Menu

Advertisement
Recent titles
in this section:
Celebrating Life in Death
Readings For Funerals
The Amazing Technicolour Pyjama Therapy
A Jewish Book Of Comfort
Stress
Be Healed
Loss And Discovery
The Enabled Life
The Tactile Heart
Healing the Family Tree
Facing Illness, Finding Peace
The Death of a Child
Led into Mystery
Healing Dreams
Still Point
Ministry with Persons with Mental Illness and Their Families
A New Name
First Steps to Living with Dementia
Spiritual Care of Dying and Bereaved People
Acquainted with the Night
Finding Meaning in the Experience of Dementia
Setting up and Facilitating Bereavement Support Groups
Healing Unplugged
Connecting Like Jesus
Two Minus One Equals One
Blessings
Finding Hope in Times of Grief
Encountering Depression
Who Will I Be When I Die?
Healing Wounded History
Forgiveness Is Healing
Losing Tom – Finding Grace
A Piece of Blue Sky
I Am My Sister’s Keeper
When Someone You Love No Longer Remembers
The Undistracted Widow
Heaven Revealed
The Death of a Child
In the Midst of Life
Understanding Panic Attacks and Overcoming Fear
Good Grief
God Knows My Name
Learning to Heal
Lynda


Search
Search the site for...  
Containing...

Sort results  by...
 

Healing and Bereavement

Healing and Bereavement come in many forms and healing is not always as we expect. Click here for help and comfort.
For help with children facing bereavement look in Children and Bereavement.

Celebrating Life in Death

- Resources for funerals, thanksgiving and remembering with CD-ROM

by Lezley J. Stewart


This is a very helpful resource for anyone involved with conducting funerals, or doing memorial/remembrance services. It has simple short insights into planning the funeral, meeting with the family, the funeral directors, and all other sensitive area's involved in the arranging a funeral.

It then has a selection of suggestions for different types of services and 'order' suggestions for them.
Finally it has a good selection of resources ...with space for names to be inserted... that covers prayers, readings, commital words etc. with a good range suitable for covering most circumstances and situations of death too.

It coems with a cd-rom so that all material within can be altered and printed as needed. A very handy resource.



Review by Melanie Carroll  (16/04/16)
Jacket
Publisher: Saint Andrew Press
Published: 26 February 2016
ISBN: 978-0-861-53866-9
Paperback
Price: £19.99

Readings For Funerals



by compiled by Mark Oakley


This is of course a great resource book for any minister or chaplain, or indeed for any family member or friend of a recently deceased person ... however it's more than that too, it's actually a really good book for anyone facing times of hardship, serious illness and yes, preparing for death or bereavement.

Inside the book are a good collection of bible readings that though suitable for funerals of course, also talk to many other situations too.

The Poems and Reflections sections are a wide ranging selection of classic and modern, and yes all deal with the theme of dying, death, bereavement, remembrance and such as one would expect ... but you know all these words were written by the living and speak not only to those bereaved, but to those dying too ... and even to those not in either of those places but aware that they one day will be.

Finally the book rounds out with a selection of Hymns that would be fitting to use in a funeral, or are ones most often asked for, and as it gives the words makes for a handy tool and it is worth noting that contained here are quite a few favourite hymns like 'All things bright & beautiful', 'be though my vision' and a good few others.

An excellent resource book indeed.

 



Review by Melanie Carroll  (27/01/15)
Jacket
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: 15 January 2015
ISBN: 978-0-281-07180-7
Paperback
Price: £12.99

The Amazing Technicolour Pyjama Therapy

- And Other Ways To Fight Back Against Life Changing Illness

by Emily Ackerman


An intelligent, moving, humourous and helpful book about something that frequently isn't funny at all - life changing illness.
To be clear that's not necessarily life ending illness ... though there are chapters that do deal with facing up to and dealing with dying that are helpful both to the person actually dealing with the illness and also to those around that person too.
Indeed this whole book is really written for the person with the illness, and is written by a person that has such an illness, however it is also an immensely helpful book for the family of someone with a life changing illness, and I would also recommend it as a good read for those who do hospital or home visiting even. There is so much honesty in this book, so many real life experiences and views, and yet there is above all humour and faith running rampant through it.
I like that the sections are all small ... always helpful if your illness causes you to lack focus or tire suddenly! I also like that there are reflection questions at the end of each chapter ... these are really helpful and could very well be used in a group setting too.
An excellent resource and genuinely helpful book.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (31/01/15)
Jacket
Publisher: Muddy Pearl
Published: 21 August 2014
ISBN: 978-1-910-01212-3
Paperback
Price: £9.99

A Jewish Book Of Comfort



by Ed. Charles Middleburgh & Andrew Goldstein


This is a most beautiful and bittersweet book that deals with the hardest of subjects, death, bereavement and grieving in the most incredible of ways collecting together as it does a collection of thoughts, prayers, readings etc that at times seem almost prosaic in the extreme and at other times are the most moving homages to hope, and this is what does most clearly make it a Jewish book of comfort - the artful blending of the prosaic with the illusive.
 
There is in here a word, thought, poem or prayer that would work of anyone going through the trials of dealing with death, loss, illness or caring for someone through these trials.
 
A beautiful and melancholy book that speaks very much to the heart of those needing comfort.



Review by Melanie Carroll  (12/11/14)
Jacket
Publisher: Canterbury Press imprint of Hymns Ancient & Modern Ltd
Published: 01 November 2014
ISBN: 978-1-848-25721-4
Hardback
Price: £16.99

Stress

- The Path To Peace

by Simon Vibert


I was very pleasantly surprised by this book, sadly Christian self-help type books often seem to contain very little of the Bible in them and instead a lot of pseudospeak, but this one is very much bible-centric, and yet not so much so that it fails to be really relevant to today or glosses over the stress of modern day life.

It does not read as a preachy 'if you have God then you won't have stress'—although it does in some ways say that—rather it reads that if you have stress then look at things from a different angle. For example, it causes you to ask how can we change things to minimise our stress, and if we live with God at the centre, if we consider the lessons of the Bible about stress—and there are many!—then maybe what we see is a correlation between the modern day suggested solutions to stressful life and the God ordered way of living. 

Sleep, rest, work life balance, anger, joy, good eating habits, and much more besides are all are there. And if we take God's advice to heart then we really do find a way to tackle, reduce and live with stress—and in this, we find a path to peace.

