Menu

Children: Bible Stories & Prayer,4-11

Bible stories retold for Young Children. For reading aloud or reading by themselves. Look in Young Peoples Books too.

My Very First Bible Stories



by Sally Anne Wright


This is a wonderful little carry around book for children. Each story is short, simple and written in a very entertaining way whilst retaining the message of the scripture. The illustrations are bright and cheerful and will appeal to both children and adults.

This is a book that will encourage silly voices and true story telling with little ones at a level they will understand but that wont bore the grown ups. My favourite line is “Little babies make a great big noise!”  



Review by Allison Carroll  (11/09/14)
Jacket
Publisher: Barnabas imprint of BRF
Published: September 2014
ISBN: 978-0-857-46022-6
Board book
Price: £6.99

A Little Girl Is Healed



by Karen Williamson


I have been significantly impressed with the various aspects of this book which a crucial requirements with any book you want to last in your children's library.

The colours and vibrancy of the illustrations are engaging and entertaining for all ages. The language used to portray what is essentially a sad story until it's climax is simplistic without being patronising.

The story is told sensitively without brushing over the mourning of the parents, but celebrates Jesus' healing powers. One feature though has proven essential to its survival in the car, house and bedrooms as it is read by all three of my 8 yr old, 6 yr old and 2 yr old children is that of the protruding page extensions allowing even the youngest to turn to pages easily. They are solid thick card, which has meant they do not easily bend, tear and ultimately end up torn off.

This book is a keeper for our whole family.



Review by Barry Mason  (20/07/14)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: 0000
ISBN: 978-1-859-85958-2
Board book
Price: £3.99

Cecil And Psalm 23

- Lost Sheep Series

by Andrew McDonough


There is always a fine balancing act when sharing Bible text with young people of helping the text be translated into relevant language whilst not compromising the content. McDonagh has handled that balance expertly. 

By introducing the character of Cecil in the first page both adult reader and young children are then able to buy into the text and what it means to Cecil. 

This is complimented well by the colourful simple illustration and the breakdown of the verses with each picture. Each page offers up ideal discussion options for adults to share with their children as appropriate to their specific level of understanding.

Well done McDonagh. I (and my children) are eagerly anticipating more of the same from Cecil.



Review by Barry Mason  (03/07/14)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: 0000
ISBN: 978-1-921-22936-7
Stapled Paperback
Price: £2.99

My Little Prayer Cards



by Karen Williamson


At first glance this appears to be a normal book. However, when you open it, rather than finding pages there are two neat piles of sturdy prayer cards inside. The front of the ‘book' is held closed magnetically. Unfortunately with use the cards stop being absolutely perfectly flat and this means the box can't properly close (removing two cards fixes this problem and with such a variety of prayers to choose from this is not necessarily an enormous calamity.)

The backs of the cards all have the same picture, with a coloured strip across the middle stating the general topic of the prayer on each card—the colour used also indicates the theme to aid sorting/finding the prayers. The front of each card has the prayer and a suitable image to goes with that particular prayer.

The 40 short prayers are a mixture of traditional and newer ones, all suitable for young children. The themes are: a new day; meal time; at the end of the day; bedtime; all the people I love; at school; praise God!; sorry!; thank you; birthdays; please, God; quiet times; when I'm scared...; God's wonderful world; Easter; harvest. There is also a ‘Lord's prayer' card and an ‘an old prayer' card (a shortened version of ‘God be in my head and in my understanding....')

Whilst this format for a child's prayer collection may seem a bit gimmicky it has really appealed to my 4 year old son; he loves to look through them and can easily find appropriate prayers both by the coloured strip on the back and by looking for an appropriate picture on the front. They also prompted him to decide that ‘we could make our own ones'. For these reasons I would definitely recommend this innovative ‘book'.



Review by Tim Hupfield  (15/05/14)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: October 2013
ISBN: 978-1-859-85985-8
Boxed
Price: £5.99

Oinky Oinky And Ways To Be Wise



by Diana Neil illust. Steve English


 

Oinky Oinky is a brilliantly fun and enjoyable short rhyming story book, with the fun rhyming story poems all being based around a New Testament parable (scripture references are included for each rhyme). The one the book is named after is from the parable of the lost son—Oinky Oinky being the name of the first of the piggies the lost son works with. However you also find story rhymes about lost sheep, pearls of great price, lost coins, mustard seeds, two houses, good samaritans, and friends knocking at midnight—along with all sorts of side characters getting up to shenanigans and lending a hand in the stories.

