly retelling of the story in question. The font used is really good too – very appealing in style – and each story then ends with a longer bible verse of the story told. What makes this book so good though is the illustrations, bold, vibrant and modern in look they are just totally appealing and attractive for both adults and children. A great storytime bible book to share.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (10/09/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Autumn House
Published: 06 June 2006
ISBN: 978-1-904-68521-0
Paperback
Price: £3.95

David and the Giant



by Fiona Veitch Smith with illustrations by Amy Barnes


Absolutely delightful!
Remembering the two previous David books in this series, I started to read this book as soon as it arrived in the post. Then I re-read it and have done so several more times since then. I am sure that young ones will want it read again and again too and I don’t think the readers will tire of it.
The words and illustrations compliment each other beautifully and the different sizes and shapes of font enhance them both. The sheep on every page are pure fun and don’t detract from the fact that the story is told as near to the Bible story as is possible for this age group.
Buy it and see!

Visit the publisher's website:craftypublishing.com/youngdavidbooks

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (07/08/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Crafty Publishing from CLC Wholesale
Published: Summer 2012
ISBN: 978-0-956-91413-2
Paperback
Price: £5.99

The Story For Little Ones



Foreword by Max Lucado & Randy Frazee, illustrations by Josée Masse


Apparently simple illustrations are actually detailed enough to express the stories well and accurately. The accompanying words are taken from the NIV Readers edition as are the words on The Story for Kids, for adults and for teenagers, but here they are adapted to suit the age group. For instance in the story of Moses it says Pharaoh did not let the Israelites ‘keep their baby boys’ rather than the phrase in the book for older children ‘you must throw every baby boy into the river Nile.’ Each of the thirty one stories end with a statement about God in bold type.
This ranks among the very best of Bible story books for this age group. Highly recommended.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (02/06/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Hodder and Stoughton
Published: Spring 2012
ISBN: 978-1-444-74513-9
Hardback
Price: £14.99

My Very First Prayers

- To Know By Heart

Written and compiled by Lois Rock, illustrated by Alex Ayliffe


First edition 2003
Alex Ayliffe’s bright and simple papercut pictures will grab the attention of any child and the words of the prayers are also simple and to the point. I can imagine any young one hearing them carefully and understanding what they are praying and soon knowing them by heart. Younger children too, would enjoy having them read to them, and would need very little help to join in the prayers. I was very impressed with this book, and think it is one of the best I have seen for this age group.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (15/09/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Lion Hudson
Published: 2012
ISBN: 978-0-745-96273-3
Hardback
Price: £3.99

My Very First Bible Stories



by Fiona Boon designed by Gabrielle Mercer


The original illustrations to these stories caught my eye immediately. They have the appearance of being reproductions of collages. Perhaps they Are! It certainly makes for an attractive and unusual appearance with the many different textures, it is a pity not to be able to feel them, but they are a pleasure to look at.
Then I started to read and the stories are told in rhyme – always a sure favourite of little ones who soon learn the words and ‘read along’ as the story is being told to them. From Creation to Heaven, and a whistle-stop trip though the Bible between, These stories are packed into one page rhymes which tell the individual stories with accuracy and charm.
A lovely book.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (31/05/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: January 2012
ISBN: 978-1-860-24847-4
Padded Hardback
Price: £6.99

Daniel



by Karen Williamson illustrated by Chris Embleton-Hall


I imagine the author and illustrator having fun while creating this book. The large illustrated and shaped tabs peeping out of the edges of the book will instantly attract little fingers and the story inside is very simply told with gloriously bright and expressive illustrations which help to get the message across. I think this will be read again and again!

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (31/05/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: 18 May 2012
ISBN: 978-1-859-85915-5
Paperback
Price: £3.99

The Beginner’s Bible for Toddlers



by Catherine DeVries with illustrations by Kathy Pulley


This new edition is a very welcome addition to The Beginner’s Bible stable. Ten of the Bible stories from The Beginner’s Bible for slightly older children, presented here with a padded cover and rounded corners, the same bright illustrations by Kathy Pully and very simple words. A lovely introduction to the fuller edition.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (31/05/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: 18 May 2012
ISBN: 978-1-859-85926-1
Board book
Price: £5.99

My ABC of Bible Verses



by Designed by Gabrielle Mercer


Now this is different. I have seen nothing like it before. A Bible verse to fit every letter of the alphabet, but not what I would term a ‘forced’ quotation manipulating the first word to fit A, B or C. The initial letter of the key word in each verse, is what fits it to the concept. Thus A for All is the key word in the opening verse ‘Praise the Lord, All ye nations, Praise him All ye people of the earth.’ That works for me all through the alphabet and will teach young ones Bible verses that will stand them in good stead for the rest of their lives.
The illustrations are gentle and colourful, enhancing the verses and bringing variety to the pages by their presentation: framed, unframed, with background and without.
A special book that would be enhanced by the parental guidance suggested on the back cover.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (31/05/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: 03 March 2012
ISBN: 978-1-860-24846-7
Padded Hardback