This is a really well written book that is easy to read and genuinely helpful. I love the way the author has made use of a series of 'made up characters' that are in fact real representations of the types of people under stress and how through them we can see ourselves mirrored.

Stress is a big problem for a lot of people and this book could be a really helpful book for those suffering from stress, as well as for those needing to counsel those with stress. Definitely one for any pastoral bookshelf.



Review by Melanie Carroll  (30/07/14)
Jacket
Publisher: IVP(Inter Varsity Press)
Published: June 2014
ISBN: 978-1-783-59152-7
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Be Healed

- A Guide To Encountering The Powerful Love Of Jesus In Your Life

by Bob Schuchts


Do you want to be made whole?

In today’s society when people have a problem—be it physical, emotional, mental or spiritual—we treat the symptoms. This book encourages us to find out the root cause of the problem and deal with that.

The author has the experience of working as a marriage and family therapist and he writes in a very accessible style, with a lot of personal information shared from his own life.

The book is in three parts: ‘Encountering Jesus’, ‘Facing our brokenness’ and ‘Healing our wounds’. Through these sections the process of healing is clearly outlined, backed up by the personal stories and with the use of clear and memorable charts and diagrams. The ‘Take a moment’ sections encourage the reader to apply the process to their own situation.

The author is a Catholic but his approach is first Christian and then Catholic. The book is thoroughly Bible based and also includes interesting insights from Catholic Church tradition—for example his treatment of the seven deadly sins and also the chapter on ‘Sacraments and healing’. Although I am not a Catholic myself, I found these parts of the book very thought provoking and felt that I could take them on board for myself.

In the Introduction, the author recommends reading the book twice, once to gain an overview and the second time, more slowly, praying it through. Having read it once, I definitely want to make time to read it again. I think all kinds of people could find this book very helpful and I would definitely recommend it.



Related website:jpiihealingcenter.org

Review by Heloise Hearn  (31/07/14)
Jacket
Publisher: Ave Maria Press from Alban Bks
Published: April 2014
ISBN: 978-1-594-71476-4
Paperback
Price: £11.99

Loss And Discovery

- Responding to grief with the compassion of Christ and the skills of all God's people

by *Ed Margaret Wesley


Loss and Discovery comprises nineteen papers presented at the inaugural conference of the Christian Care Network of Australasia, held in July 2012. Yet this book in not academically inaccessible nor geographically limited; it conveys a breadth of wisdom and insight that travels well and will be appreciated by those committed to the care of the grieving in a wide variety of contexts and locations.

Casting an eye over the topics addressed, this must have been a stupendous conference: Grief theory, biblical scholarship, trauma through natural disasters, discrimination and abuse, the impact of cultural traditions, the (in)effectiveness of our liturgies, personal stories—it's all here in abundance.

How to make use of the material is perhaps the greater challenge. Unless this is your specialist area this is not a book to read through from one end to the other (although the writing and editing is largely excellent). Accessing material of interest would be easier if the contents were more clearly listed. Indexes and a composite bibliography would help too.

All of which means it is probably students rather than practitioners who will find this volume most useful.

Review by David Ford  (11/02/14)
Jacket
Publisher: Mosaic Resources distributed by Alban Books
Published: March 2013
ISBN: 978-1-743-24064-9
Paperback
Price: £21.99

The Enabled Life

- Christianity In A Disabling World

by Roy McCloughry


Roy McCloughry's 'The Enabled Life' is a wonderful book that looks at the issues of disability, but in a way that felt to me to be from one step side moved over. That is to say that in some ways, although this book is a book on disability and addressing it, it is also a book that addresses 'normality' and brings that into question too.

It is a book that tries to show that disability is a form of normal and that with it—and demonstrated through the Bible—we are shown that weakness, disability even, is a freedoom, an engagement that goes to the heart of us. Each of us is made whole through our weakness and we are most disabled when we fail to see that, grasp that, live that.

This is an essential book for those who are ready to acknowledge the unreality of normality and embrace the reality of a truly enabled life—one in which we are all disabled and therefore none of us are 'disabled' or less than we are due to these differences of ability, health, body or mind. It's a beautiful concept that helps break down bias and can really open up acceptance.

There is in here, of coursem a work that deals with addressing the views of the day and the church we are actually in also, so there is good material here for anyone within the church community (everyone!) who has a responsbility to make church accessible and that asks them to question their presuppositions and mores—a deeply insightful book on disability and one to be recommended.



Review by Melanie Carroll  (06/01/14)
Jacket
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: September 2013
ISBN: 978-0-281-06278-2
Paperback
Price: £10.99

The Tactile Heart

- Blindness And Faith

by John M. Hull


I've always warmed to Helen Keller's popular adage, "The only thing worse than being blind is having sight but no vision." Here John Hull offers us something unique and weighty in the exploration of blindness and faith.

The Tactile Heart is a rare and robust set of theological essays that explore fragility, brokenness, fear and disability. Hull develops a framework of thought that makes a valuable contribution to the wider field of disability theology. The author journeys through key texts in the Christian tradition, literality, metaphor and much wisdom.

Hull urges that a theology of disability originates in the imperfect of our divinely created human plurality. His offering of hymnology is particularly insightful and offers a fresh springboard of usefulness and application. The chapter about the blind disciple and the sighted Saviour, for me, was one of the strongest parts. The distinctive humanity and the engagement with difference was an appreciated take-away. 

The embodied theology, bodily metaphors and Christward gaze gently permeates all with a redemptive grace. This is a rare and worthwhile addition to the printed press. This is graciously reasoned and warmly constructed. It's well worthy of your time.



Review by Johnny Douglas  (20/12/13)
Jacket
Publisher: SCM imprint of Hymns Ancient & Modern Ltd
Published: August 2013
ISBN: 978-0-334-04933-3
Paperback
Price: £23.99

Healing the Family Tree



by Kenneth McAll


Just occasionally one reads a book that completely challenges all our previous assumptions about how the world works; the nature of reality itself. In Healing the Family Tree (first published in 1982 and now re-printed in the SPCK Classics series) Dr Kenneth McAll challenges us to think about healing in inter-generational terms: that the sins of the past continue to affect the health of the present generation. Dr McAll suggests that through the direct intercessory intervention of Jesus and through the celebration of the Eucharist, entire family trees can be healed with miraculous and transformational effects.