With colourful simple illustrations throughout this really is a great book for either reading aloud with a group or class, or even for fun reading at bedtime.

A nice, well priced, addition to a children's resource library.

 



Review by Melanie Carroll  (26/03/14)
Jacket
Publisher:
Published: January 2014
ISBN: 978-0-957-49627-9
Paperback
Price: £4.50

Candle Bedtime Bible

- Three, Five and Ten-Minute Stories

by Karen Williamson Illustrated by Christine Tappin


This book features three to five and 10 minute bible stories, allowing you can pick the quick ones if you want, or choose the longer ones if you want to snuggle and spend time with the children before bed.

Of course the great thing with this book is that though it's being sold as a bedtime bible and designed ‘for parents' it's actually a really good story bible with great, well written bible stories and illustrations that are very sympathetic to the original material whilst being fun and engaging for younger ones too. But what is really good about it is that it is perfect for any time of the day-and to be honest because of the time grading involved it also makes a great bible resource for teachers or childrens workers too as the 3 minute stories would be great for assembly time!

 



Review by Melanie Carroll  (15/01/14)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: September 2013
ISBN: 978-1-859-85955-1
Hardback
Price: £7.99

My Guardian Angel



by Sophie Piper & Illustrated by Sanja Rescek


A beautiful little padded hardback gift book suitable for a range of occasions, or none, with a series of small prayers, poems, rhymes and thoughts about Guardian Angels and situations in which children may find themselves or encounter moments of wonder that are written and collated by Sophie Piper and beautifully and gently illustrated by Sanja Rescek in very soft pastel like images that add to the very gentle air of the book.
One that I think a lot of little girls may well like very much, as much for the artwork as for the words.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (16/11/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Lion Hudson
Published: September 2013
ISBN: 978-0-745-96397-6
Padded Hardback
Price: £5.99

Prayers from the Bible



by Lois Rock; Illus. Helen Cann


Prayers from the Bible is a great book to use with children or to give as a gift. Though it says prayers from the Bible they are not actual prayers straight from the Bible. They are reworked prayers and prayers based upon Bible verses - this works really well, keeping them insightful and relevant to children. In some respects some of the prayers do read more like poems, but that is not a bad thing at all and I can see them being very useful in either a Sunday school, or classroom setting for just that reason.

Of course it helps that the book has some lovely artwork that is a blend of traditional styling and modern imagery. As I said, a great book for using with children or for giving to children.



Review by Melanie Carroll  (29/07/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Lion Hudson
Published: June 2013
ISBN: 978-0-745-96403-4
Hardback
Price: £5.99

The Lion Bible to Keep for Ever



by Lois Rock


A wonderful addition to the gift Bible series, this really is a lovely story Bible with gentle considered and serious watercolour artwork provided by Sophie Allsopp, and words by Lois Rock. The starting lines that set in context the ideas and intent of each story for young readers, in no way interfere with the enjoyment of a good well told story, which is provided everytime. Each story has a Bible quote and reference and each is true to the original work too. The cover design is lovely, done with a gold colour spine and a tree and leaf motif that edges over and is echoed in the flyleaf and presentation page. This really is likely to be a Bible to keep forever and read over and over again - maybe even through more than one generation!

Review by Melanie Carroll  (05/02/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Lion Hudson
Published: January 2013
ISBN: 978-0-745-96914-5
Hardback
Price: £9.99

My Story David

- My Fight With Goliath! (with stickers)

by Fiona Boon


Bright, vibrant, modern, fun, illustrations by Nadine Wickenden with a great storyline told in a sort of diary style by Fiona Boon, and the coolest typeface with a range of bold print, large print and just fun print make this a great book on David. And that's before we note that there are stickers at the end with a double page spread sticker journal. A great addition to both books on David and to sticker books.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (05/02/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: February 2013
ISBN: 978-1-860-24868-9
Paperback
Price: £2.99