Henry Hand Puppet 1



Written by Penny Culliford Created and Directed by Jon Taylor


The narrator talks to the four puppets Henry, Harriet, Helen and Fred who answer with nods and shakes of the head or other simple actions. These four have a garden and a nursery to play in with all the usual toys and activities of little ones, and of course a story time, when they sit together quietly and listen to a Bible story.
Each episode lasts for ten minutes. The six Bible stories on this first DVD are Creation, Noah, Moses, Ruth, David & Goliath and Jonah.
The stories are told and illustrated very simply and are aimed at the very young who are used to watching similar presentations on TV. I’m sure they will love these characters, who have to tidy their toys away just like them, who have activities such as planting seeds and picnics with their soft toys, just as they would do before story time. Not meant for my age group, but I thoroughly enjoyed each one!

To order, go to the Henry Hand Puppet website. If you want to use this series in church or school there is an in-depth teaching pack in pdf format that can be downloaded from the website too.
The 'ISBN' here is purely to activate our system.

Visit the author's website:www.facebook.com/henryhandpuppet

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (24/05/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Taylormation
Published: May 2012
ISBN: 9-990-00053-0
DVD
Price: £9.99 (incl VAT)

Bible Stories Collection



Written by Fiona Boon, illustrated by Lara Ede


Six tiny board books in a novelty box, with a handle and a ‘door’ that is held closed by a magnet. (I can see little ones opening and closing it just for fun)
The six titles are The Creation, Noah and the Ark, The Story of Moses, The Feeding of the 5,000, The Lost Sheep and The Easter Story. These may seem ‘the same old stories’ but we have to remember they are published here for little ones who will not have heard the stories before. To them they are fresh and appealing. They are told in rhyme in few words, but there are some words and concepts that the reader will have to explain in simple terms to the listener.
Each little book does have its own ISBN but is more suitable as a collection.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (30/04/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: April 2012
ISBN: 978-1-860-24848-1
Boxed set
Price: £3.99

Tiny Bear's Bible

- Pink for a Girl

by Sally Lloyd-Jones, illustrations by Igor Oleynikov


A re-issue of 978-1-859-85852-3, 2008
I can see this book being cuddled more than read!
A warm furry cover with a baby teddy bear looking sweetly to one side, who has fluffy ears just right for little fingers to fiddle with, short stories with their Bible reference and softly coloured illustrations with Tiny Bear appearing on every page spread. The stories are from the Old and New Testament; from The Creation to Easter Day. The words are in rhyme – always an extra attraction – and the last sentence of each story is addressed to Tiny Bear, with a very simple explanation of what the story means for us. The purchaser of this book will not be able to keep their hands off it, and the recipients will have to be persuaded to leave go, for it to be read.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (08/08/08)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: 20 April 2012
ISBN: 978-1-859-85928-5
Board book
Price: £7.99

Tiny Bear’s Bible

- Blue for a Boy

by Sally Lloyd-Jones, illustrations by Igor Oleynikov


A re-issue of 978-1-859-85743-4, 2008
I can see this book being cuddled more than read!
A warm furry cover with a baby teddy bear looking sweetly to one side, who has fluffy ears just right for little fingers to fiddle with, short stories with their Bible reference and softly coloured illustrations with Tiny Bear appearing on every page spread. The stories are from the Old and New Testament; from The Creation to Easter Day. The words are in rhyme – always an extra attraction – and the last sentence of each story is addressed to Tiny Bear, with a very simple explanation of what the story means for us. The purchaser of this book will not be able to keep their hands off it, and the recipients will have to be persuaded to leave go, for it to be read.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (31/07/08)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: 20 April 2012
ISBN: 978-1-859-85929-2
Board book
Price: £7.99

God Helps Me Bible



by Juliet David illustrated by Clare Caddy


The pages of the God helps Me Bible are of thin card rather than board, but still easy for little fingers to turn in their spiral binding.
The twenty five stories are told over two page spreads with appropriate illustrations and each story ends with the phrase ‘God helped.......’ So here we have the stories of Old Testament characters and New, from Noah through to how Paul got out of Jail. At the beginning of the book is the suggestion that the ‘God helped’ sentence could be repeated by the child and incorporated into a personal prayer. That would need help and guidance from the adult reader but would make the book a valuable teaching resource.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (04/04/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: March 2012
ISBN: 978-1-859-85916-2
Spiral Bound Paperback
Price: £7.99

Noah and the Animals

- 24 Piece Jigsaw

Illustrations by Sarah Pitt


A nice stout box to hold the pieces – essential with any jigsaw, and large colourful puzzle pieces to entice a youngster to fit them together and make the picture on the front of the box, complete with the pieces that fill in the blank spaces in the illustration – I had to put it together of course to see how that worked out! The irregular shapes to the pieces add to the fun and although it is the portrayal of the Noah story yet again, we have to remember it will be fresh to many little ones, and an opportunity to tell them more of the story.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (04/04/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: 17 February 2012
ISBN: 978-1-859-85907-0
Jigsaw
Price: £6.98 (incl VAT)