After a brief summary of his experiences of healing in war-torn China, Dr McAll begins by exploring "possession syndrome"; the state of bondage that can exist between two people as a result of an un-reconciled life event or damaged relationship. That prayer can bring healing in these situations is not new of course, but it is more challenging to consider the possibility when one party is no longer alive and even more so when one party is a life lost through abortion or miscarriage. The stories that flow through the pages of this book are quite breathtaking and faith enhancing.

Consistently throughout the book Dr McAll repeats the centrality of Jesus Christ and the importance of Eucharistic services of healing. The handing over of power to Jesus is an essential part of delivering release to the captive individual. The book concludes with details of Dr McAll's vision of Jesus, his interpretation of the Lord's Prayer and an outline of the Eucharistic service employed.

Deeply challenging, Healing the Family Tree will encourage you to read scripture and have faith in the gospel in new and remarkable ways. Russ Parker, Director of the Acorn Christian Healing Foundation provides the Foreword.



Review by David Ford  (18/09/13)
Jacket
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: January 2013
ISBN: 978-0-281-06961-3
Paperback
Price: £9.99

Facing Illness, Finding Peace



by Nancy Groves


What a very different book, written almost as a psalm of consideration, a poem of reflective thought in style, spacing and character it moves you along the journey of illness and dealing with it in a way that takes little effort to read and none to understand. It immediately launches into the heart of the fear and isolation of thoughts that the awareness of real illness can bring and for this it is an excellent book to give to someone journeying with personal illness. The illness is never named and therefore could be anything, though in sections it does tend to lead to thoughts of certain illnesses. Each chapter or thought poem as they may be better termed ends with a few questions for personal reflection and a prayer. This book is written for someone dealing with the illness themselves and yet it also would work for those dealing with the illness from the outside too. For family members a serious illness often effects them in very real ways too and these reflections are open enough to work there too. This book would be a great way in to dealing with illness for anyone struggling.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (05/07/13)
Jacket
Publisher: BRF (Bible Reading Fellowship)
Published: June 2013
ISBN: 978-0-857-46242-8
Paperback
Price: £6.99

The Death of a Child



Edited Peter Stanford


For anyone who has suffered such a loss this book will probably include stories, which in some way will relate to yours, even though grief is "per se" unique. Twelve people share their stories of the loss of a child; some are well known people such as Carol Drinkwater (Helen Herriot in All Creatures Great and Small) and Sarah Brown (wife of former Prime Minister Gordon Brown), others you will never have heard of, but whose stories will stay in your heart.

In twoeve short, readable chapters we hear not only of those who have suffered the loss of young children, but of miscarriages, stillbirth, the death of a handicapped child, a child in her 40s and children who died through accident and even murder.

This book deserves a wide readership - helping not only those for whom the death of a child is a reality, but also those who seek to advise and support both the parents and the often forgotten siblings who crave love and understanding.

So I would highly recommend it for all, especially those in the caring professions such as the church, doctors and nurses and social workers, and for those who care enough "not to pass by on the other side" of those who grieve at the death of a child. For all those who utter "But I don't know what to say", read this book. You may find you don't need to say anything!



Review by Margaret Walker  (03/07/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Published: February 2013
ISBN: 978-1-408-19208-5
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Led into Mystery

- Faith Seeking Answers in Life and Death

by John W De Gruchy


Led Into Mystery is an informed, intelligent and articulate book that is at once both academic in scope and character and yet also deeply personal and accessible for that reason. It is a moving theological discourse, something you don't often come across!

In a way it could not fail to be so for this is the profound and heartfelt personal record of the knowledge of pain, death and loss as experienced by De Grunchy, one of the top theologians and an expert on Bonhoeffer, as the reality of death truly impacted him in the tragic death of his son. This book is the story of the family dealing with this but also a most profound reflection and theological journey into the realities of death, grief and resurrection, that opens the door deeper than any mere theological discourse ever could, and yet does lead into the theology of life and death more than many other books could. This is a book I heartily recommend, both for those interested in theology and for those struggling through grief at an intellectual and emotional level.



Review by Melanie Carroll  (18/06/13)
Jacket
Publisher: SCM imprint of Hymns Ancient & Modern Ltd
Published: May 2013
ISBN: 978-0-334-04736-0
Paperback
Price: £25.00

Healing Dreams

- Their power and purpose in your spiritual life

by Russ Parker


Everywhere you look people are talking about dreams, from the musical Les Miserables (and Susan Boyle's hit performance on Britain's Got Talent) to the life coaching industry to the stall holders at psychic fairs to psychologists and counsellors. With so many voices it is easy to get confused by what we mean by a dream, as people challenge us to "dream big dreams" of where we can go in the future, and to forget that dreaming is a natural occurrence that we do most, if not every night. Most nights we dream without remembering either that we dreamed or what the dream was about, but some mornings we awake with the dream at the front of our mind. These dreams can haunt us during the day as we try to work out what they mean. It is these types of dreams that Russ Parker speaks into.

In Healing Dreams Russ Parker takes us through the various types of dreams mentioned in the Bible, opening up the depth of meaning of the word dream found in the Hebrew language. He then majors on the non-prophetic type of dream where we are talking to ourselves and trying to make sense of something in our lives, thereby taking dreams out of the hands of Freudian and Jungian therapists and making them accessible to everybody. Russ Parker guides the reader through simple steps to be able to understand their dream in order to resolve inner conflict and bring understanding concerning the dream. While many people are too embarrassed to speak about their dreams this is a book that should be on the shelf of every church leader, counsellor and pastoral care worker.



Review by Phelim McIntyre  (30/05/13)
Jacket
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: January 2013
ISBN: 978-0-281-07023-7
Paperback

Still Point

- Loss, Longing and Our Search for God

by Regis Martin


Still Point is a beautiful, honest and moving contemplation on grief and the pain of that grief. Grief so strong in some ways that it knocks our faith and causes us to stop and contemplate what there is, and in that contemplation to come through our moment of doubt to a moment of longing and want and a realisation of faith, that in death there is life - though it may not ever be again what we thought it was before. It's beautiful.