My Story Noah

- My Adventure In The Ark! (with stickers)

by Fiona Boon


Another really fun and creative sticker story book in the My Story series from Authentic. Told in the first person, diary style, with great artwork from Nadine Wickenden that adds real character to the well told enjoyable storyline from Fiona Boon, and a wonderful anarchic typeface make this a really fun book. Add in stickers (which it does) and any child is going to enjoy this story of Noah - come to that parents reading along, might well have fun with it too. Great story sticker book.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (05/02/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: February 2013
ISBN: 978-1-860-24870-2
Paperback
Price: £2.99

The Life of Jesus



by Sophie Piper


Though in the same style and series as Our Father, 10 Commandments, My First Holy Communion, and Psalms, Prayers and Praises this is a more 'grown up' book for want of a better term, being aimed I would think at a slightly older child given the size of type being used. It does though make a fantastic 'Bible' addition to these hardback gift books with gold foiled covers. It is particularly good for those who want to give a gift book with the story of Jesus' life. Each story has the corresponding reference to where it can be found in the Bible, and there is a great short introduction that introduces Jesus and how the Bible contains a collection of stories about him. It would be suitable for the widest range of occasions but perhaps most perfect for someone new to the church, or making their first communion, or being confirmed. Beautiful illustrations by Angelo Ruta and well written stories make this a lovely gift book.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (02/02/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Lion Hudson
Published: January 2013
ISBN: 978-0-745-96367-9
Hardback
Price: £9.99

Psalms, Prayers and Praises



by Sophie Piper


In the same style and series as the wonderful Our Father, 10 Commandments and My First Holy Communion, Psalms, Prayers and Praises makes a fantastic addition to these hardback gift books with gold foiled covers. This one is a particularly good addition because with the variety of material included it would be suitable for the widest range of occasions from older child baptisms through to younger child confirmations, and birthdays, or maybe, as an Easter gift. Beautiful illustrations by Angelo Ruta and short verses make this a lovely little gift book.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (02/02/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Lion Hudson
Published: October 2012
ISBN: 978-0-745-96382-2
Hardback
Price: £6.99

The Lord's Prayer and other classic prayers for children



by Lois Rock


A beautiful collection of prayers for children with the most lovely and evocative watercolour painting illustrations from Sophie Allsopp, make this a wonderful book and an absolute bargain at the price - especially given the gold foiling on its cover which makes it a perfect gift or prizegiving book. 27 short but suitable prayers from a range of sources covering not only the Bible and other traditional sources, but Mother Teresa and John Milton too, are arranged into themes for easy use, along with a first line index in the back too. This is a great little prayer book!

Review by Melanie Carroll  (02/02/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Lion Hudson
Published: January 2013
ISBN: 978-0-745-96322-8
Hardback
Price: £3.99

Hidden Heroes

- New Testament Book 3

by Rebecca Parkinson


These two books (Old and New Testament) make up the third instalment in the Hidden Heroes series, which looks at familiar (and not so familiar) Bible stories from the perspective of people who play a major part in the narrative but who do not take centre stage. Examples in these books include Pharaoh's cupbearer, who forgot about Joseph, and Apollos. In this way Rebecca Parkinson gives children a new perspective on each story and the questions at the end of each story encourage them to read more and to think about the issues that have been addressed.

I heartily recommend this whole series, either as Sunday School prizes, as read-alone books or to help in family devotions.

Review by Paula Hill  (16/01/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Day One Publications
Published: November 2012
ISBN: 978-1-846-25348-5
Paperback
Price: £5.00

Hidden Heroes

- Old Testament Book 3

by Rebecca Parkinson


These two books (Old and New Testament) make up the third instalment in the Hidden Heroes series, which looks at familiar (and not so familiar) Bible stories from the perspective of people who play a major part in the narrative but who do not take centre stage. Examples in these books include Pharaoh's cupbearer, who forgot about Joseph, and Apollos. In this way Rebecca Parkinson gives children a new perspective on each story and the questions at the end of each story encourage them to read more and to think about the issues that have been addressed.

I heartily recommend this whole series, either as Sunday School prizes, as read-alone books or to help in family devotions.

Review by Paula Hill  (16/01/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Day One Publications
Published: November 2012
ISBN: 978-1-846-25347-8
Paperback
Price: £5.00

50 Craziest Bible Stories



by Andy Robb


I chuckled at the first sentence of the Introduction which bode well for the rest of the book!
The Introduction is essential reading because it explains all sorts of things, it is not just funny, it matters.
Tantalisingly each story ends on a cliff-hanger. You have to go to your Bible and read the crunch lines for yourself – very clever! Someone my age is supposed to know those endings already, but I found myself, story after story, looking the endings up in my Bible. Don’t worry what translation of the Bible you are looking at, they all say the same, they just say it in different ways, though some are easier to understand than others.
The colourful cartoon illustrations add to the fun, but don’t forget there are serious messages here too. You’ll get indigestion if you try to read them all at once: take them a day at a time and think about what you have read.
Excellent.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (24/09/12)
Jacket
Publisher: CWR (Crusade for World Revival)
Published: 2009
ISBN: 978-1-853-45490-5
Paperback
Price: £5.99

Professor Bumblebrains Bonkers Book on Bible Heroes



by Andy Robb


Andy Robb, illustrator and author of many children’s books, is keen to attract children into knowing more about God and how to live the Christian life.
Copying the idea of the Oscars with their awards, he awards the coveted ‘Bumblebrains’ to various Biblical heroes and heroines. Not surprisingly John the Baptist wins the ‘Weird and Wild’ award, lesser-known Gideon wins the ‘Wimp to Warrior’ award.
On a whistle stop tour of the Bible – both Old and New Testaments, we meet a variety of characters whose interesting lives and exploits are amusingly illustrated with colourful cartoons. The script is also light-hearted and very amusing. Adults will enjoy this book as well as the children for whom it was written.
Having read and enjoyed the book myself – and learned interesting facts about less well-known characters such as Deborah and Ehud – I asked my 13-year old grandson to read it. This he did with obvious enjoyment and his comment was that it was very readable, very funny and would attract his age-group and above all attract them to delve a little more into the Bible. He noted that the author has written other paperbacks in a similar wacky vein e.g. 50 Goriest Bible Stories.
Although the pages are not numbered this attractively presented book does have 112 pages. However the amount of script on some is minimal as it comes from the characters’ mouths in true cartoon ‘bubbles’.
Its psychedelic cover would certainly brighten any bookstand as well as brightening your view of the Bible.

Review by Margaret Walker  (07/09/12)
Jacket
Publisher: CWR (Crusade for World Revival)
Published: 2010
ISBN: 978-1-853-45578-0
Paperback
Price: £6.99

Candle Classic Bible

- Retold in 365 Stories

by Alan Parry with illustrations by Bill Noller


With a presentation page in the front of the book, this is ideal as a gift for any occasion or none. The only reason necessary is that a young person should receive a very special book that can be read on their own or together with the family.
The Bible is broken down into short passages telling the stories of such as Noah, Abraham, Moses and Joseph in the Old Testament and John the Baptist, Jesus and the Apostles in the New Testament. A quick glance at the contents page will show you how this works out.
The storytelling is excellent, so much so that I find it hard to believe this book will be read in the short passages prescribed!
The bright, sometimes almost gaudy, colours in books of Bible stories for young children are here replaced by much more subdued colouring, but also more ‘adult’ portrayal of the scenes described. I had great pleasure looking through the book at the illustrations alone, easily recognising the stories they portrayed. The picture on the cover is a fine example.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (07/08/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: 22 June 2012
ISBN: 978-1-859-85867-7
Hardback
Price: £9.99

My Little Purple Book of Stories and Pictures

- 45 Old Testament Stories and Activities to use at Home - Tiddlywinks series

by Maggie Barfield illustrations by Sonia Canals


This is one from a set of 4 books with a total of 180 stories from the Bible. Each is lovingly presented with quoted verses from the Bible, a child friendly version of the story, a thought provoking simple picture to colour, and a short prayer. This Purple book looks at stories from Creation, those God first called His chosen people and some their lesser well known descendants as well as those we are more familiar with. The focus in Kings and Psalms helps children to appreciate where some of the Bible characters fit in the bigger picture and look at the many different ways that God shows His love. I have enjoyed using these with my young children as prompters for new stories and as reminders for stories we already know.