It has a lovely cadence to it that flows, and certainly is helped along by the snippets and considerations of poetry that are included to try to explain and highlight the doubts, wonders and contemplations of the search for God in the agony of loss. I cannot help but think this would be an excellent book to give to anyone suffering under the burden of their loss, or even for anyone who has known loss, or may come to know loss.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (13/04/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Ave Maria Press from Alban Bks
Published: October 2012
ISBN: 978-1-594-71341-5
Paperback
Price: £7.99

Ministry with Persons with Mental Illness and Their Families



edited Robert H Albers, William Meller, Steven Thurber


I am tempted to give this an 'essential read' label as many of us in the church do come into contact with people with mental health needs. We can feel inadequately prepared, a situation which the authors are trying to rectify without claiming that we will become instant experts. The American church context of the book is very different from the church structures in this country, so some of the suggested actions would not be possible here - and by the time I finished reading the book I was profoundly thankful for the NHS despite problems and financial cutbacks, because some of the problems faced by the contributors are covered by the NHS.

The overviews of the types of illness discussed in the book are couched in language for the lay person to understand, giving definitions which are useful guidelines, plus information about possible treatments and possible problems for the pastor / minister and local church in the various situations. The authors do not try to cover every sort of illness of the brain, but the nine chosen are the ones we are most likely to encounter: Depression, Anxiety Disorders, Psychotic Disorders, Personality Disorders, Substance-use Disorders, Eating Disorders, Autism, Acquired Brain Injury and Dementia.

For those who want to read further there are extensive bibliographies after each section.



Review by Pam Sanders  (31/05/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Augsburg Fortress Publishers from Alban Books
Published: March 2012
ISBN: 978-0-800-69874-4
Paperback
Price: £19.99

A New Name

- Grace and healing for anorexia

by Emma Scrivener


The subtitle for Emma's book is Grace and healing for anorexia. I found it hard to put this book down. Emma's skill with words and her absolute honesty gripped my attention on every page. This is really the 'inside story' of anorexia in stark and shocking words. Emma tells her story, beginning with her early years growing up in Belfast, the turmoil of her teenage years as anorexia began its strangle-hold on her body, soul and spirit, through her recovery and subsequent relapse, right up to the present day. She also gives us a glimpse of the devastation in her family, caused by her illness.

Anorexia has damaged her body, so that she now lives with many physical limitations, but her spirit is strong. She is passionate about warning others of the darkness and the horror that she endured for so long. In spite of the rawness of the sharing, this book is full of hope. If you yourself are struggling with an eating disorder, or you know someone who is, this book is an absolute must-have.

Visit the author's website:emmascrivener.net/

Review by Jackie Rowe  (02/04/13)
Jacket
Publisher: IVP(Inter Varsity Press)
Published: July 2012
ISBN: 978-1-844-74586-9
Paperback
Price: £7.99

First Steps to Living with Dementia



by Simon Atkins


Dr Simon Atkins is a GP with a special interest in mental health conditions and he writes this short book (less than 100 pages) from that perspective. It is a comprehensive guide to the condition beginning with some helpful definitions, moving through the symptoms, diagnosis, treatments and the help that is available. Dr Atkins writes clearly, providing an accessible, up-to-date overview of the current medical thinking about dementia. I liked the appendices at the end: the first one gives a basic description of the brain and its important structures and functions, and the others list helpful resources. Note that there is no specific Christian content in this book.

Review by Jackie Rowe  (02/04/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Lion Hudson
Published: 15 February 2013
ISBN: 978-0-745-95556-8
Paperback
Price: £4.99

Spiritual Care of Dying and Bereaved People



by Penelope Wilcock


Though not a new book, in some ways it does feel so, as it has been completely updated and expanded, losing the section on Aids, but growing to include a new indepth section on funerals that offers very practical help. It also now includes new personal insights from Penelope's own life.

This book, as its predecessor did, has a gentle air of quiet sympathy and consideration to it that sometimes can be missing in books aimed at 'pastoral' ministry, but then in part that's because this book isn't just a guide for ministers and practitioners. This book is also for those journeying through these intense and painful experiences themselves. It is not just written by someone more than eminently qualified from years in service working with the dying and bereaved but is written by a person who has gone through the experience personally, intensely and is not afraid to share that, but rather wants to. This book is real 'spiritual care' for both those on the journey of death and for those looking to work pastorally with them. An excellent book on a deeply painful subject that I think it would be exceptionally hard to better.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (09/03/13)
Jacket
Publisher: BRF (Bible Reading Fellowship)
Published: 15 February 2013
ISBN: 978-0-857-46115-5
Paperback
Price: £9.99

Acquainted with the Night

- An Exploration of Spirituality and Depression

by Robert Waldron


Robert Waldron demonstrates through clear argument and examples that depression is often not pathological but rather a springboard for new creativity. Written largely for the Christian audience, but drawing extensively from Jung and well-known personalities who have suffered from depression, Waldron shows that the teaching of Jesus is a real cure for those who suffer in this way. Very readable, highly recommended.

Review by Paddy Beresford  (23/02/13)
Jacket
Publisher: DLT (Darton, Longman and Todd Ltd)
Published: November 2012
ISBN: 978-0-232-52914-2
Paperback
Price: £12.99

Finding Meaning in the Experience of Dementia

- The Place of Spiritual Reminiscence Work

by Elizabeth Mackinley and Corrine Trevitt


This well-researched book is based on the findings of the first major study on spiritual reminiscence work with people with dementia. The "story" of a person's life is seen as crucial to the formation of their identity because it is the loss of identity that sufferers of dementia fear the most.

Many will believe that dementia means that the person is "no longer there" because they find difficulty in expressing themselves through speech. If they cannot tell their story it is assumed that there is no story. But this isn't the case and the purpose of this very useful study is to demonstrate that meaning and purpose can be found and affirmed, especially through the vehicle of spirituality. The authors give good practical guidelines on how effective communication by nurturing connections can take place.

The book is easy to read and is full of insightful real-life experiences for sufferers who have benefitted from this approach. Highly recommended.

Review by Paddy Beresford  (23/02/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Jessica Kingsley Publishers from Gardners Books
Published: July 2012
ISBN: 978-1-849-05248-1
Paperback
Price: £22.99

Setting up and Facilitating Bereavement Support Groups

- A Practical Guide

by Dodie Graves


Setting up a Bereavement Support Group might sound an excellent idea, but how? Dodie Graves' excellent guide is overflowing with practical advice and wisdom born of experience: it is highly recommended reading.

The desire to form a group may be in reaction to a specific situation. This is positive - in that it provides great motivation and energy - but may also be problematic in clouding judgement or creating haste. Graves' guidance - which is as applicable to a secular as to a faith context - offers us a clear framework for helping to decide on the type of group to form and the types of challenges that might lie ahead.

The book is simply structured and covers all the main areas in a clear and logical sequence. The chapter on facilitation reminds us of the importance of identifying the right person to enable the group; the chapter on the nature of groups, helps us to understand the different group models that operate: closed / open; time-limited / ongoing and so on. The chapter on dynamics highlights some of the behaviour we might expect and how to manage it. The final chapter on "pitfalls" leaves the reader in no doubt that this is a significant undertaking. Useful appendixes, reading and resource lists complete what is an excellent resource.

If you want to set up a bereavement group in your church - please start here.

Review by David Ford  (21/01/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Jessica Kingsley Publishers from Gardners Books
Published: July 2012
ISBN: 978-1-849-05271-9
Paperback
Price: £18.99

Healing Unplugged

- Conversations and Insights from Two Veteran Healing Leaders

by Bill Johnson and Randy Clark


If you are looking for a guide to the healing ministry, this is not the book for you, try the authors' other joint publication, The Essential Guide to Healing instead. However, if you want to be inspired, encouraged and mentored in you own healing ministry, then this is the book for you.

Bill has thirty-seven years of ministry behind him and Randy has forty and each has a global healing ministry bearing prodigious fruit. Yet they are both searingly honest and humble in the way in which they share their struggles and failures. This results in a very 'real' and empowering tool which is accessible to all.

Their chosen format is that of an interview, each interviewing the other, and was originally intended as a DVD project to help train people in the healing ministry. As a result, reading this book is rather like being the fly on the wall as two old friends share the many aspects of their years in the healing ministry.

For me, one of the most helpful and empowering aspects of this book was the fresh insight it gave me on the place of faith in the healing ministry. To quote Bill, (p. 87)
"In some ways, faith that moves mountains is not what you believe God can do, it's what you expect he's about to do."

Healing Unplugged not only inspired, empowered and mentored me, it also took me on a spiritual journey as I believe it will all those who read it with a heart open to the Lord.

Review by Chris Low  (11/02/13)
Jacket
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group (BPG)
Published: 22 June 2012
ISBN: 978-0-800-79527-6
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Connecting Like Jesus

- Practices for Healing, Teaching and Preaching

by Tony Campolo and Mary Albert Darling


If I were to make a list of my top Christian books of 2012 then Connecting Like Jesus would definitely make it into the top five. This is a superb book full of wisdom and insight that has the potential to transform individuals and communities.

At the heart of this book is the sad paradox that Christians often don’t communicate in ways that honour God and that some of the world’s greatest communicators fail to connect spiritually to those who yearn to hear them. Bringing these two together in the light of the pattern of Jesus’ own ministry is the aim of the book.

Connecting Like Jesus is divided into three sections, the first introductory, the second (by Mary) focuses on the practices for Soul Healing and the third (by Tony) focuses on practices for Teaching and Preaching. And the book is intensely practical: each chapter includes things the reader can do to take practical and definite steps towards Connecting with Jesus. Some of these are prayer activities that will be recognisable to many readers. No matter that they are familiar - the value lies in their contextualisation: the reader can see their relevance in practice and their rooted-ness in the ministry of Jesus. The book concludes with advice on how to use it as the basis of small group study and also a list of many of the ‘one another’ verses from the New Testament - those commands of Jesus and the apostles with regard to our relationships within and without the church.

Sometimes I find that one sentence alone justifies reading an entire book. This time it came on page 24 with Tony Campolo’s striking insight that physical healing brings only temporary relief on our journey towards physical death; whilst soul healing - that deep healing of the heart that Jesus offers - is our key to eternity.

I urge you to read this book and discover on which page revelation strikes your heart.

Review by David Ford  (14/11/12)
Jacket
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: August 2012
ISBN: 978-0-281-06915-6
Paperback
Price: £14.99

Two Minus One Equals One

- Living Through the Death of a Loved One

by Geoff Treasure


When I lost my wife just two years ago several friends gave me ‘bereavement books’. The likelihood of anyone who has just lost their loved one even reading one of these during the time immediately following their death, never mind getting consolation from them, is improbable but they are kept by the bereaved for a later time. Just as there is a time, possibly months later, when you go through all the sympathy cards and break your heart at the loving messages so also there is a time for such a book as this.
However it is short – just 72 pages of text. Some of the chapters are, I feel, a bit long but the content is sound. Nevertheless as I opened the book at Geoff and Lis’s wedding, before being taken to her funeral 43 years later, I knew immediately that the wording was right.
Geoff uses excellent biblical examples and teaching to bring strength, hope, comfort and advice. He chiefly uses the story of Lazarus which I have to say I was a little unsure of but – well, you’ll have to read it to find out. To me this is an excellent book to comfort the bereaved and to help those supporting them to understand.

Review by Mike Norbury  (18/10/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Onwards and Upwards Publishing
Published: July 2012
ISBN: 978-1-907-50946-9
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Blessings



by Mary Craig


Good to see Mary Craig’s wonderful book back in print. She tells the story of her two severely learning-disabled sons. There were ‘astronomical odds’ against such a thing happening. Paul, who suffered with gargoylism, died after a fall in 1966. Nicky, with Downs Syndrome, is still alive, and nearly 50 (and prefers now to be called ‘Nick’).
Mary Craig admits it is ‘immensely difficult’ to say anything useful about the ‘so private and so painful’ experience of ‘being broken up and put together again’. Some words she had once read flashed into her mind ‘with brilliant clarity’: ‘Our tragedy is not that we suffer, but that we waste suffering’. The words acted ‘like a brake on my despair’. In the only mystical experience she has ever known, she felt she was ‘held firm, safe from further falling’, and an inner voice said, “Remember I am here, in the darkness. You are never alone”. Her belief in God is important to her. In a remarkable moment recorded on page 129, Mary writes of a friend suddenly saying, ‘I’m glad there was a Paul and Nicky’, and of her own reaction, ‘By and large, I think I’m glad too’!

Then the 20 page Postscript brings the story more up to date. Mary Craig reports here just how many people around the world have been helped by what she has written, and tells us what is happening to Nick now. Out of her experience, she helpfully identifies 3 stages in living through unavoidable suffering. The first stage is the nightmare period – ‘We simply have to put our heads down, and let the hurricane batter us’. The second stage is a raw nagging ache and bitter resentment, with the danger of sinking into alienating self-pity. The third stage is reached when, accepting the changed situation, we begin to discover and unlock inner strength, and to grow as human beings. Finally, on the book’s last page, Mary Craig writes, ‘The older I get the more I am convinced that it is not what happens to us that is really important, it’s the response we make to it…We can turn in on ourselves or we can grow. The choice is always ours.’
I lost my original copy of this book, years ago. I shan’t do so again. But I will lend it to my friends!