There is an A4 identical version of the book available.

Review by Barry Mason  (26/07/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Scripture Union (SU)
Published: 16 March 2012
ISBN: 978-1-844-27639-4
Paperback
Price: £4.99

My Little Blue Book of Stories and Pictures

- 45 Old Testament Stories and Activities to use at Home - Tiddlywinks series

by Maggie Barfield illustrations by Sonia Canals


This is one from a set of 4 books with a total of 180 stories from the Bible. Each is lovingly presented with quoted verses from the Bible, a child friendly version of the story, a thought provoking simple picture to colour, and a short prayer. This Blue book looks at stories from Creation and the people involved, His first call to Abraham and some of his descendants through to Joseph and Moses. With a focus on the books of Samuel, children are able to see God through several of the stories with Samuel and David before seeing where God intervened with His love along the way. I have enjoyed using these with my young children as prompters for new stories and as reminders for stories we already know.

There is an A4 identical version of the book available.

Review by Barry Mason  (26/07/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Scripture Union (SU)
Published: 01 September 2011
ISBN: 978-1-844-27635-6
Stapled A5 Pbk.
Price: £4.99

My Little Green Book of Stories and Pictures

- 45 New Testament Stories and Activities to use at Home - Tiddlywinks series

by Maggie Barfield illustrations by Sonia Canals


This is one from a set of 4 books with a total of 180 stories from the Bible. Each is lovingly presented with quoted verses from the Bible, a child friendly version of the story, a thought provoking simple picture to colour, and a short prayer. This Green book looks at stories from Mary meeting an angel, many different aspects of Jesus throughout his time on Earth through to Paul spreading the Gospel throughout the Earth. It particularly focuses on Jesus as a friend, and when he met people including his disciples, Mary & Martha, John the Baptist and some of those he healed. I have enjoyed using these with my young children as prompters for new stories and as reminders for stories we already know.

There is an A4 identical version of the book available.

Review by Barry Mason  (26/07/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Scripture Union (SU)
Published: 01 September 2011
ISBN: 978-1-844-27636-3
Stapled A5 Pbk.
Price: £4.99

My Little Red Book of Stories and Pictures

- 45 New Testament Stories and Activities to use at Home - Tiddlywinks series

by Maggie Barfield illustrations by Sonia Canals


This is one from a set of 4 books with a total of 180 stories from the Bible. Each is lovingly presented with quoted verses from the Bible, a child friendly version of the story, a thought provoking simple picture to colour, and a short prayer. This Red book looks at stories from the praise of Zechariah, Mary, the Angels and Simeon, Jesus healing people and performing miracles, some of the stories He told, through to the things He did after He came back to life. The further details on those who were instrumental in establishing the early church are very inspirational for discussing the issues of church with children, and looking at where Jesus is involved. I have enjoyed using these with my young children as prompters for new stories and as reminders for stories we already know.

There is an A4 identical version of the book available.

Review by Barry Mason  (26/07/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Scripture Union (SU)
Published: 16 June 2012
ISBN: 978-1-844-27640-0
Stapled A5 Pbk.
Price: £4.99

How to be a Bible Princess



by Catherine Mackenzie


A delightful book!
The publisher says it is for ‘Children’s teaching and Guidance’ an excellent description.
How to be a Bible Princess tells the story of eight Bible princesses – not always the obvious one in the story; six good and two bad. Starting with a series of questions (with hopefully obvious answers!) then the story, followed by teaching, explanations of words and further reading suggestions from the Bible, each princess brings a different angle on what being a Bible Princess is all about.
Enjoyable enough to be read and re-read, and with good solid teaching therein.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (03/07/12)
Jacket
Publisher: CF4Kids imprint of Christian Focus
Published: Summer 2012
ISBN: 978-1-845-50825-8
Paperback
Price: £5.99

The Story For Kids

- Discover the Bible from Beginning to End

Foreword by Max Lucado & Randy Frazee, illustrations by Fausto Bianchi


With British text (not American) this is selections from the NIV Readers Version of the Bible accompanied by black and white drawings that help to hold the interest of the reader although with the way the book is compiled that is hardly necessary. Short passages from the Bible are linked together with text in italics that binds the whole together into one Story.
With discussion questions at the end of each chapter which can be used in a group or with an older Mentor, this could be a gift to a child or used as part of a youth outreach by a church.
However familiar you are with the Bible it is refreshing to read it in this simplified form. Once started I found it hard to put down so can highly recommend it.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (02/06/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Hodder and Stoughton
Published: Spring 2012
ISBN: 978-1-444-70240-8
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Mighty Acts of God

- A Family Bible Story Book

by Starr Meade


This is a wonderful children's bible, the midpoint between being a children's storytime bible and about as near to a kids study and devotional bible as you can get and wrap it up in a great reading experience. It reads as if it is being spoken, as if being told to you by a really talented children's church leader. Each story is told in a fresh insightful way that both tells the story and yet also intersperses the stories with the really important theological questions and ideas that each story presents! Yes really, theological insights aimed at kids but not dumbed down, just put over in a clever, easy and intelligent way. Of course it helps that these ideas are highlighted by being in a different colour text, thus highlighting the difference between the story and the study aspect, but they make a transition directly from one theme to another well and seamlessly. Fantastic bridging bible for the 7+ brigade, and even better yet a fantastic study bible for those with learning difficulties that don’t want to be treated as a child and made to feel less for needing a little more help.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (30/04/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Crossway Books from IVP
Published: 2010
ISBN: 978-1-433-50604-8
Hardback
Price: £15.99

My Pop-Up Bible Stories



Paper engineer Linda Birkinshaw, text by Juliet David and illustrations by Daniel Haworth


I exclaimed with delight when I first saw this book. I have always thought of pop-up books as something special.
Only five stories but enough interest to hold a little one enthralled. In the first portrayal Moses floats gently on the water, then Daniel seems to stroke the lion in the den, Jairus’ daughter sits up, the lost lamb struggles in the thorn bush and the waves subside when Jesus stills the storm. Of course you have to use your imagination but you could spin each story out by talking about the illustrations and encouraging the little one to spot things.
No offence intended to the author of the text or the illustrator, but I put the paper engineer first as without her, the book would be quite different.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (14/03/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: 23 March 2012
ISBN: 978-1-859-85237-8
Hardback

My Little Bible



by Karen Williamson illustrated by Amanda Enright


Wow, this book is all go from the start.
A lot of the ‘first Bible’ options on the market give a short summary of the main stories, usually opening with Adam & Eve and working through Noah, Joseph, Moses, possibly Samson or Gideon and onto David in the Old Testament. However this version uses a different approach. It’s not just here to retell the nice stories we all know as pockets from Bible history. It wants the young reader/listener to actually get the flow of the history of God’s people. It opens with Abraham and how God called him and Sarah and by the end of a quick fire first section we’re looking at Joseph as the Pharaoh’s second in command.
Each page is succinct with supportive clear animations, but what impressed me most was the way the story flowed as a whole (with Bible reference notes to support). I would recommend this book as a present to celebrate anything from birth through to a 7th or 8th birthday. This would be ideal for a new parent for reading the stories to the newborn as they rest, through to a junior learning to read for themselves.
The padded cover is a pleasing aesthetic touch to the book as a child’s favourite and one that can be kept for the future. Both my children have enjoyed listening to the stories, my 5yr old daughter reading them herself if I took a breath, and has lead to some interesting discussions about some of the details of the stories, which is ultimately where I hope these readings lead to.

Review by Barry Mason  (22/07/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Candle Books imprint of Lion Hudson
Published: April 2011
ISBN: 978-1-859-85911-7
Padded Hardback
Price: £4.99

A Child’s Bible



by Sally Ann Wright illustrated by Honor Ayres


Originally published as the Hodder Children’s Bible in 2005.
Illustrations and the choice of font can make or break the appeal of a book for me. In this case both are first class.
Sally Ann Wright’s re-telling of the Bible stories I knew I would enjoy – I have met her work before and appreciated the opportunity to read A Child’s Bible as I did not review its previous incarnation.
The words just ask to be read aloud, the short phrases and sentences tell the stories faithfully according to the Bible but in ways young children will enjoy and remember. The special treat is that the stories don’t stop with the resurrection, they continue with stories from Acts. I read them all with delight.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (01/03/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: November 2011
ISBN: 978-1-860-24855-9
Hardback
Price: £7.99