Related website:www.sueryder.org

Review by Barry Vendy  (20/09/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Canterbury Press imprint of Hymns Ancient & Modern Ltd
Published: April 2012
ISBN: 978-1-848-25171-7
Paperback
Price: £12.99

Finding Hope in Times of Grief



by Preston & Glenda Parrish


What a powerful little book, part devotional, part biography/testimony, part biblical contemplation and fully a book about dealing with grief and loss and anguish, and yes, hope.
It’s an honest book as the authors relay their feelings, their insights, their pain, but also because right from the beginning they admit grief is not pretty, not easy and that each person deals with it at their own pace and ultimately in their own way – they aren’t saying they have all the answers, they merely offer their own story in the hopes that in some way that could be of help to others going through the pain of loss.
The authors lost their 25 year old son suddenly in a tragic rock climbing accident, but even harder this death came within a week of Preston losing his father too. One death is hard enough to cope with but to lose two such close family members and not even to the same accident really was profoundly painful. This book charts the emotions of dealing with death and in so doing offers some small insight into ways to cope a little, to find hope in the face of such crushing angst, to gain insight from the Bible and on how grace can offer some peace. If you are dealing with loss then maybe this book could offer some small comfort.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (26/07/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Harvest House Publishers
Published: March 2011
ISBN: 978-0-736-93075-8
Paperback
Price: £6.99

Encountering Depression

- Frequently Asked Questions Answered for Christians

by Andrew and Elizabeth Procter


A really useful book both for people suffering from depression and people who want to understand depression.
The book is put into chapters which only take ten minutes to read ( which is a good idea as when you are suffering from depression you can have a very short attention span.)
The chapter is split into 4 parts, Information : which basically answers the chapter heading: Second is Inspiration which is a true life account of someone who has been through that aspect of depression: Third is meditation.
Finally you have Perspiration which is an exercise for you to try but there is no pressure to do it.
The way the book is split up you can just read the chapter which concerns you or you can read the whole book.
I like the way it explains not to worry if you doubt where God is and not to feel a failure when you need medical help.
Two sections which I found helpful as my spouse suffers from depression was the ‘carers section’ and the ‘church ministers’ section to inform them how to help sufferers and families.
A really well balanced book which had medical and biblical information. It was helpful and not judgemental, probably because it was written by a husband and wife who are a Christian psychiatrist and a priest.
I would recommend this to families whose relatives are suffering as well as the actual sufferer.

Review by Julia Bennett  (28/06/12)
Jacket
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: February 2012
ISBN: 978-0-281-06472-4
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Who Will I Be When I Die?



by Christine Bryden


I read this book in several sessions over the course of one day and found it a moving and compelling read. It is a new edition of a book first published in 1998. Christine tells the story of her journey into dementia, describing the early symptoms and then the confirmed diagnosis when she was only 46 years old. At that time she was working in a high-powered government job in Australia and a mum caring for three children at home. She had been a Christian for only six years, but had a very loving and supportive church family in Canberra where she lived. The rapid change from 'super-mum' to 'dependent mum' is described with honesty and clarity. When she wrote the book she had been told that perhaps she would be in a nursing home within three to five years and dead by around eight to ten years. Now, she is sixty-two and has confounded all the medical expectations. In spite of a recent scan showing considerable brain damage, she can still speak and function well enough to live at home. Christine feels that this extra time has been given to her to speak out for those imprisoned within the walls of dementia. This book is simply written with a certain amount of repetition which I found added poignancy to the whole story. I can heartily recommend it for those in the early stages of Alzheimer’s or dementia, and to their carers.

Related website:www.alz.co.uk

Review by Jackie Rowe  (04/06/12)
Jacket
Publisher: Jessica Kingsley Publishers from Gardners Books
Published: 15 February 2012
ISBN: 978-1-849-05312-9
Paperback
Price: £12.99

Healing Wounded History

- Reconciling Peoples and Healing Places

by Russ Parker


Originally published in 2001 by Darton, Longman and Todd Ltd. Books by the long-standing Director of the Acorn Christian Healing Foundation are always worth reading. This re-issued title is no exception. As usual, Russ Parker stretches our understanding of the meaning of healing. He writes that over more than twenty-five years of praying with people and seeking help for himself, he has learnt that ‘the profile of healing is more complex than I had at first thought’. The healing agenda may begin with an individual’s request for prayer, but we soon have to engage with the context of our lives. That context takes the form of a ‘collection of group stories’, with all their memories and emotions, blessings and wounds.
Parker explores the stories of several human groups: The Family Group, starting with 3 generations in the biblical story of Abraham’s family; The Church Group, starting with the 2nd and 3rd chapters of Revelation (and including a fascinating chapter on ‘The Christian Day of Atonement’; The Community Group, particularly the city and The Tribal or Nation Group.
Reconciliation and the healing of group stories and wounds is the book’s theme. Parker has much to say about ‘representational confession’ and the way in which Jesus is the representational confessor.
He frequently refers to the workbook that is the essential companion to this volume as your use of Healing Wounded History will be incomplete without it. You can order the workbook on The Acorn Christian Healing Foundation website http://www.acornchristian.org via the bookshop. It is on sale for £2.95 at the moment, Feb 2012.
Further information can be found from the links below.

Related website:www.tjcii.org/

Review by Barry Vendy  (03/03/12)
Jacket
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: January 2012
ISBN: 978-0-281-06625-4
Paperback
Price: £14.99

Forgiveness Is Healing



by Russ Parker


There can be no question of the importance of forgiveness, be it in the life of an individual, in a church, or in society. So I am pleased to see this reissue of Russ Parker’s profound and practical book on the subject. It is full of cameos and commentaries from the Bible (for example, the man who was lowered through a roof in front of Jesus, and Jesus’ healing of a man beside a pool in Jerusalem. Forgiveness is an issue in both those stories) and illustrations from the practice of healing (many of them drawn from Russ Parker’s work as a minister and as Director of the Acorn Christian Healing Foundation. Some of these are reassuring, but some are very challenging!). Jesus, writes Parker, actually models the healing of relationships through forgiveness, and 'expected his disciples to be forgivers'. Do read this book if you are serious about taking up that challenge. Incidentally, I appreciated the chapters on the healing of the memories and deliverance, which receive much calmer consideration than they sometimes do.