Snap Shots Bible Through the Year

- Getting to Know God Better - Bible Reading for 8 to 11-year-

Editorial team Karen Evans and Helen Jones


This is a well produced, visually interesting set of daily Bible readings for a year, aimed at 8-11s. For each day there is a question to think about such as ‘How could an enemy become a friend again?’ There is then a Bible reading and some more questions to think about on the subject of the reading. Some of the days include a short activity such as a code to crack, something to draw or a tiny wordsearch. Most days have a short prayer to end with. It would probably take five to ten minutes a day. Less able children could work through it with a parent.
The book is not dated, so although it runs from January 1st to December 31st it could be for any year. There is a good mix of Old Testament and New Testament readings with up to two weeks spent on any book. Having looked previously for similar material for this age group and been uninspired I am excited to have found this book. It is very accessible and inviting!

Review by Kathy Bland  (06/02/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Scripture Union (SU)
Published: November 2011
ISBN: 978-1-844-27573-1
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Bible Heroes

- My Book About Being a Hero for God

by Nick Harding


This is a book for boys. It contains no female Bible heroes (perhaps there is another book with heroines but it’s good to be aware that this one is aimed at boys)! This would be a great book to use either as a daily Bible study or as a workbook for youth groups to use together (each child would need their own book). The target age group is 8-11
There are 25 heroes included from both the Old Testament and New Testament. Some are given a few pages whilst others are ‘a quick look’. Either way, there is some information given about the hero, a key Bible verse and some kind of activity or quiz. There are also application questions to help the child think through how they can be a hero for God.
Mixed in through the book are some prayer pages with topics such as ‘saying sorry’ and ‘listening to God’.
I think many children would find this a tricky book to tackle on their own but it would be an ideal book for working through with a parent or in a group with adult help. Nicely presented.

Review by Kathy Bland  (06/02/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Scripture Union (SU)
Published: November 2011
ISBN: 978-1-844-27579-3
Spiral Bound Paperback
Price: £4.99

The Big Picture Story Bible with CDs



by David Helm with illustrations by Gail Schoonmaker


The Bible is a lot of things. It is a library, a collection of 66 books, penned by 40 or so authors, written over nearly 800 years. To many, it is a collection of interesting morality tales. Stories and fables, myth’s and legends, mostly unrelated, and irrelevant to the modern day.
To a Christian, however, the Bible is so much more. It is a vibrant, and immensely relevant story of God’s consistent and continuing interaction with humanity. It is our guide book, our source of understanding, the very words of God himself. Yes, it is a library of different books, and stories, penned by different men, in their own unique styles, but it is also a single, all encompassing narrative. A love story from God to Man, inspired by his spirit.
As Christians we know this. Yet altogether too often, we forget to teach this to our children. We teach Bible stories, as if they stand alone. Our children’s Bibles include the stories of Creation, the fall, Noah, Jonah, Moses, the first Christmas, the miracles, parables and Easter, and there most stop. They include no context, no indication that these stories are part of one big story. We forget to tell ‘the big picture’.
Enter The Big Picture Story Bible. For the first time in a very long time, the Bible is presented for children as one continuous narrative. Beginning in Genesis, and including almost every major story through to the end of Revelation, The Big Picture Story Bible reminds us that these stories, though fantastic on their own, are not unconnected, individual stories, but part of one big story, the biggest, and best story ever told.
Ideal for parents to read to the very young, and for older children to read aloud, it is also perfect for adults who sometimes struggle to understand how the stories they know so well fit into God’s plans for the redemption and salvation of all people.
This beautifully illustrated hardback edition also includes an audio CD, containing the complete, unabridged text of the book, so whole families can follow along together, as they listen to the story read to them.
A must read book for people of all ages, this is the ideal way to introduce children to the Bible, and help them understand that the individual stories which they will learn, do fit together perfectly, like a jigsaw, and make best sense when understood and admired as one big picture.