Review by Barry Vendy  (01/01/12)
Jacket
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: 09 September 2011
ISBN: 978-0-281-06616-2
Paperback
Price: £10.99

Losing Tom – Finding Grace



by Jackie Slough


My son is long through adolescence but what if.....? How many mothers have wondered.
Jackie Slough had no idea suicidal thoughts were going round the head of her seemingly well adjusted lovely teenager. It was only in retrospect that she could think what could have been done and said differently. She, her husband Alan and Tom, were all baptised members of their local Baptist church. With Tom’s older brother James, they were all very involved with church life, very busy with their dogs and their work, a happy family they thought till Tom’s death.
Their faith is what has held them together – just; and knowing Tom’s great faith has given them the assurance that he is now at peace with his saviour, Jesus Christ.
Jackie wrote a journal through the first difficult months, not intending it for publication, but was subsequently persuaded that it could help other mother’s struggling in like circumstances, so she continued adding to it and this is the story of those first five years. It is a no holds barred account of her feelings and actions though this traumatic time, grippingly readable, and interspersed with poems written by Jackie which express so poignantly what she was going through at the time of writing.
At the end of the book is more of these, and some of Tom’s own writings too. Heartrending stuff, but well worth reading.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (03/11/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Onwards and Upwards Publishing
Published: Spring 2011
ISBN: 978-1-907-50907-0
Paperback
Price: £9.99

A Piece of Blue Sky

- Conversations With a Loving Father

by Virginia Duhanes


How best would I describe this book, probably a series of short memoirs and remembrances from one womans life, in which there are interspersed moments of her prayer life and the active voice of God she heard when listening in her quiet times with him. These moments include some times of real pain and growth, times at which understanding and hearing the voice of God in our lives can be the hardest, and through these recollections she helps to show that God is always there and perhaps offers comfort to others going through these times, raises awareness of the fact that we are all called to be in conversation wth our Lord and that he yearns to speak to us.
I think this is very much a book that would help some going through hardships and would certainly appeal to those who like The Friendship Book or of course the writings of Eddie Askew.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (08/10/11)
Jacket
Publisher: TLM Trading for The Leprosy Mission
Published: 2010
ISBN: 978-0-902-73185-1
Paperback
Price: £5.00

I Am My Sister’s Keeper

- Reaching Out to Wounded Women

by Denise George


The title of the book indicates that the readership is intended exclusively for women. The author, Denise George has written this book as a tool through which God can speak to every woman, and the reader can be encouraged to reach out to hurting sisters seeking solace in friendships in Christ. Denise draws on all sorts of women's stories here, from Biblical examples to modern, hurting women. There are women trapped in unhappy marriages, those who have experienced divorce and need to forgive their ex-spouses. There was one prostitute who wanted more than anything else to be a lady, and gave her life to Jesus when a young man informed her that the Lord could wash away the stains on her soul. There was a chapter on loneliness and another on suicide. These are two taboo and misunderstood subjects which I felt Denise did well to explore, even if I felt the section on loneliness was a little too neat and over-sentimental. It’s worth it for the reader to look at the back, as well – there are lots of useful questions and subjects to explore for Bible studies. A great resource for those wishing to show Christ-like compassion for suffering women.

Review by Alice Collins  (19/09/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Christian Focus Publications
Published: 2011
ISBN: 978-1-845-50717-6
Paperback
Price: £7.99

When Someone You Love No Longer Remembers



by Cecil Murphey, illustrations by Michal Sparks


Approximately six inches square, (580mm) this little book is intended to be given to a caregiver, to help them deal with the situation they find themselves in. Twenty four contributors tell of how this situation feels, how they have come to terms with it and how prayer and coming closer to God has enabled them to win through. Each piece is very brief, but very telling, twenty four different experiences yet all very similar as any caregiver can tell you. Reading these pieces could help lessen the sense of being the only one in this position, the loneliness of being tied down by looking after someone you love but who is changing irrevocably.
The Appendix has suggestions of how to care for yourself, how to communicate with your loved one, advice on exercise and activities, expecting the unexpected and helping your visitors to know how to act, practical advice from someone who knows.
A gentle book, enhanced by the illustrations and one I can recommend as a gift to a man or a woman.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (31/08/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Harvest House Publishers
Published: June 2011
ISBN: 978-0-736-93871-6
Hardback
Price: £6.99

The Undistracted Widow

- Living For God After Losing Your Husband

by Carol W. Cornish


Carol was married to Roland for 38 years; he died just 11 months after being diagnosed with lung cancer.
Written from the heart, this book is intended to help Christian readers to see God at work in the midst of mourning. It certainly points to comfort and hope, but I feel that anyone recently bereaved would not have the attention span to read such a ‘meaty tome’, and those feeling angry with God or who are wallowing in self-pity might be made to feel inadequate and guilty for not putting their trust in Him.
However there is much in the book which I found helpful – particularly the well-chosen excerpts from the book of Psalms, the examples of biblical widows, and a chapter on ‘stretching forward’. The Appendix 1 ‘How to help a widow’ has sound practical advice.
This is, in my view, a book to read before widowhood strikes. Maybe it could be stocked in your church library as it would help congregations in dealing with the bereaved, be they widows or widowers.

Review by Margaret Walker  (14/07/11)
Jacket
Publisher: IVP(Inter Varsity Press)
Published: September 2010
ISBN: 978-1-844-74491-6
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Heaven Revealed

- What is it Like? What Will We Do?

by Paul Ennis


Paul Ennis makes an intriguing journey into a much-misunderstood concept. One of the most important things to understand about him is that he lost his wife after a 45-year marriage, or, as he called it, a forty-five year honeymoon. This is such a tragedy, yet Paul is far from bitter. He chooses, instead, to dwell on the eternal. I have always found the subject of heaven an uncomfortable one, as most ex-Catholics, I suppose, might. I was taught to feel that I was are not good enough and that I had to earn it, whereas the truth is Heaven is open to all who believe in God. Heaven is already glimpsed at in the Bible; Elisha, Elijah, Isaiah, Ezekiel, Nebuchadnezzar and Daniel all peeked into Heaven. Paul explains that our bodies will be transformed into recognisable, imperishable, glorified, powerful and spiritual bodies, with no limitations. Paul also dwells on the truths about the new heaven and new earth, and adds that the new heaven will be on earth during Jesus’ millennial reign. I liked this book a lot, and I would love to point it towards all those Christians who are afraid of death.

Review by Alice Collins  (28/06/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Moody Press from Trust Media Distribution
Published: April 2011
ISBN: 978-0-802-44982-5
Paperback
Price: £8.99

The Death of a Child



Edited Peter Stanford


Twelve Mothers or Fathers have each told of the death of their child or sibling, and how that has impacted on their lives. I found comfort in reading the afterword by Dorothy Rowe a clinical psychologist and writer, before I read the sometimes heart rending stories of the bereft parents. So many different circumstances, many different ages and causes, but all tragedies in their own right.
No parent expects to be pre-deceased by their child. Most of the contributors are writers by profession, not all. I am loathe to pick one story out from among the others for fear of seeming to denigrate others. All are written with deep love and recognition that life will never be the same again. The impact on parents and siblings is for ever. Recognising the depth and longevity of grief by others can be supportive, and at the end of the book is a glossary of useful organisations. A proportion of the royalties raised by this book will go to the Child Bereavement Charity.

Related website:www.childbereavement.org.uk

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (10/06/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Bloomsbury Academic
Published: 16 June 2011
ISBN: 978-1-441-18303-3
Hardback
Price: £16.99

In the Midst of Life

- Is There Such a Thing as a Good Death?

by Jennifer Worth


A disturbing and thought provoking book on a subject which should be of deep concern to Christians and non-Christians alike. Did you know that a Doctor cannot sign a death certificate saying that you died of old age? That even a ninety-nine year old who dies in hospital will possibly suffer a resuscitation attempt and probably have an autopsy to discover the cause of death? We are not allowed to just ‘wear out.’ Pray that you die in a Hospice where a patient is allowed to die in peace surrounded by loving care. Hospital death can be a violent affair, medical staff feel compelled by the fear of prosecution to prolong life at whatever cost to the patient.
Jennifer Worth has a light touch to her writing that keeps you reading despite the scenes she describes; reminisces about cases she encountered while she was nursing, and others such as her Mother’s death. She left the Nursing profession to pursue a musical and writing career but still retains a keen interest in the subject of death and dying. The appendices at the end of the book are written by professionals, sympathetic to the purpose of this book. The suggestions for further reading are extensive and sources are given for further information and the glossary is helpful with legal and medical terms.

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (10/06/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson from Gardners Books
Published: 2010
ISBN: 978-0-297-85958-1
Hardback
Price: £14.99

Understanding Panic Attacks and Overcoming Fear



by Roger Baker


Agoraphobia and fear render so many prisoners in their own personhood. This 3rd edition rework is a concise and accessible guide with proven helps for all kinds of readers. Cognitive therapy, anxiety management techniques and pastoral care is well addressed in this very needful title. The myths about and root causes of panic attacks were particularly potent and with all else reflect the pooled wisdom of more than thirty years of professional practice.
The author has extensive experience in serving patients with panic attacks and there are both medical and psychological explanations in the book. All symptoms of panic attacks are described explicitly. Possibility and hope permeate this writing. Unique, valued and redemptive!

Review by Johnny Douglas  (03/06/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Lion
Published: 18 February 2011
ISBN: 978-0-745-95545-2
Paperback
Price: £7.99

Good Grief



by Granger E Westberg


Originally published 1962
It’s rare for a 64 page book to be reissued as a “classic” when published less than 50 years ago, but Westberg gives a quick and robust defence for the need to grieve followed by descriptions of the 10 different stages a grieving person may go through, and enables, sometimes through humour, the mourner to know that the various emotions they face in such circumstances are totally normal.

Review by Paddy Beresford  (26/05/11)
Jacket
Publisher: SPCK (Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge)
Published: February 2011
ISBN: 978-0-281-06427-4
Paperback
Price: £4.99

God Knows My Name

- Never Forgotten, Forever Loved

by Beth Redman


This is a book written by someone who was abused as a child/teenager. During this time, both she and her mother were attending the local church.
The book shows us by quoting many passages from scripture such as John, Joel and Isaiah how God is always able to support us. Beth Redman shows in the book how she learnt to look forward in her life, not looking back at the problems she endured. The book also has a study guide section if people want to study it in a group.
one thing I will say is the book seemed very much a book written for women rather than for men and women

Review by Barbara Stoneham  (26/05/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Xlibris distributed by Gardners
Published: July 2010
ISBN: 978-0-781-40365-8
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Learning to Heal

- A Practical Guide for Every Christian

by John Coles


This book from the Director of New Wine is a book on Healing that covers spiritual and physical healing. Using the catalyst that all are called to be like Christ and therefore all are called to minister healing it is an interesting look at what this means both for the individual and the Church from both biblical and practical considerations. Certainly it is worth study if one is involved in Christian Healing already, and if one feels called to undertake any form of praying for healing it again is worth a look, however it is nonetheless very much a charismatic look at healing ministry and I can see that perhaps for some this might make the ministry seem a little out of their area. There is still much to commend this book to those interested in the area of healing regardless of churchmanship.

Review by Melanie Carroll  (23/04/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Authentic Media
Published: August 2010
ISBN: 978-1-850-78857-7
Paperback
Price: £8.99

Lynda

- From Accident & Trauma to Healing and Wholeness

by Lynda Scott


This is an inspiring faith filled testimony to the love of God and his healing power.
Lynda has already trained as a nurse and been involved with outreach to the homeless in Sydney, Australia. She was fired up to serve Christ and went on a course at the Mission Training School despite not having a call from God to become a missionary. She was eager to join with other young people passionate about the Lord. The course involved physical Faith Trips, and it was on a badly run hike that she fell 30-35 feet into a ravine and was badly injured. This is the story of that event and the pain and suffering that followed, but it doesn’t stop there! Lynda attends a Health Care in Christ conference where the speakers are Peter and Fiona Horrobin of Ellel Ministries and all present were witness to the miracle of Lynda’s healing described in detail here. It was not only Lynda’s life that was changed.
Still not the end of the story or of Lynda’s suffering, but as the cover shows, Lynda has come through the tragedy of losing two babies before birth and one as a cot death, to fulfilled motherhood and with her faith in a loving God intact.
A truly wonderful story.

Related website:www.ellelministries.org

Review by Mary Bartholomew  (16/04/11)
Jacket
Publisher: Sovereign World from Joining the Dots Distribution
Published: November 2010
ISBN: 978-1-852-40539-7
Paperback
Price: £9.99