Review by Luke Hughes-Bunger  (26/01/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Crossway Books from IVP
Published: 19 November 2010
ISBN: 978-1-433-52391-5
Hardback
Price: £14.99

Pray, Sing, Worship

- A Picture Book for Holy Communion

Extracts from Common Worship and illustrations by Chantal Stewart


With some children now receiving communion at an early age and with others needing to understand what is going on around them this slim approx. 210mm square paperback is ideal for a child to have with them during the service.
Each section of the service is accompanied by lively illustrations showing joyful, serious, prayerful children and adults according to the part being illustrated.
With the help of an adult a child could be led into a deeper understanding than just listening to strange and possibly meaningless words being recited by those around them. We adults forget what a strange service Holy Communion can be for one who has not had it explained. This book could be a real help during the service if talked about prior to attending church.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (24/01/12)
Jacket
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: November 2011
ISBN: 978-0-281-06590-5
Paperback
Price: £4.99

My Favorite Bible



by Rondi DeBoer and Christine Tangvald


This is a book of Bible stories with a difference. After each story is a page with things for a family to talk about and another with ideas for families to do together. I liked the idea of the child making pictures or writing stories as suggested and putting them into a ‘Bible Story Binder’ as the book is worked through.
The actual stories and accompanying illustrations compliment each other beautifully, and familiar stories come alive in a very special way. This book also has passages that don’t usually appear in a young child’s book of Bible stories, there is one about the Psalms, another about proverbs and yet another about the prophets before moving on to the stories of the New Testament.
Yes, it is American, but apart from the occasional odd spelling it is fine and thoroughly recommended.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (17/12/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Revell imprint of Baker Pub from Lion
Published: 21 October 2011
ISBN: 978-0-800-71956-2
Hardback
Price: £8.99

The Big Book of Bible Stories

- Bible Stories! Rhyming FUN! Timeless Truth for Everyone!

Written and Illustrated by Phil A. Smouse


This is fun!
Bible stories told with rhymes that just beg to be read aloud!
Seventeen stories from Old and New Testaments told in such a delightful way that you just want to keep reading. Quite a heavy book, so definitely one to be read by an adult to a small child, but rhyming stories with superb collections of words to get your tongue around will surely entice older children to read it too! If I started to quote my favourite pieces for you I would end up copying the whole book.
Cartoon/Disneylike illustrations like nothing you’ve seen in a book of Bible Stories before. Colourful, expressive, it surprised me how much I loved them.
If you want something very different, yet still true to the Bible, then take a look at this – and smile as you read.
Now I’m going to read a bit more....

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (17/12/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Barbour from David C Cook/Kingsway
Published: Autumn 2011
ISBN: 978-1-616-26237-2
A4 Paperback
Price: £9.99

Angels in the Bible

- Learning About God’s Special Agents

by Leyah Jensen, illustrated by Gustavo Mazali


Instead of great theatrical wings, the angels portrayed in this book look like beautiful humans dressed in white robes and somehow that makes them look more real. More as they would actually have appeared to the characters in the Bible. And they do appear, more times that most people realise. We sing blithely about them in hymns, but how many bible stories could you recite that speak of angels? I had some surprises in this book, and needed to check out the Bible references – but there they were.
I’ve not seen another book quite like this and I loved it.
Another book my teacher daughter has her eye on.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (03/11/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Autumn House
Published: 2006
ISBN: 978-1-904-68523-4
Hardback
Price: £3.95

365 Great Bible Stories

- The Good News from Genesis to Revelation

by Carine Mackenzie illustrations by David Lundquist


A short story a day to last a whole year, and not just a Bible story but a special thought to go alongside it.
Carine has gone through the whole Bible from Genesis to Revelation, picking out the stories to tell in this very special book. There is .book/chapter/verse set out at the top of each page if you or someone in your family wants to read more. The joy of this book is that not all the stories will be familiar to young ones, they are not just the few that are repeated over and over again but others such as the story of Jeroboam’s wife travelling to see Ahijah, or Paul’s vision of a man pleading with him to travel to Macedonia. I dipped and dipped into this book and I think that is how it will be used, not methodically from start to finish, but I pray every word will be read over time.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (04/10/11)
Jacket
Publisher: CF4Kids imprint of Christian Focus
Published: 2011
ISBN: 978-1-845-50540-0
Hardback
Price: £12.99